Reviews for Wake Up Lyrics

Performed by The Arcade Fire

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    Current page No. 3/ 6
Add Your New Review About The Song

My Job | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/1/09

Well I was a Fire Fighter, but this song and that book alone(once forgotten with my childhood along with many other things) Has Set Me To Become an elementary school teacher. I always wanted to be one and I love kids and my childhood was so misled and just idk whack that I want to teach children. Deep Emotions in the book and In this song about childhood, so yea Awesome Song I Love It!

beautiful, unique song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/24/09

i heard this song years ago, and just like many of you i was overwhelmed with emotion. then i forgot about it until it heard it in the Where the Wild Things Are trailer....and i remembered and now every time i hear it, it still brings up something in me. i totally agree about the losing the innocence of childhood motif suggested by many of you. being an adult..i never realized how incredible my childhood was, and how truly happy. i fear i will never feel that way again.

Beautiful to the core | Reviewer: Cindy | 10/19/09

The first time i heard this song i welled up inside with a feeling so strong i coulnd't have experienced it any other way but because of this song. Rarely does a song make me want to break down in tears unless i am already down and out for one reason or another. But this song doesn't make you sad, but you relate to everything the lyrics are trying to convey to you. They're tears of understanding

Music is meant for you! | Reviewer: Steph | 10/15/09

Don't get caught up in what this means. It means what you interpret it to..for you. To one person it could be dark to another light. That is the beauty of music..to let it speak to your soul.
I'm sure the author of this didnt want to sway someone in their beliefs...but to just put it out there for the taking. This is a beautiful song. If the message was anti-christian, thats not how I'll take it.(never crossed my mind until I read that other review) I CHOOSE for it to be beautiful about the fleeting innocence of childhood..and thats how it will always be to me when I'm jammin out to it! I love Jesus and I really like this song :)

love it. | Reviewer: pete | 10/15/09

this song seems to be about growing up and losing your innocence, at least to me. why else would producers use it for the movie? I Love This Song! i didnt think all this religious stuff is necessary, it seems a little over analytical.

Check out The Beta Band - "Dry The Rain" | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/14/09

Check out The Beta Band "Dry The Rain" if you dig this tune. It's the song from a scene in High Fidelity in the record store and it's pretty similar in build and emotion. Actually, if you like Arcade Fire you may very well enjoy The Beta Band. Too bad they broke up :(

Evokes emotion indeed! | Reviewer: Sheila | 10/14/09

The first time I heard this song it just stirred up all sorts of emotions. Not only the lyrics, but just the music in general, it evokes this sense of longing for something (innocence?)

It's interesting because until today I didn't know the lyrics and had just heard the song. I thought instead of "I can see that it's a lie" I thought it said 'I can't see it's alright'. And I took it to mean that because 'I' was told not to cry, now I don't know that it's okay to cry. And in the end when they say "I can see where I am goin'" I thought they said 'I can't...'. (Which is the point in the song which I totally broke down and sobbed for about 10 minutes)I am a senior in high school, and I am totally lost. The path up ahead is obscured in darkness and mystery and I really can't see where I am going. And I am realizing that I am not entirely a child anymore...and that is a devastating thought, that is the uncertainty of what is up ahead. The loss of innocence is a universally melancholy subject because we all can relate. Because, we have all gone through this, some sooner than others.

Music is a piece of art, and people interpret it all sorts of ways. And I find funny that even though I heard the lyrics different that what they were, I still got the message that the actual lyrics convey. That at some point we gonna grow up. And it hurts, but we have to accept it...it's gonna happen no matter what.

"elitism vs acrade fire" follow up | Reviewer: oxygen | 10/7/09

stella.... i gotta give it to you. reading your review and refuting whoever the hell it was talking shit about this song and arcade fire only made me love this song even more. that person is some stuck-up ignorant POS who has their head too far up their own ass to notice something as beautiful as this. Props to stella....2 thumbs way up if i had more i'd give em to ya

WAKE UP | Reviewer: Mary Beth | 10/9/09

This song is about rejoicing in the death of Jesus Christ (my Lord and Savior) and is part of the Liberal media's plot to overthrow Christianity.

You people would do well to boycott this movie and Satan.

Beautiful song. WAS NOT WRITTEN FOR WWTA. | Reviewer: ArrImmaPirate | 9/30/09

This song, as I said in the title, is just beautiful. It makes me sad, and yet happy. Mostly sad. I couldn't tell you what it was about, but I like the idea that it was written about the innocence of childhood and what happens once you grow up. All the things that you believe as a child get sort of...crushed the older you get. Like believing in magic and fairy tales. At the time, these things seemed so real that one could have just reached out and touched them. Now, for most people, they seem absurd. Or at least more unbelieveable than they were.

