Reviews for Keep The Car Running Lyrics

Performed by The Arcade Fire

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2
Add Your New Review About The Song

Think about that again | Reviewer: Stephanie | 8/15/10

Karina and the comment below her are correct in my opinion. The band has variety and few people for that matter too. Although they have commented before that they got together because they coincided in the belief of singing as a mission and carrying messages to people through the music(this implies the use of depth and emotion)and, not as much for the fame, there are quite a few people in the band and I doubt very much they will all have the same life philosophy.

For the people who think they are atheists, how's about you take a look at the first video they made, Rebellion(Lies). The lyrics make reference to going through life unaware of what goes on around, unaware of who we are, unaware of life itself. Many people do this, incluiding kids since unfortunately they immitate what they see in a stage of their lives, so the lyrics are also directed to the kids so they don't fall in the same pattern. It also talks about the lies they make us believe, that's why we need to wake up and see. OKay so, in the end of the video, they show a ball of energy coming from the ground, an earth spirit maybe? That doesn't imply much atheism.
And let me remind you Atheists and Religious people, that, the line that separates you both is very thin, and it is drawn exactly when you look for the explanation of the existence of life. Other than that... we are all the same, looking for explanations for what we perceive in life.

This song may have various meanings, but I agree that it's got death in it. And:"Can’t swim across a river so deep" and "You can’t climb across a mountain so high" they both refer to not being able to overcome things that are out of our reach, not being bigger than them. And what does he say about the dogs? Well, I'd conclude that it does make reference to death.

Very nice song and way to play with words. LOVE THEM!



Not Depressing | Reviewer: Magpie | 11/14/09

I don't pretend to know what this song is all about, but I doubt it's about suicide or religion. Think about what the phrase "keep the car running" usually refers to -- a getaway car.

It doesn't have to be as morbid as you all seem to make it. It's just about getting away, being free, etc. Yes, that could mean suicide, but the rhythm and melody, despite some of the sadder lyrics, is more hopeful and longing than depressed. One has to examine all elements of a song rather than just the lyrics.

Also, Karina, it is possible for the song to have a separate meaning for each band member, especially since the meaning seems to be general.



keep the car running | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/2/09

This song is about a depressed person. Sadly i believe it is about killing himself. And the term "keep the car running" is him in a garage with the car on so he inhales the exhaust. "If some night I don’t come home
Please don’t think I’ve left you alone" This line convinces me about my theory.



It could be..................... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/5/09

I do not pretend to understand all of the lyrics, or for that matter Any of them, but I have always thought that the fundemental, underlying message in the song (and the title) is that we are all going to need to "get outta here" soon (maybe an ecological message?) hence, keep the car running.............



this song... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/2/07

...is awesome, i believe its about dying, personally, and it expalains that it dusnt matter where (or what) you are from...u WILL die eventually and it dusnt matter how (the) god(s) see u, its how you lived your life and the impact you made on the people you met that matters,



this song isn't about religion | Reviewer: andy | 10/24/07

There's nothing in the lyrics to "Keep the Car Running" to suggest that it is a declaration of aethism. In the first place, the song is clearly told from the perspective of an idiosyncratic character, who may even be considered what in literature is called an "unreliable narrator". That is, a story told by someone whose descriptions of events can't be taken at face value because of their own strong opinions or worldview. In such a work, it would be erroneous to assume that the opinions of the character necessarily are shared by the author.

While the specific meaning of "Keep the Car Running" is open for debate, to me it appears to be a song sung by a tinfoil-hatted conspiracy theorist who, in his mind, has given his name to the aliens who are going to show up at any minute and take him to the other side; an event he's been dreaming of his whole life.

I could see how someone who was insistent on interpreting things in religious terms would read this song as being similarly told from the perspective of someone awaiting the Rapture (or some other cataclysmic spiritual event), but I think the language chosen ("they" know my name, etc.) and the image of the car idling in the driveway ready to take him to the rendezvous site more clearly refers to imagery from "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" than the Bible.

Neither interpretation makes this song an expression of aetheism. In fact, to the contrary, it's a song about the need to believing in something liberating, even if it is as farfetched as the mothership.



This song has nothing to do with aetheism | Reviewer: andyK | 10/24/07

There's nothing in the lyrics to "Keep the Car Running" to suggest that it is a declaration of aethism. In the first place, the song is clearly told from the perspective of an idiosyncratic character, who may even be considered what in literature is called an "unreliable narrator". That is, a story told by someone whose descriptions of events can't be taken at face value because of their own strong opinions or worldview. In such a work, it would be erroneous to assume that the opinions of the character necessarily are shared by the author.

While the specific meaning of "Keep the Car Running" is open for debate, to me it appears to be a song sung by a tinfoil-hatted conspiracy theorist who, in his mind, has given his name to the aliens who are going to show up at any minute and take him to the other side; an event he's been dreaming of his whole life.

I could see how someone who was insistent on interpreting things in religious terms would read this song as being similarly told from the perspective of someone awaiting the Rapture (or some other cataclysmic spiritual event), but I think the language chosen ("they" know my name, etc.) and the image of the car idling in the driveway ready to take him to the rendezvous site more clearly refers to imagery from "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" than the Bible.

Neither interpretation makes this song an expression of aetheism. In fact, to the contrary, it's a song about the need to believing in something liberating, even if it is as farfetched as the mothership.



nothing. | Reviewer: karina | 9/9/07

they're not anything..... and in case you haven't notice there are quite a few people in the band, you think they all believe the same?



Christians? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/27/07

If you think they arnt Christians cus of their lyrics maybe you shud ask God if they are or not if your that worried about it, cus i duno if they are.



explanation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/1/07

these guys are total athiests. they strongly do not believe in God or any god. this is just one of many of their songs that expresses that.




Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2