Reviews for The Sound Of Silence Lyrics

Performed by Simon and Garfunkel

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

Beautiful song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/13/11

I love this song. As far as interpreting it.......I think when you hear a song like this everyone interprets it in their own way and according to their life experiences........for me it is spiritual and I think of people talking but no one really listening to each other or the voice of God.......I may be way off in what it was written for or about, but to me it is so beautiful and it makes me think of others and their thoughts or feelings. A song touches you and affects people differently, you hear a song and it reminds you of a time in your life, good or bad, sometimes they really affect you and sometimes it is just a really good song, nothing more nothing less, but this song really gets in my heart!

Title | Reviewer: Name | 8/5/11

I think it means how people are brain dead people may talk about and listen but they're not really there they just follow the flow the song is about nobody having there own individuality and how people follow flashy things like neon light's till they burn out and probably follow the next thing that catches there eyes

lilly xx | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/19/11

I love this song I remember my mum and playing it years ago and how I remember it meaning so much to my mum after an argument with my father, I feel as if this song is about whom listens in between the words, other wise in the silence, some times words make things worse. Love or hate what I think I'm going to listen to it with my kids. Now silence lol x

The gods of silence | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/10/11

Written shortly after the assassination of JFK this sobe was most likely written as a tribute to him, "disturb the sound of silence" most likely relates to how at a funeral all are silent and nobody speaks out of respect for the dead. The neon lights and the god the created is most likely an atomic bomb, they see the power of it before and with the Cuban missle crisis and the cold war, nuclear power most easily represented as a green glow, I believe this to be the most logic analysis of this. Right or wrong its one way to look at it and it's my way.

Silence | Reviewer: Chealder | 2/1/11

So many comments over a song about the sound of silence. Why just not be silent, listen to the song and interpret it the way you want? And especially not make a fool out of others for interpretting it in different ways because they may not even be so far off...

somuchbeautyintheworld | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/11/11

It might be - that they are simply saying how it was back then, that they are talking about freedom of speech or lack thereof...

However, i find something much deeper in this song. Something withheld in every living breathing person in the world. Something much more personal than the surface of political relations between countries. It's poetry, it's supposed to be personal. It's about people being so distanced from each other, and always even more so - the more freedom they have to come to each other. Time showed the value of this song. It's art, see it as you will, but never disregard one's interpretation. To those of you arguing with people who disagree - this song is about you. It's not the silence between people exchanging words, it's the SILENCE between souls sharing meanings that this song speaks about.

come on | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/24/10

to: Willie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/14/10
My god.. Keep your nonsense to yourself if you don't know what you're talking about. It's about people, governments and countries not talking nor listening to each other. Put it in it's time, it's 1964 it's written in, and still it's true. Nothing shy. Don't spread nonsense no more!

Willie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/14/10

people, the song is about loneliness, nothing less, nothing more. You whackjobs who politicize everything are real characters. The song is about the timid. It's about shyness. It's about envy of those who can speak up and be assertive. That's it! Jeez!

Sharing the Music | Reviewer: Angel | 10/27/10

I first heard this song with my father. The music completely blew me away, even with those rinky-dinky tape player speakers. When I looked up the lyrics I was once again flabbergasted. The complexity of it all was astounding. Fast forward about 18 years, and I am sharing this song with my little brother. I laugh because he can't seem to stop playing this song. A true classic. One for the ages.

An analytical interpretation | Reviewer: N. H. | 9/2/10

"No one dared disturb the sound of silence." I believe that, in this sense, "silence" really means "complacency." We settle for less sometimes because it would take dedicated personal effort to work for improvements in society and our own lives. Few are willing to counter or break the silence by speaking out, because it's hard--and scary--to be the first one to step forward. "Hear my words that I might teach you, take my arms that I might reach you"--the speaker in these lyrics realizes this massive problem in society and wants to help others see their lives for what they really are. Most importantly, s/he wants people to see their lives for what they COULD be. The speaker is not condescending because he is offering to share what he knows and elevate others to his same level of awareness.

wow are you guys really serious | Reviewer: Courtney | 8/17/10

its really crazy about how you guys get worked up like this. This is a beautiful song and that's how it should be viewed minus the negativity when this website put the comment box down here they didn't do it for your political view or religious beliefs they did it for you to comment on the lyrics

Silent | Reviewer: Felicia | 5/9/10

To me this is a very lovely song. Sometimes I think people should really just be silent, you may actually learn something! Too many needy, ignorant people surround me. Freedom of speech has been taken too far. It should really say: IF YOU HAVE SOMETHING IMPORTANT/INTELLIGENT TO SAY THAN SPEAK, OTHER THAN THAT BE SILENT!

Warning | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/1/10

This is clearly not about a political group or party. Its about national subversion and blind citizens. Its about our society today. The masses are ignorant bowing to their neon god, BUT BUY BUY BUY, WORK WORK WORK, ENTERTAIN. The media is owned by the same people that own gas companies and car companies. Do the research. This song is like 1984, V for Vendenta, etc.. Wake up people were giving our rights away in exchange for protection from fabricated threats.

These Comments Are Ridiculous | Reviewer: Ed | 2/6/10

Can you people not see the beauty in the melody and the simple truth in the lyrics? They are in no way condescending. Would you not be frustrated if you recognized that the people around you are living in ignorange and fear? Think about what you're listening to!

Amazing song | Reviewer: Bryan | 12/4/09

Michelle, that is an incredible stratement. In a presidential election the voice of the people is always heard. Please apologize to me and the rest of the Republican party for making such a ridiculous comment. Also, I would like to add in April of 2007 Art Garfunkel made a mockery of Bill Clinton during one of his shows. Not a very loyal democrat.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3