Reviews for Freewill Lyrics

Performed by Rush

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

Free Will and Destiny | Reviewer: Saadus | 5/5/11

The song, it seems to me anyway, talks how in the end, each of us made the choice that will determine oru choices in the future, which affects our destiny. With Free Will, we create our own world, everything else is a consequence. One simple choice can affect millions, like a pebble being dropped in a still lake. The ripples spread out.
Now add pebbles for every other choice other people made, the ripples collide violently, causing the unrest in the world today. And...
"...If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.."

neutrality | Reviewer: louis | 1/22/11

this song is not about religion or politics or warfare. this song is much simpler and complex; it is just about how no matter what, you have a choice to make. hence, "if you choose not to decide you still have made a choice"

Recently Informed maybe. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/20/10

It is most definately about the illuminati using lucifer as their so call god. Its hard to explain. Just look illuminati up and read the lyrics. Most of thier songs are about it. 2112 new world man. i really just cant tell if they are for it or against it.

My take on the song | Reviewer: dani | 12/7/10

"There are those who think life is nothing left to chance" To me this line says some people think life is all fate and that nothing happens accidently (or by chance). Life is already pre destined to be a certain way. " "a host of holy horrors to direct our aimless dance" Holy horrors seems to say we are scared into religion. Dance may be a metaphor for life and that we aren't aiming to accomplish anything. In all the sentence may mean society uses religion as a set of rules in which we control people by. The morals from religion direct everything we say and do. And if everything is pre destined to be this way we have no choice but to agree with these morals. Therefore we give up our freewill. The chorus is saying you can choose a religion and adopt their morals, or you can choose to not decide (agnostic). If you don't decide you set your own morals. This is only my interpretation. There are other lines in the song that lead me to this conclusion. These are great lyrics. Lots to dig through. :]

Neutral | Reviewer: wjcross | 10/7/10

As a follower of Jesus Christ, I see this song not as pro-atheist or ant-religeon but anti-putting your brain in neutral no matter what. To be "made in God's image" means above all to have free will.

Comment for Josh | Reviewer: TwoAmend | 9/10/10

I just saw Rush last month in San Jose and have to say that you are dead regarding the bass abilities of Geddy. I was sitting in the nose bleed section, watching a big screen that was focused on Geddy. Amazing to watch! He plays the bass like a lesser man would play a lead guitar.

TRY YOUR HAND | Reviewer: Lonesentry | 7/5/10

First off Great Song! How to begin....Risk Takers There will be a point in everyones life where YOU decide what path to go down. Some will take the easy path.(Less resistance, Non confrontational,. Those who take the easy do will succeed but at what cost? Take a risk! Once in everyones life just take the hard road- Rewarding, gut busting, "Damn the torpedos, full steam ahead!" go for the brass ring. When you get that ring it will be nothing that you can explain - Satisfied, the challenge, motivated and ready for more! Who is going to know if you took the easy path? YOU WILL! Go look in the mirror - Like what you see?

I rellate the song to buddhism. | Reviewer: wapati458@hotmail.com | 4/17/10

The song speaks of powers sometimes powers that are percieved as bad or evil. it allows you choice thave athiest beliefs or that of a less detriminental religious belief, But the fact that it does not condone and allow you the right to choose a path relates to Buddhist believes. The Buddha taught many things, but the basic concepts in Buddhism can be summed up by the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path. It is a philosophy because philosophy 'means love of wisdom' and the Buddhist path can be summed up as:
(1) to lead a moral life,
(2) to be mindful and aware of thoughts and actions, and
(3) to develop wisdom and understanding.

Free will and accepting,rather than ecpecting is a buddhist way of life.

Rush..then and now | Reviewer: Autumn Owl | 8/31/09

I'll begin by saying I;m a forty-something male, who was fortunate enough to attend MANY concerts in the late 70's (as a wee lad of 14-15) and through the 80's
when Rush and a select few others were THE primal, driving force in music. I attended seven Rush concerts from 1979 through 1986, and I must say, they STILL are one of my top three of all time. THINKING man's music folks..., masterfully arranged, and artistically and professionally presented. Geddy Lee and John Paul Jones were my original heroes, as a bassist for 30 years now. I can only hope future generations will appreciate them as much as mine.

Walking the path of the ancient ones....

love this song | Reviewer: fanny | 8/22/09

the last part of it is the best, when he's screaming!
About it being anti-religious, I think this song doesn't really care about religion, it just says that no matter how you decide to live, you must make choices, and the clearest way for that is to be aware of it by doing everything by your OWN freewill.

Not anti-religion | Reviewer: Stephen | 5/9/09

I don't think this song is anti-religion as it is sometimes said to be. I think the song is about thinking of God as a guide rather than someone who controlls your every move. The "ready guide in some celestial voice" is a better choice than the "phantom fears".

I love the lyrics! | Reviewer: Nate | 3/28/09

The lyrics to this song do a perfect job of capturing the reason why the determinism vs. freewill debate is and will always be irrelevant. We have no choice but to make decisions as though we had free will, whether we actually do or do not. (And to the person who said Neil Peart was an Ayn Rand Objectivist--he is not. He had said so himself in interviews. Opposing communism or supporting the free market does not make one an objectivist. It simply means you are smart! ;-)

Josh has no clue | Reviewer: Me | 3/24/09

Josh clearly has no clue what he is talking about. Playing an instrument would not make you like Rush more. Playing an instrument does not give you some incredible insight into music that those who do not play miss out on. You can tell by reading his post that he probably fails at the whole life thing. If you want a new perspective on the music, listen to it high.

Lyrics | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/6/09

In my opinion, just reading the lyrics aloud to yourself sounds like a poem, because of Niel Pearts incredible way with words. Almost every song has a deeper meaning behind it (ie. The Trees - Accepting your place in society without causing harm to others, Hemispheres- the balance of heart and mind, 2112- Communism DOESN'T make people happy), plus the fact that they mix music with it to create a truly awesome experience

Bass guitar skill unequalled | Reviewer: Josh | 12/23/08

To/for the "average" listener, i.e., a non-musician, the music of Rush is a melding of many different sounds that comes across as "pleasant" or "cool." For those of us, obviously myself included, who are musicians, the experience(s) of the sounds of Rush are taken to an entirely different level. I don't have room here to go into a lengthy dissertation; however, let me simply invite listeners to do the following: listen to any live Rush piece, dating back even to "All The World's A Stage," and focus on Geddy Lee's bass playing, particularly while he is singing. The absolute and utter expressionism of what he is constantly doing on the bass, especially (and incredulously so) while he is belting out vocals, is beyond my comprehension as a bass player. His brain is capable of musical multi-tasking unlike any other music artist I have ever heard in any genre. What any other bassist could have done with simple root notes and melodies and been reasonably succesful from a listener's perspective, Geddy (I should call him Mr. Lee out of respect) complicates with intricacies, techniques, and complementing notes and chords often octaves lower and higher back-to-back that make the songs fuller, bigger, deeper, and more powerful than anyone else could have even dreamed of. My thanks to every member of the band, on the impossible chance that one of them reads this, for everything throughout the years... but thanks especially to Geddy Lee for expanding the outer edges of the universe for me as a bass player.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3