Reviews for Short People Lyrics

Performed by Randy Newman

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 6/ 15
Add Your New Review About The Song

Reply to short people | Reviewer: webmaster at supportfortheshort.org | 5/24/09

What is so sad and pathetic is that some of these people writing so-called reviews are also short - or so some of them say. Let's say we had a song called "Black People" and the lyrics went something like:

Black people got no reason to live
Black people got no reason to live
(and one could make up disparaging lyrics here)
Don't want no Black people round here.

Would some of the nincompoops here be writing things like:
"A little better wording would be good"
"If you are offended you didn't get the message of the song"
"For those offended by the song I just want to say "grow up".
"I like this song, and I made up some rockin'
dance moves to it"
"Engage your brains a bit. Critical thinking isn't that hard, your life will be richer for it, I promise."

I hate to be so harsh but I believe these people posting here should engage THEIR brains a little bit - if they have one that is. If this song was made about mostly any racial, ethnic, religious group or women or gays, etc. the song would most likely never have even been allowed on the airwaves let along "celebrated" like some of the (and again you'll pardon my terminology) brain-dead here seem to be celebrating it. If it had, Newman's career would have been over. Period. End of sentence. This is the socially acceptable prejudice called heightism that I discuss on my website, a prejudice that mostly all of the posters here seem to engage in rather freely - There are even some self-deprecating shorters here too that don't seem to mind being used as fodder for a tramp like Randy Newman and his very heightist song. By the way, I do get Newman's message, unfortunately he chose the short-statured to use as an example and the reason he did that was because he would not have had any career after making a similar song about any of the above groups and I think even some of the people posting here are smart enough to agree.

Is anyone "BIG" enough to respond to this post?? No? I didn't think so.

This person is retarded....!!!! *read*! | Reviewer: CamDaMan | 5/7/09

how dare him. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/27/09

No, this is not funny. Short people have more prejudice aimed at them today then anyone else. You CAN'T relate. No one can help it. This man deserves to be punished for these stupid lyrics. Shorter people are just as successful as tall people and we should not be looked down upon like this. What if someone made a song called "tall people"? Oh, then it would be SO MEAN right and not funny? Oh,but this, this is HILARIOUS isn't it. So everyone whose tall and says this is funny needs to get out of here


There is a song called Tall People, google, "tall people lyrics." I am 6'7 and the lyrics bash tall people, do you think I am offended by this? No, you being offended by this shows 1) how insecure you are about your height 2) you have no sense of humor and 3) you are short, get used to it!

PS: I think the song is extremely funny and even if it was aimed at making fun of little people I still would rub it in your short face just because it pisses you off. peace out short fry!! hahaha

Short thang.. | Reviewer: BobbyBrown | 4/13/09

Well I am 5'0 and when I was reading this song in school I laughed with my friend and got in trouble. This song is funny but people who do not get this may get offended a little better wording would be good.
Thank you.

If You are offended... you didn't get the message of the song. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/2/09

To be honest, I am not tall, but short. However, I love the song.
The song has a message, and it's not what you think!
The message is pointing out how silly it is to judge people on their appearance.
About halfway through the song You'll hear these lyrics:

Short people are just the same
As you and i
(a fool such as I)
All men are brothers
Until the day they die
(its a wonderful world)




Oh Please get a life! | Reviewer: Fifthhorseman | 3/20/09

As a lifelong short person I have loved this song since I first heard it. Sure I get ribbed about being short but oddly not by tall people but by women marginally taller or smaller than me ( 5'5"). Randy Newman Rocks .If you are short and are offendend by this song you really do need to grow up (pun intended)

Well... | Reviewer: Mcfizzlestick | 2/23/09

Gee. I mean, I like this song, and I made up some rockin' dance moves to it, but I AM only 4'8 and have been teased a lot by my "friends" who "don't really mean it". LOVE the song; but I HATE people who make fun of others just because they are different.So people who do, go get a life!

"Grow up" | Reviewer: John | 2/13/09

For those offended by the song I just want to say "grow up". The song makes a great point and pokes fun at prejudice. Spend a little more time looking for the positive intent in others and you will probably find it.

Great! | Reviewer: Shorty | 2/11/09

I heard this song for the first time on the episode "boy to the world" of ally mcbeal and I could not stop laughing!

I'm one of those short people, and even so, I love this song. Most of the verses are actually true, that's what's making this song so funny.

Everyone who's just complaining is wrong! We really need to joke around much more, even if it gets a little sarcastic...

tongue in cheek. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/10/09

Newman's said that this song is about how stupid prejudice is, and is about some lunatic.
Do you think there are people out there who are heightist? That's absurd.
The bridge gives it away.
Also, everyone's got some hangup that "no one else could possibly know what it's like to have", like being short, or tall, or fat, or skinny, or black or ...

Wow. | Reviewer: emjay | 2/7/09

Just stumbled onto this page, and am perplexed by these posts by people who don't understand the point of the song or Randy's intended irony. Engage your brains a bit. Critical thinking isn't that hard, your life will be richer for it, I promise.

Wow alot of people taking this like it's offensive... | Reviewer: Daniel | 2/6/09

Can't believe how many (short) people find this song offensive... I'm not tall myself but this song isn't about that it is bad to be short, it's about peoples prejudice.

It's exactly like the comment Adam wrote, couldn't have written it better myself. Great song!

Wow | Reviewer: tara | 2/7/09

Ok for everyone saying that this is insulting i am way taller than average and everyone teases me about my height even though they say they dont mean it so this is just a harmless song just like when short peole make fun of tall people but dont mean any harm this is what that song is . This is my opiniion
xoxoxo

Chin up | Reviewer: Bilroy | 2/2/09

Always one of my favorites, and I have always been short. I you cannot laugh yourself, you have a real problem. If someone laughs at you, and you join in the laughter, you help them solve their potential problem. Now, let's here it for Tall People !!

how dare him. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/27/09

No, this is not funny. Short people have more prejudice aimed at them today then anyone else. You CAN'T relate. No one can help it. This man deserves to be punished for these stupid lyrics. Shorter people are just as successful as tall people and we should not be looked down upon like this. What if someone made a song called "tall people"? Oh, then it would be SO MEAN right and not funny? Oh,but this, this is HILARIOUS isn't it. So everyone whose tall and says this is funny needs to get out of here.

short people | Reviewer: mark ainslie | 1/19/09

I hate the song maybe because i am short it has silly words and means nothing.I think the song was out in the 70's it sounds like it anyways.
I used to always have it sung to me when i was younger.Dont get me wrong i like my height after reaching 5'0 i just dont love it.I hate all the name calling including this one which has stuck on me since 10 yrs old.LITTLE LEGS my mates shout it out all the time.At school in p.e the teacher used to call me POCKET ROCKET which was fair has i was quite sprinty.Some of my friends are like a foot taller than me but they still llokout for me.I just call them my minders..


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 6/ 15