"Something, filled up/My heart, with nothing/Someone, told me not to cry." To me, this shows how all of the beliefs (in magic or other "childish fantasies") he had as a child really were nothing, and once he learned that he felt like crying. It's a very touching line to me when I think of it like that.

I think it'll just be easier to translate each line...although this will be long...

But now that I'm older,
my heart's colder,
and I can see that it's a lie. (now that he's older he can tell that his childhood dreams weren't true, and his life has lost the "magic")

Children wake up,
hold your mistake up,
before they turn the summer into dust. (Children growing up, and the summer is supposed to be a time to play for kids, so turning it into dust can represent maybe having a job, or possibly just their childhood dissappearing)

If the children don't grow up,
our bodies get bigger but our hearts get torn up.
We're just a million little gods causin' rain storms turnin' every good thing to
rust.

I guess we'll just have to adjust. (Children that don't grow up, and want to keep believing in magic. As their "bodies get bigger," it gets harder and harder to believe. The "rain storms turning every good thing to rust" could just represent how hard they're trying to still believe, and how a lot of things are ruined because of it.)

With my lightnin' bolts a glowin'
I can see where I am goin' to be
when the reaper he reaches and touches my hand. (He is probably saying that he knows where he's going to be when he dies.)

With my lightnin' bolts a glowin'
I can see where I am goin’
With my lightnin' bolts a glowin'
I can see where I am, go-go, where I am

You'd better look out below (Possibly look out for Hell? Or just look out because the harder one tries to believe in magic in a world of unmagical happenstanses, the harder it'll be when one realizes that the world is not what they wanted it to be.)

And this song WAS NOT written for Where the Wild Things Are. Yes, that is where I first heard about it, but everyone is classifying this song as "the song from the WWTA trailer." It's not. It was made years before it, and it does not only exist in the trailer. It's a great song and it does fit the WWTA movie perfectly, especially the way I interpret it, but that is not the only place it exists.

Anyways, this song is just beautiful. I recently learned it on my guitar, and I'm having a lot of fun with it. Arcade Fire is an amazing band, and they are lyrical geniuses.

The meaning of the song. | Reviewer: A student | 9/29/09

Well this song is incredible, we can all agree on that, but what we can't seem to agree on is what this is about. Well I think I may have the answer.
"Somethin' filled up
my heart with nothin',
someone told me not to cry.

But now that I'm older,
my heart's colder,
and I can see that it's a lie."
If you ask me, that part is describing how a boy is typically raised. When he turns 8 or 9 what is he told? Stop that crying, man up! It's not socially acceptable really for boys to cry. So their emotions get bottled up and their hearts grow cold and "our hearts get torn up." Also this song is aout how all people usually act for themselves and are mainly concerned with #1(them). So "We're just a million little gods causin' rain storms turnin' every good thing to
rust." People just sit on their own little cloud and do as they please for themselves with little concern for others meaning they throw down their lightning bolts and are "causin' rain storms turnin' every good thing to
rust." Which makes the ending line make sense, "You'd better look out below." This is saying look out below, look around you, there are more people in this world than just you, watch what you are doing. Make sense?

interpretations | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/29/09

This song contains plenty and different interpretations but I like not to make sense of the words but feel the songs emotions as they run into my ears and through my body and shakes my heart up. Whether it be about religion or any other sort of thing this song is without a doubt the most astonishing piece of emotion I've ever laid my heart on. <3

A great song and a good band | Reviewer: Jacob | 9/27/09

Such a refreshing song in a time when most music makes me want to turn off the radio. I first heard this song in the UST Panama City Beach Skim Video and I loved it from its opening chords. Anyone who puts this song and band down,"qualified" or not, needs to have their heads checked.

This song | Reviewer: A child | 9/27/09

Everytime i hear this song it inspires me, makes me sad, there's just so many emotions. I wanna go to where the wild things are cause i hate my life at home. I think this movie speaks for a lot of kids who feel trapped.

Not About Religion | Reviewer: Salad | 9/27/09

For those who think this song is about accepting atheism, it's not, or at least, I don't think so.

"Somethin' filled up
my heart with nothin',
someone told me not to cry." That's NOT necessarily about religion, although it can be interpreted that way. There are a lot of things that can fill up your heart with nothing -- superficial things like wealth and fame. I feel the song is about how we, as humans, put too much emphasis on making money and showing off when it really doesn't make us happy. When you're a kid, stuff like money doesn't usually matter to you.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    Current page No. 3/ 6