Reviews for Send Me on My Way Lyrics

Performed by Rusted Root

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 1/ 10
Add Your New Review About The Song

Blessings to you. | Reviewer: Norman Patrick | 3/22/13

Hey Gang,
This is Stormy Normy, I played 7 string bass for Double-R for about 6 years until I switched to lead Didgereedoo in 96. I co-wrote this song with Mike "Big Glab" Glabicki in around 1992.

The band truly appreciates the mellow vibes and introspective meaning our fans find in our music and indeed our lyrics. I just wanted to clear the air about this song, since it is requested so frequently at our concerts.

I wrote this song while I was working the graveyard shift at a factory that assembled Syrup-injection manifolds for a local breakfast sandwichery. I was very lonely, and longed mostly not for the touch of a fellow human, but for the sweet release that death would someday bring.

I wrote this song on the back of a Rax placemat that also contained a self-penned eulogy; the tune was originally very dark and somber but when Big Glab started riffin' and John "Wildman" Buynak got ahold of it... they took it in a different direction.

Playing this song is like a arrow shot straight from Gaia's bountiful quiver into my chest every time. I have begged the band to pull it out of rotation but it seems that RussRoo is more about pleasing ever-diminishing sized crowds than seeing towards the healthgroove of a founding member.

Please stop requesting this song. For the sake of my sanity and in the spirit of the communion of groove we feel every day on this crazy blue ball called Mother Earth.

Karaoke? | Reviewer: Sierra | 9/5/12

so i have been absolutely dying to do this song for years for my choir finals ... however i cannot fine karaoke for it anywhere if anyone has any idea where i could get it I would adore them, please help if you can :)

FINALLY | Reviewer: Sarahhh | 4/24/12

Oh my god, thank you!!! I have loved this song since I heard it in Matilda when I was really young, and again in the movie ice age. I recently heard it playing to a music video my biology teacher showed us and I've had it stuck in my head!! When I get songs stuck in my head, I simply must sing along. Unfortunatly I didn't know the lyrics!! I always sang along in gibberish!! I'm so glad that I found this! My random gibberish words are now replaced with the proper english. :')

This song is so AWSOME!!!! | Reviewer: Milly | 1/4/12

I first heard this song on ice age. Its from the first Ice Age and it is from when the animals return the baby back to the humans at the very end of the movie.
And also I heard this on the kidscbc channel.
Once again, THIS SONG IS AWESOME!

Love this song | Reviewer: Theia | 12/7/11

To me this is know as 'the Matilda song' :) first time i ever heard it and listening to it i can see the movie in my head. Was nice to see that it has real words as when I'd sing along before i'd be singing gibberish aha. Gotta say this song always makes me feel cheerful :)

:D | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/6/11

IDK what 'Matilda' is, but I heard this song on the old Disney movie Ice Age. Recently I was at a jam session for my friend's birthday, and the band that was playing started up this song, I was happy to remember it, I hadn't heard it since I was about 12 and watching Ice Age. Rusted Root is one of my favorite blues/folk bands, now.

Why Do They Say Bummela? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/6/11

I've seen lots of lyrics, and this is the first site to actually list the 3rd line correctly as "you know what they say about the young". Most sites just say "bummela eh, bummella ah!" XD I mean, seriously?

Good show, Sing365.com, I'm impressed.

This song means a lot to me!@ | Reviewer: E.S. Tradition | 11/2/11

Blessings to you all. I first heard this song in about '03 when I had just been released from a long hospital stay. My buddy Shifty was jammin' on a lute in the back of the bus to this song, just lettin' the vibes flow when we were hit broadside by a Dr. Pepper truck. I was ejected from the vehicle and landed about 25 yards away in a ditch and when I awoke in an extended-stay nursing facility this very same song was playing! I hopped outta bed and said "Gimme my flute Nurse Ratchet, I gotta get groovin'!" Unfortunately my legs had atrophied significantly and I fell to the floor pretty quick. Still, this righteous jam gives me the courage to go on living!!
Btw, I'm 13

This song is my favorite@! | Reviewer: E.S. Tradition | 11/2/11

Blessings to you all. I first heard this song in about '03 when I had just been released from a long hospital stay. My buddy Shifty was jammin' on a lute in the back of the bus to this song, just lettin' the vibes flow when we were hit broadside by a Dr. Pepper truck. I was ejected from the vehicle and landed about 25 yards away in a ditch and when I awoke in an extended-stay nursing facility this very same song was playing! I hopped outta bed and said "Gimme my flute Nurse Ratchet, I gotta get groovin'!" Unfortunately my legs had atrophied significantly and I fell to the floor pretty quick. Still, this righteous jam gives me the courage to go on living!!
Btw, I'm 13

A Classic | Reviewer: Lyns | 10/12/11

I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one who first discovered this great song in the movie "Matilda"! I remember always liking the song, but it wasn't until a friend of mine downloaded it on my computer that I started listening to it regularly. The first time I heard it again, I was like, "oh, it's that awesome song from 'Matilda'!" Haha. It really is a fun song.

I love thiss | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/14/11

This song was introduce to me through Matilda as a child & ive always enjoyed it then this year I discovered who it was by & for some reason it always make me cry but not in a sad way... All I can say is well done rusted root
Btw I'm 13

Send Me on My Way | Reviewer: Dona Moyer | 3/27/11

I just love the song because my 4 year old gr-granddaughter loves the movie, Matilda. She spends a lot of time with us and has to watch that movie every time she is here. Now it's on a commercial and she stops whatever she's doing to listen to it when the commercial plays.

Great Tune | Reviewer: milissa | 3/21/11

I love this tune SO much because it makes me very happy! I have a happy heart especially when this song is on......
Currently reading Huck Finn and this song reminded me of a slave saying goodbye and grabbing the hand of God so he can run to Freedom! :)

Meaning | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/11/11

I think the song is about an older person looking back on their life and saying how they would Love to see their younger self, and how they would send them on their way, I.e their path of life, I do love this song, it never fails to make me smile :D

For his son | Reviewer: Sewey21 | 3/2/11

I have read that this song is meant to be a conversation between him and his very young son. While I can't be positive it seems to make the most sense to me. Hope this sheds some insight into what the song is really saying.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 1/ 10