... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/31/07

love the band, love jenny's voice, love the album
sad to say this song applies to the guy I saw / am seeing
"portions for fuck's sake"



Who ain't a fuck up? | Reviewer: Sam Devine | 8/30/07

Yeah, this is a good tune. It uses the same hook as that Jimmy Eat World song "The Middle", but this one is certainly better. Foxes, foxy ladies,the beautiful people; we all lose our shit for them even though we know we should love someone realistic. Jenny and Forrest Gump's relationship is a pretty prime, if cheesy and mainstream example.
The biblical stuff is intriguing. It could be a double meaning, a play on words, a transposition of an old idea into a new setting – "Heir Jesu" as played by Hendrix.
Sex and morality are rapped up together like a hot pocket of bad news.
I don't know if it would be appropriate to invoke Jimmy Soul's "If You Wanna Be Happy", but I doubt it.
-Sammy D (ohDangMag.com)



Paradoxes | Reviewer: anonymous | 8/17/07

Portions for foxes = paradoxes.
Admittedly, the pun is a stretch, and if is so, there's ever so much more--isn't there?

"My friends tell me to leave you
That you're bad news, bad news, bad news"

Imagine repeating this refrain and breaking it off with someone, because you failed to listen to the rest of the song. . .

"I don't care I like you
and you're bad news
I don't care I like you
I like you"

Great song, great band. Well worth paying close attention to.




we're just portions left over | Reviewer: Anna | 8/5/07

i think this song is about how we all get screwed over by someone and some of us more than once. each time it happens, that person takes a piece of you which you'll never get back and you're left, being damaged goods. so eventually we're all just portions for foxes, scavengers, lurking around for something - anything- to fill them up. and so, there's no mystery left and you've got nothing left to give. yet, the whole thing about knowing the person isn't right for you isn't enough to stop you because its just "another form of relief", something to take away the loneliness, even for a just a while.



Great | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/15/07

The first time I heard this song I didn't much pay attention. The second time I heard it, I only caught onto the beat and I like it a little bit. The third time, I actually listened, and I loved it. Then I started listening to it all the time. I don't know why, because as my friend Mallory says, it's a song that represents a meaningless relationship that is based solely on sex, but I think this song is great. It doesn't matter what it's about, per say. I think it has a good beat and the singer has a wonderful voice and since it represents a portion of the relationships in this world anyway, who cares? The song is great.



we really are all portions for foxes. | Reviewer: Carlie | 7/2/07

I love this song so much and at the same time it depresses me. It fits me to a t. I always try to talk myself out of the people I know are bad for me, and in the end I just quit caring what I try to convince myself and what everyone else says. It usually ends up bad but who cares? really.



Review | Reviewer: Will | 6/29/07

I really love the song
The lyrics are inspiring

:D

I like it alot



fullfilling and honest | Reviewer: Heidi | 6/18/07

TO me it's not good or bad it's honesty. The girl isn't blaming the guy for using her it's just a mutual connection. Also, i like how it explains how it's a cycle between both of them explaining really how a lot of us feel faced with the same situation. "there's a pretty young thing in front of you" meaning he's got something new aleady." but she's the same way because she then says, "walking corpes like me-like you." She clearly defies that it's the wrong, destructive thing to do but she doesn't care which is what makes it honest "we'll all be portions for foxes" this is a bible reference in Psalms 63 "But they have sought my soul in vain; they shall go into the lower parts of the earth, they shall be given over to the power of the sword, they shall be portions for foxes." cool.



fullfilling | Reviewer: Heidi | 6/18/07

I love this song because it's so honest. The girl isn't blaming the guy for using her it's just a mutual connection. Also, i like how it explains it;s a cycle between both of them explaining really how a lot of us feel faced with the same situation. "there's a pretty young thing in front of you" meaning he's got something new aleady." but she's the same way "walking corpes like me-like you." She clearly defies that it's the wrong, destructive thing to do but she doesn't care which is what makes it honest "we'll all be portions for foxes" this is a bible reference in Psalms 63 "But they have sought my soul in vain; they shall go into the lower parts of the earth, they shall be given over to the power of the sword, they shall be portions for foxes." cool.



bad news | Reviewer: Alicia | 6/14/07

the exact story of my current relationship...



"I know I'm alone if I'm with or without you"