not just a song | Reviewer: Gary | 12/21/09

Carla B is correct. whether or not Neil intended to, he wrote a song that is a metaphor for what the socialists/progressives/communists are trying to do to us now. BTW: check out the lyrics for Red barchetta, a prophetic song about times when the enviro-nazis succed in getting cars banned (the "motor law").

Canadian Bacon | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/14/09

Uh, I think you are all wrong, eh? Rush is from Canada, and the maple leaf is on the Canadian flag. The oaks are the Americans, who always steal their light. The song tells the tale of a vast Canadian uprising that will attempt to overthrow the US. We in the US should all live in fear of our "polite" neighbors to the North, as they mean to bring us doom and horror. We need John Candy, now!

Missing the point. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/13/09

Communism? Or Jesus? Really? You think it's that specific? Well, here is a great word for you then:
AMBIGUITY - 1. doubtfulness or uncertainty of meaning or intention: to speak with ambiguity; an ambiguity of manner.
2.an unclear, indefinite, or equivocal word, expression, meaning, etc.
Synonyms:
1. vagueness, deceptiveness. 2. equivocation.
Antonyms:
1. explicitness, clarity.
(Dictionary.com Unabridged)

This song is not about any one specific issue or ideal; it is an intentionally ambiguous metaphor that speaks of a general folly of human nature, i.e. that unwillingness to appreciate other perspectives and to compromise will tend to result in a poor outcome for all.
I mean, sure, Communism and Christ may be reasonable interpretations simply because they are applicable to the general message of the song, but they are not what the song is about.



Message from God | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/12/09

Its about eternal destiny guys your all missing the forest for the trees once again. The oaks are people whom stand with Jesus Christ the Almighty God. The maples are the tares to be harvested shortly here. Please choose the right path as is talked about in stairway to heaven.

Check out goodfight.org if you need some confirmation.

Communism/Progressivism is a destroyer | Reviewer: Carla B. | 11/29/09

It is anti-communist (Progressive). 2112 was dedicated to the genius of Ayn Rand who hated communism and spent her life speaking out against it. This is an incredibly inspired song that was applicable during the Cold War when it was written and again today against the "ideals" of the communists/progressives. The Progressive/communist goal of equal outcomes is a means of mutual destruction. The communist goal is to guarantee equal economic outcome. The American Dream has previously been to give equal freedom and opportunity but no guarantee of equal outcome. The trees are all kept equal by cutting them all down. How obvious can they be?

no meaning? | Reviewer: gpgj | 11/19/09

if you believe there is no meaning (just a song) in this "song" then you are very misguided. whether the writer meant (which i seriously doubt) no intent; it is there. obviously, it can be interpreted as either communistic or capitalistic. the fact is, it is a remarkable song with very pertenant lyrics for today. 11-19-09.

Could it be? | Reviewer: Morbryn | 10/31/09

Somehow I got something completely different out of the song. I never even considered the song was about communism.

The trees, much like people, were fighting amongst themselves. While the other creatures of the forest fled, the trees were so busy fighting, they were not aware of the threat from a common enemy. Humans with hatchets, axes and saws.


see what you want | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/20/09

people are insane. neal had no real purpose in the lyrics, as others have pointed out. it is only you, the listener, that makes it so. this reminds me of an old Far Side cartoon. In the drawing, a car was turned upside down and a dog was straddling the rear axle and howling. The caption stated something like "A dog's favorite dream". Obviously, this was about a dog catching a car. That didn't stop the author from getting tons of hate mail (the most he received for any cartoon), cancellations of his syndication, etc., because some people saw in it the dog have sex with the car.

This song could be about dreadful communism. It could be about racism. It could be about injustice. Or, it could just be a comical song. What you make of it is up to you.

definitely communism. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/16/09

So they wrote a song about trees behaving like people. And what kind of people keep society "equal" by the humanistic equivalent of "hatchet, axe, and saw"? Well, that would be communists. This song is about communism. And yes, Peart IS a huge Rand fan - an author from Soviet Russia whose mission in life was to tell people about how evil the soviet govt was.

Political song. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/4/09

I believe this song does have a deeper political meaning. Neil Peart is a huge Ayn Rand fan and these lyrics parallel roughly her message in her novel Atlas Shrugged. The Rich (the oaks) are punished for their success in the name of fairness (all kept equal by hatchet, axe, and saw). By the way 2112 is completely based off of another Ayn Rand novel Anthem. This is stated right on the cover.

Just a song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/17/09

This is just that, it is a song about a goofy concept (trees being people like). Why do so many people have a hard time accepting the fact that a band can write a song for the sake of writing a song, not all songs need to have some deep meaning to them........This is a great song about maple trees being jealous of Oak trees, nothing more.....

Just plain stupid | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/3/09

Straight from the author himself "No. It was just a flash. I was working on an entirely different thing when I saw a cartoon picture of these trees carrying on like fools. I thought, 'What if trees acted like people?' So I saw it as a cartoon really, and wrote it that way. I think that's the image that it conjures up to a listener or a reader. A very simple statement." There it is, so get over it.

trees...is rush so subtle | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/16/09

I have read most of the comments, and something in the song has slip by the listeners.

"Oppression!" How more obivious can they spell it. Quotation marks and exclamation point. It's the accusations and perceptions of being oppressed which is part of the human emotion. Is it healthy or destructive?

great band!

excuse me | Reviewer: ted | 7/8/09

is this not about the united states style of government which is the Republic. and are not the hatchet, axe and saw by which all things are kept equal the 3 branches of that government? judicial, executive and legislative....

thailand express | Reviewer: Midnight oil | 6/9/09

I think some of you need to jump on the train to Bangkok and chill. You're looking too deep, just read what babinator posted directly from a Neil quote. Sorry, but sometimes a song is just that... a song.