Reviews for Fool's Overture Lyrics

Performed by Supertramp

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2
Add Your New Review About The Song

I need the starting Churchill's speech lyrics...please, help me | Reviewer: Cesare Ricci | 4/20/13

Help me, please... I'm a Peruvian Supertramp fan, I have a problem about the lyrics, I purchased more than 7 different editions of the same album (PARIS LIVE) just to get the complete lyrics, but in all albums I bought I didn't find the opening Winston Churchill speech lyrics, I need it to be complete my lyrics songbook.
Please, somebody out there help me, sending me this lyrics at my email address: biac14@gmail.com
THANKS A LOT

I took it personal. | Reviewer: heartunes | 6/12/12

I thought the song was about the human condition, and it's struggle to stand up to what brings us down in life. I didn't know the Churchhill speech was even that at the beginning. I thought it was the "FOOL" bieng any human to me, talking to himself. It is an intimate song to me, and not of just one person. It is the "fool" being myself, and my will to carry on amongst the situations of life.

Churchill both prophet and the fool | Reviewer: Frodo's Dentist | 8/16/11

Churchill is clearly a symbolic identity given to the premise of "history repeating itself", something the writer is clearly conscious of and uses Churchill's history to reference his own. In Britain, Churchill for a while was almost Jesuit like in his achievements, yet even Christ died on the cross, a fate experienced by Churchill as his political prowess was weak. He was reminded of this when he was unceremoniously dumped by the nation in the very first post war general election. Whilst a man for his time, "war time", he was not the man to rebuild a nation, he had the courage of his convictions to ensure its survival. During the war politics meant little it was a time to defeat Nazism and Fascism, something Churchill took on with "brilliance" as he knew that this task would call on him to use evil to defeat evil and this he did on many occasions. Churchill can be seen as the prophet and the fool within the context of the song, something we are all capable of within our own circles at differing levels. Churchill never recovered his standing within the UK until his death in 1965 when the nation swept into devastating grief also realised how it to had failed the man. It was not until after his death that his lionhearted achievements were truly recognised and acknowledged by the nation, by then it was all too late for the man.

Just my view of a brilliant song I have not belittled anyone else's view so don't presume you have the right to belittle mine. Thank you for reading. My online handle is Frodo's Dentist

fools overture | Reviewer: buz | 6/25/11

take the song as a whole message, i get something a little different than whats been said. measure attitudes and content from the background and this song is about churchill. he was always on the outs even when he was right, called the fool, and even a prophet, etc, etc. he was the goat of ww1, but also the last lion. people still use his political style today, and like churchill, scoffed at but right! great song!

prophetic | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/6/11

Most of the prophets use human characters and human events to point to spiritual realities that far transcend them - this song Is an example of that - sometimes even the prophets were unaware of the significance of their utterances

Re: Live performance | Reviewer: Andre Klomp | 11/22/10

"saw Supertramp several times during the late 70's/early 80's and the subway vidoe that accompanied this song was incredible. As the song increased tempo the video was sped up and at the end of the the song the subway riders exited the trains. It was a great piece of music and a great effect."

This is about another song: Rudy
But you are right: great video accompanying the song!


"Wings of Time" | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/7/10

"Neville Chamberlain was a British government official who was sent to Germany to get Hitler to sign a paper declaring peace in Europe. The plane that he rode on was called the wings of time."

No, it wasn't. It didn't have a name. It was known simply as British Airways G-AFGN. (British Airways, Ltd., of 1938 being an entirely different company from that with the same name today.)

Not Christ | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/14/10

Churchill was one who professed to be a Christian, and his faith very likely carried him through what was easily one of the most difficult and harrowing times Britain has ever faced. While it is POSSIBLE that the line in question is an allusion to that faith, it is most certainly NOT about the Christ Himself.

live performance | Reviewer: John Spence | 4/10/09

I saw Supertramp several times during the late 70's/early 80's and the subway vidoe that accompanied this song was incredible. As the song increased tempo the video was sped up and at the end of the the song the subway riders exited the trains. It was a great piece of music and a great effect.

