Atlas Shrugged | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/20/07

ayn rand captured the same sentiments in Altals Shrugged... the untalented (also looters and moochers, in this case the maples) clumping together and passing 'noble laws' demanding unfrettered efforts to fulfill the needs (indeed wishes) from the talented (oaks) people ... so the talented go on strike and world around the untalented collpases...

still havent heard the song but love the lyrics | Reviewer: 10 year old Gabriel | 10/15/07

I think its about the maples really wanting more sunlight but shows how sometimes if you get what you want you may realize it is not what you really wanted or, even worse, that is not what you needed or even good for you. Clearly, the maples wanted to improve their condition by getting more sunlight (equal rights) but this turned out to be bad for them as it put them in greater danger of being killed. like the saying, "be careful what you wish for" the maples got their wish but it backfired and caused them hardship.

Nobody really knows but Rush | Reviewer: Unbalanced*Time | 10/12/07

Man...its just about stupid people who form unions to get better things when they don't even need it. So the governemnt passes a law and they all get demolished anyway.

You guys are too deep. Look around you, you see it all the time. I bet that was all Neil Pert was talking about.

Has many implications... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/9/07

It's about the have's and have-nots. I think there is some definite Ayn Rand influences here, to be sure - BUT knowing Rush and their music combined with their philosophy and then the Canadian thing, it would appear, it could be about the US and Canada - All it all, though, to be honest, it's about having and not having and the acts one does to address it. In this case, it seems everything is doomed. Truth. You can't demand equal rights - in a constantly changing universe - nothing is equal, and in the end, the strong will survive as it should, and the weak will die (or be phased out accordingly) - it's an AWESOME SONG!

What this song is really about | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/25/07

If you've ever read Ayn Rand before, than you should know what the song is about. The song is about how greedy people are when they see people with more than them. In this case, the maples think they are entitled to the sunlight that they have not earned, but undeservedly feel they are entitled to because of their lesser ability. They think that by the oaks being superior, they did not give the maples the opportunity to get it. This is what all those non-materialists believe: that if you don't have the ability to do something, then no one can. That is one of the ultimate evils. That is why I hate most humanitarian groups. Anyway, awesome song by Rush. Alex Lifeson's guitar work is incredible.

....... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/15/07

i feel that this song is about people who outgrow/outshine others with achivements and get all the glory (sunshine). the maples want to be treated equal and have the sun too, but don't want to work for it so they lower everyone else down to their own level. this is just what i feel this song is about interperate it however you will that is what makes music great

Taken literally | Reviewer: Twisted Sycamore | 9/11/07

I think all of you are taking this song too literally. Actually it's a statement about how unfair it is that everyone loves the trees because they are so tall and graceful and so we give them all of our sunshine. But nobody cares anything about the mosses and lichens on the forest floor. Nobody cares about whether they get any sunlight or water, or even plant food. All people care about is getting their acorns or maple syrup.

Things are what they are | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/25/07

I have always thought the point of this song was that things are what they are. Trying to even things out and make everyone equal will result in everyone's loss of identity. The fact is that maples grow very well and very strong by themselves and alongside oaks.

Internal Strife | Reviewer: reverendlinux | 8/25/07

Or the underlying theme of the song may be about internal strife. A united we stand, divided we fall sort of view.

WOmen | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/23/07

I think this song is just about women wanting equal rights...thats it. the guys are the oaks and the women are the maples.

Great song | Reviewer: MJS | 8/21/07

I have to say I have always loved this song and always felt that it talked about the simple fact that some people have more ability than others and that forcing an equality hurts everyone. If we ever get to a point where someone proposes a law to protect stupid and lazy people from job discrimination, tape some headphones to their head and play this song loud (repeat as needed).

I have occasionally worried that there might have been a racist message in here, but know enough about Rush to feel this was very unlikely.

I am not sure where other reviewers get the idea that Maples need shade. I have seen them growing in full sun many places, including my front yard. Actually, I think they tolerate shade better than some trees rather than requiring it.

usa canada oaks and maples | Reviewer: mike jud blain | 8/19/07

you can interprate it like you want but since i am a french canadian oaks is usa maples is canada and fill in with what you want ( make your brain works a little bit you will see) and the trees are kept equal by ........

MY OPINION | Reviewer: Trevor | 8/18/07

It's important to realize that not only can the maples survive in the shqade they would die without it, which proves that the maples aren't trying to get sun because they are icapable of be happy in the shade but simply because they're jelious of the inharent fetures of the Oak of which the oak has no control. Therefore despizing the oaks for their size is senseless. However when you consider that the nobile law doesn't benifit the maples but is baad for the oaks it is clear that the oaks are not the instigators but the victims, and that the maples only claimed oppression because they wanted revenge on the oaks becaused they perceived the oaks as being happier. And it's true that the oaks where happier before the nobile law but not because they had more sun like you might think but because they where content with there circumstances, and so because maples thrive in shade, and oaks in sun hense both trees had equal potentiaal for happines. Therefore the moral or the song is that life can be perceved by different people (or trees) diffrent ways therefore it's foolish to despise someone because you think there better off then you because more than likly there not and they just have a better attitude, or a more optimistic veiw of life. And even if they are more fortunate than you, they still might be responible for what you do have.

i mean seriously... | Reviewer: Nic | 7/23/07

I definately disagree with Joe...The song has a lot more to do with Loraxian ecology than one would think. Dont just scratch the surface Joe, dig a little deeper-jeesh!

meaning | Reviewer: Pat | 6/16/07

This song has absolutely nothing to do with ecology or race. Your teacher's theory smacks of racism in my opinion, implying that all whites in South Africa are superior "oaks" and all blacks are "maples." This song has absolutely nothing to do with race and wasn't meant to be construed that way. Rush's point is that there are oaks, men of ability, of all races, who are cut down by forced equality of collectivism of any form, even the US graduated income tax. The men of little ability, of all races, who cannot ensure their own survival, decide to get together and cut down the oaks, so all survive, but at the expense of the oaks' height, or level of achievement. If you take two jumps ahead and you think that it is innovative capitalists and not workers who are really responsible for mankind's progress, then you can see why this song is a call for laissez-faire capitalism, for which lyricist Peart was an advocate.