Reviews for Otherside Lyrics

Performed by Red Hot Chili Peppers

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

do-do-do-do | Reviewer: booce | 1/25/08

after i typed what i typed, i found myself wondering why? i mean it wasn't something i wanted to say. it just was what was typed. so i shrugged it off. you know, whatever. and now i feel strange about the death of heath ledger. because that happened the day after i typed what i typed. i'm not saying there's a relation to it, i'm just saying i feel weird about it. (as for heath ledger dying, i felt sad when i heard of it. i mean... i never seen brokeback mountain, but all i heard of it made my stomach turn. but i did see The Patriot, once upon a time... so i do have a portrayed-character stored in memory. this is prolly why death of actors reach so deeply. because it is a death of someone you did know.) anyhow... it's just my little twilight zone feel here. and i guess my typing again here is my way of dumping a little bit of the weight of things. after all, i must remind myself that coincidences do occur. and not everything is truly inter-related.

babbling is a better review | Reviewer: ecurb si ohw | 1/23/08

hmmm... i do believe that killing yourself would be the one great thing a person can do for themselves in this particular part of time. the gullibles will say "coward". so-called brainiacs will say "permanent something-or-other to a temporary problem". religious puppets will say "certain hell". but the all-knowing behind that great infinity called space is all-knowing... so, from this side of things you're wondering about that side of things, and you think what if i take that leap? surely it can't be worse than this nothing living? and if it is, the "f" it. i'm sick of the whole damned show anyhow. (i have no actual comment on the writer-of-the-song part of this by the way...) as for drugs, sure musta been a savior of sorts, eh? dive right in... but do no research? prolly heard the horror stories beforehand anyhow... still had to indulge. welp... hmmm... there's a story to find in there somewhere. but i forget. and besides, i've read your comments, and i wish i hadn't. you people do nothing for the life of a song. sure glad i do take it in from your side of things. i'd surely be dead... alive. no other side to speak of.

- many levels | Reviewer: shu | 1/20/08

- I think the lyrics operate on many levels, just like all good lyrics. no one can analyse lyrics and say "this is what it means"; because sometimes even the artist is not sure what he/she means while writing them, sometimes the words just come to you like magic (or inspiration).
the other side, to me is a reference to being like jesus, take it on the other side (if someone strikes you on one side of the face, offer them the other side.
so, he probably was feeling like he was getting beaten up by the whole drug addiction thing.
"how long will I slide?" could mean like people letting it slide that he is still on the drugs, and not calling him to task on it. or it could be like a downward spiral he felt like he was on, as another person posted earlier.
and of cours "slitting my throat" is what he is doing every time he does the drugs.
what I do feel pretty sure about is that "spill my life into a paper cup" is about a urine sample for a tox screen; and "the ashtray's full and I'm spillin my guts" is surely about his time in rehab, where you just talk, smoke and drink coffee.
the other side is also a reference to death and the dark world of drug addiction.
but again, it is in the eye of the beholder and also he might not have even known what he meant while he was writing it. sometimes words just come to you.

about the song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/29/07

the song is about him thinking his gay and he rather slit his throat inside of go on the otherside which is being gay

Drugs | Reviewer: Anders | 6/21/07

Awsome sang, love the way it builds itself up, from slow to a very fast pace, its awsome live!

The song itself is about what a drug addict goes through when he quits, and the demons he encounters. "The otherside" is the world where he is addicted, which he falls from (How long will I slide?). Possibly a reference to a song by "the doors": Break on through to the other side :)

Amazing | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/2/07

First time I heard the song totally loved it, listened to almost all of the RHCP songs and still it is my fave. It's really deep and emotional, it's sad but GOOD.

2007 may 7'th | Reviewer: Alana the 11 year old rhcp fan | 5/7/07

I think this song is about how not only anthony,*sigh*, but the band's emotions and feelings when hillel left suddenly. I can understand anthony,*sigh*, and the band felt like they were being forced with so much they were overloaded like something worthless "Pour my life into a paper cup, the ashtrays full and I'm spillin' my gut..." Suicide is what anthony,*sigh* thought was going to happen to him. So he was almost going to let everything tip over, and take it on the otherside. After all the ashtrays full.
*dreaming of meeting the best musicians ever, the chilis...and if I met them, i would have so many questions...so many.*
I hope you liked how I made it sound like i was going through depression myself in my writing, I'm pursuing my dream of being a song writer.



I LOVE YOU ANTHONY KIEDIS

My fav | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/30/07

a lot of people got it right the songs bout suicide, but the most important thing is that what ever made yu do it yu'll take with yu to the otherside......... killing yurself won't change anthing. great song!!!!!!!

About the OtherSide - one of the best songs I heard | Reviewer: imad | 5/2/07

Simply Excellent song, I love it ( Think I'm not the one )

what it means. | Reviewer: Gigi | 4/24/07

it means it was written while some one was doing some serious drugs, or it means nada. all i can say is it still sounds great.

hillel slovak... | Reviewer: lee | 4/22/07

this song is so great, it might be the best chili song. it´s really sad and it sounds desperate to me. I can only recommend to hear this song, think about the lyrics and watch the video. and think of hillel slovak, I think this song is about him,too.

hillel slovak... | Reviewer: lee | 4/22/07

this song is so great, it might be the best chili song. it´s really sad and it sounds desperate to me. I can only recommend to hear this song, think about the lyrics and watch the video. and think of hillel slovak, I think this song is about him,too.

! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/28/07

I love the song only cuz my friend Abinav sings it better than anyone i know

hu | Reviewer: leila | 2/9/07

the songs really good...itz talking about suaside and ur mind goes throught

awesome | Reviewer: Bradly | 12/31/06

Anthony is talking about his drug addiction....in which he puts it pretty well in this song !!!


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3