Meaning of Fool's Overture | Reviewer: Jet T | 12/10/08

In America, people go to bed with visions of mushroom clouds in their head. In England, they ponder the second world war. Their existance was truly held in the balance. Hitlers' world domination plans constanly fell shourt because he could not take England. However, I think the lyricist is using that history to draw a similarity to his own life, his troubles, his success and everything in between. He is telling people about himself. In a sense, introducing himself to the world. Being so eloquent with words, he carries a heavy weight in life because he no doubt must constantly councel his friends, family and the world. His knowledge makes him a magnet for people seeking help. Being sought out, he feels like Y'shua, or Churchill. Much the way John Lennon apparently once felt. Like the Scarlet Pimpernell, he must act a fool, using his lyric eloquence to sell records. The words seem to have a special message to the people of England when he asks about the last contribution.

ART | Reviewer: Eyes | 10/22/08

Supertramp are artists. An artist would allow people to interpret their own meaning. If you think it's about Christ, then it's about Christ. If you think it's about Churchill, then it's about Churchill. Even Roger Hodgseon, who wrote the song, said that he doesn't quite know the meaning behind what he writes most of the time and prefers the meaning to be ambiguous. But the fact is that the song mentions both Churchill and Christ. The beginning is Churchill talking and in the lyrics of the song is a quote from a William Blake poem which is about, you guessed it, Christ.

IMHO | Reviewer: MJ Dug | 9/24/08

I suspect the guy who suggested the Christ suggestion sees that in lots of songs, but I could be wrong, I don't see it myself.

"While everyone was sleeping the boats put out to sea" is probably a reference to the evacuation of the British Expeditionary Force from Dunkirk after France fell in 1940. That was the first ray of hope to occur under Churchill, without the successful evacuation Britain might also have fallen in 1940.

"Called the man a fool, stripped him of his pride" probably does refer to Neville Chamberlain, but don't forget that Churchill himself was voted out of office before the end of the war, so it could be a reference to that.

I had the good fortune to see Supertramp in Calgary in 1981 on their "Breakfast in America" tour. Fool's Overture is the song I remember best from the concert, it is incredibly powerful music. Chris DeBurgh, who was not so well known at the time, opened the show for them which was kinda neat because I had heard his "Spanish Train" album before. He played songs from "Spanish Train" and "Crusader".

MY essay | Reviewer: oliver | 9/4/08

I first encountered the song Fool’s Overture, by Supertramp in 2001, By accident, on Limewire. I enjoy this piece because of the great musical coordination and the lyrics are very powerful.

An overture is an introduction to music. I think this song is thoughtful because although it is called Fool’s Overture it is not an overture of any kind. The part about the fool is mysterious because we don’t know who the fool is. The lyrics are very confusing and could be written about many different people.

The song starts out with a speech by Winston Churchill about never surrendering. I believe that this is a metaphor about the stupidity of war. Near the end of the song there is a poem written by William Blake called Jerusalem, which is about Jesus’ second coming in Britain. Neville Chamberlain was a British government official who was sent to Germany to get Hitler to sign a paper declaring peace in Europe. The plane that he rode on was called the wings of time.

“Borne on the wings of time”
This points to Neville Chamberlain as the fool

"History recalls how great the fall can be"
This could be talking about Winston Churchill, who got mocked when he warned us about the Great War.

"Called the man a fool stripped him of his pride"
This could be talking about Neville Chamberlain.
“My friends we’re not alone,” sounds like Jesus and his second coming.
"What will be your last contribution sounds like Winston Churchill never surrendering
For all I know it could be talking about all three.



Christ? don't think so... | Reviewer: Sebastian | 9/13/07

Its not about Christ!!... it's partially based on Winston Churchill and how he was mocked when he warned England of the german threat before WWII began. The voice in the beginning giving a speach "we will never surrender..." is actually Winston Churchill.

Superb song | Reviewer: Diego | 2/9/07

This song is all Supertramp is. Fantastic muysic, great composition, interesting lyrics.

I have read many different meanings fr this. It makes sense that it talks of Christ, but it also makes sense if you take it as a critic to a selfish society.

I think the lyrics, by being not too obvious, allow you your own meaning.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2