straight from Liverpool | Reviewer: liz | 1/7/08

the lyrics are definitely "they slither wildy as they slip away across the universe". don't think that just because it's on the soundtrack of the movie, that it makes it right. the songs on the movie may be Beatles songs, but the members of the band didn't make the movie, and they didn't record the songs all over again just for the movie that they didn't make. that would be a little difficult considering the fact that two of my personal favourites are making music in heaven now. may John and George's souls rest in peace..

to those who Slither Wildly | Reviewer: Total and Free Spirit of the Universe | 12/30/07

Why not sing it like YOU want to sing it. Its a freee universe. Star Speckled Banana and every other song.
But as voiced by John Lennon himself, in an ultra rare recording, I think he knows better than anyone here today, it is,
"They slither wildly, as they slip away across the universe..
Sort of like in the verse: They tumble blindly as they make their way Across the universe.
He was good at grammer, using "as" in the same place
The word, "As" is very audible.
How could it be: They slither while as they slip away? Doesn't sound right. It isn't.
DONE>>
I really like the line: Jai guru diva, om.
I would recommend to everyone that you, Slither Wildly in whatever you are doing in this universe.
It is a beautiful song.


Just a correction. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/17/07

Those of you claiming that the song says "They slither while they pass" apparently need to listen to any Beatles version of the song. Whether it be Let It Be, Let It Be...Naked, Anthology 2, or Acoustic Submarine, it clearly says "They slither wildly as they slip away." Even the David Bowie cover has this line.

In fact, the only versions of the song that have the lyric "They slither while they pass" is Fiona Apple's cover for the movie Pleasantville and Rufus Wainwright's cover for the movie I Am Sam. I can't check the Across The Universe (movie) version, as I don't have a soundtrack, but the lyrics on this page are correct.

Anyways, phenomenal song. I used to listen to it all the time when I was growing up. Revolver, The White Album and Let It Be did a lot for me.

Love it | Reviewer: Emily R. | 11/30/07

Ricci and Sam are very correct. I know this song by heart and it is infact They slither while they slip away across the universe. I also would recomend seeing this movie. I've cried durring it twice because it is very heart touching. I may be young but i love the beatles and i hope that their legacy lives on in our hearts and lives.

Addy | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/29/07

I was listening to the song-- one of my favorites :D-- when I noticed a mistake in the lyrics. "They slither wildly as" should be "They slither while they pass."

I love this song. I love it.

:) | Reviewer: Sam | 11/12/07

This song makes me cry of happiness.. I don't know what else to say.

And yes, April, it is "slither wildly as they slip away across the universe." If you do not believe it, Ricci, listen to the actual song and not the film version that I'm sure The Beatles wouldn't have wanted made. It's the third song on Let It Be if you want to hear it for yourself.

Across the Universe; The Beatles best work yet | Reviewer: Sarah H. Packard | 11/11/07

Across the Universe, that's how far and wide people are coming from to see this movie. i think it's an automatic hit for those of us who remember the true Beatles, and those days that were so hard to get through. This time frame is popular in movies nowadays, and i'm happy to say that this movie touched me deep in my heart, skimming my soul. I give it five stars, if you haven't seen it yet, you should...

April, sorry | Reviewer: Ricci | 10/30/07

April, you're wrong. the lyrics indeed are "Slither while they pass."

Look up the Across the Universe FILM as an example, which uses the lyrics slither while they pass.

Might I ask you this: If you pay attention to the rhythm, does wildly really fit there?

John's favorite | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/18/07

Lennon prized this song above all the others he wrote. He found it to be very poetic and I must agree =)


April | Reviewer: april | 9/15/07

They slither WILDLY as they slip away across the universe... Thank you for getting it RIGHT!
It was really starting to annoy me that everybody thought it said they slither while they pass. URG!

love | Reviewer: pools | 7/4/07

this is my all time favorite song, this song brings me so many good memories it's just overall amazing. it reminds me of just being independent and not letting things get in your way and just enjoying yourself. i think everybody might have their own little reflection of this song but i dont know i just love this song!

Beautiful Song!) | Reviewer: Daniela | 6/26/07

I LOVE THIS SONG FOR SOME REASON IT REMINDS ME OF ALL MY HAPPY MOMENTS.

thinking for myself | Reviewer: Rukmini Contreras | 6/26/07

So, needless to say, I am absoultely head over heels in love with this song. I'm only 16 and this song has reached me deeply throuhg my troubles years.

perfektion | Reviewer: mai | 6/18/07

this song is so beautiful, i like all of their songs but this ones is so peaceful it makes me feel so good inside, its great!!!

I love this song!!! | Reviewer: Cecilia | 3/20/06

I just want to say that this is one of my favourite songs, including a lot of songs I like!! None of other songs I like can get to my heart like this one does, so I know all the lyrics. I checked them anyway to see if they were alright, and they weren't... It had some mistakes that I corrected, hopefully they will be changed! Bye, an dlisten to "Across the universe"!!!