Anon | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/9/10

this song is in fact about a heroin overdose from what i have heard. if you notice in the video, snow white has a needle and the 7 dwarves discover it. so yeah. i do believe that it is about overdosing on heroine

Daniel | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/20/10

This song is so amazing and the video is so epic. Its one of them songs that I dont really care what it means because I just love the german lyrics and Rammstein as the dwarfs mining gold cocaine for snow white.

Interpretation | Reviewer: Jonathan | 7/17/10

This song is not about boxing, they were paid for the song to be used for a boxer, but it is not about boxing.

Just as the song is not about Snow White, only that they were watching Snow White with the song playing in the background and decided to merge the two.

Same as Rob Zombie merged texas Chainsaw Massacre with The Rocky Horror Picture Show to create
House of 1000 Corpses.

Listening to the song I definitely get the feeling it is about the Jews rising up against the Nazis, Jesus and the end times. But who knows? It's a very powerful song and deserves a powerful interpretation.

Klichko | Reviewer: Splattered | 5/2/10

Hmm, song about a boxer makes a perfect sense.
First verse, and everybody is waiting for a boxer to appear and counts aloud to ten(und die Welt zaehlt laut bis zehn).
Sie wird heute nacht nicht untergehen -it(the sun) will not die tonight - metaphor, meaning he'll not lose tonight
2nd verse describes boxer's might (metaphorically, comparing him with sun)
And at the end of the 3rd there's a victory
Lässt dich hart zu Boden gehen
Und die Welt zählt laut bis zehn
He pounds you to the ground
And the world counts aloud to ten.

Still, the video is really NOT helping in getting the meaning of the song...

translation | Reviewer: Marica | 8/3/09

Do not use internet translators! Poor quality, stupid mistakes. Living language is a bit more that a definition from google... You should ask a German native to do the translation, because this one sucks. And the thing about Jesus? Please... not everybody is Catholic, especially Rammstein.

Rammstein | Reviewer: Unsavory | 7/13/09

The song can be interpreted in many ways. Many of their songs have double meanings. Like Du Hast. Hasst and Hast being pronounced the same but meaning totally different things.

Anyway "Die Sonne scheint mir aus den händen" Literarlly becomes "The sun shines to me from the hands" in english.

And the swastika is an ancient symbol for the sun in the Hindu beliefs.


Awesome song I love it...

Weird | Reviewer: N/A | 5/23/09

Love this song!
Couldn't help but read the speculations though.
If I remember right, I think it was in the history channel or something, it said that the Swatiska(don't know if spelled right) is I think the egyptian symbol for... Sun
Don't know if I remember correctly though

the story | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/4/09

The song is about boxing, just check wiki

According to Till Lindemann, the song was originally written as an entrance song for the boxer Vitali Klitschko, which was also the working title of the song

The video features the band as dwarves working for a gold dust-addicted Snow White, driven by their sexual obsession towards her. Apparently, this came about while several of the band members were watching the old Disney film, Snow White, and had Sonne playing in the background, giving them the idea for the video

Die sonne | Reviewer: Jordan | 5/1/09

My friends, I see much discussion on christ bringing the apocalypse. Being a christian myself, I'd love it if it were true, but alas. Some information might help open your eyes
Rammstein is athiest, and openly brag about it. They even have a song about it. As to which one it is, I am sorry but my memory fails me. And maybe a little help on this-and the world, according to ten counts- how about it being an idiom which the translator doesn't know? It's "and the world counts to ten". And also "The sun seems to me from the hands" Another idiom "the sun comes from my hands". "Aus"="out", not "off. No criticism of Jeana, who thought to use the translator though. How about this line of thought?

It's about a prize fighter in a boxing match. Seeing stars? Just think about it.. Counting to ten, it burns/breaks, can you run, can you hide... It's a prize fight.

The song | Reviewer: José Daniel | 3/24/09

OK, I saw some of the opinions here posted, and also heard the song and thought about it(because I know a little bit of English and German, though my native language is Spanish). The song may be about Jesus, because, as some people here said, sun in South Germany may mean God or Jesus, plus is related to Jesus hanging from the cross as the Sun, and as the brightest star for everyone, and as it or He will never fall. I think it means that He will never go down, and everyone waits for Him when the count reaches 10.
This is something I thought about, and another thing is, that the end of the world is near, brought by God or Jesus, talking about Apocalypse, when the count reaches 10. I also say this because of the song itself, I mean, if you hear it, it sounds like the end of the world, and may be another meaning. Well, this is just what I thought about, and may be totally wrong, but maybe is real.

no idea | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/31/08

i luv this song!! i have no idea wat this song ment when i first herd it and i didnt knw any german untill now lol...ive been listening to the song 4 over a month without meaning and it still got to me!! i luv it!! i dont need to kmnow what it means lol...just like the beat ...

p.s. i cant sing along tho

peace out everybody!!

Die sonne review | Reviewer: gozalo | 12/10/08

i speak german and the guy who translate this
need to study more xD
sry for saying this but that what u wrote down is not what he says in the song exactly
in the part: "Die Sonne scheint mir aus den Händen"
means "the sun shines out of my hands"
and there are some other errors but no time to put them here maybe i put the hole translation correct here for the people who want it ^^

""btw. my english sux hahaha""

google translator.... | Reviewer: Jeana Morris | 11/26/08

i typed it in and heres wat i got


One, two, three, four, five
Six, seven, eight, nine, Off.

All are waiting for the light
Fear fear not
The sun seems to me from the eyes
Tonight they will not go under
And the world, according to ten counts

One
Here comes the sun
Two
Here comes the sun
Three
It is the brightest star of all
Four
Here comes the sun

The sun seems to me from the hands
Can you burn can hide
If it breaks from the fists
Sets are hot on the face
It is now night is not lost
And the world, according to ten counts

One
Here comes the sun
Two
Here comes the sun
Three
It is the brightest star of all
Four
Here comes the sun
Five
Here comes the sun
Six
Here comes the sun
Seven
It is the brightest star of all
Eight, nine
Here comes the sun

The sun seems to me from the hands
Can burn, you can hide
If it breaks from the fists
Sets are hot on your face
Schmerzend establishes itself on the breast
The balance is the loss
Lets you go hard to the ground
And the world, according to ten counts

One
Here comes the sun
Two
Here comes the sun
Three
It is the brightest star of all
Four
And will never fall from the sky
Five
Here comes the sun
Six
Here comes the sun
Seven
It is the brightest star of all
Eight, nine
Here comes the sun
Out

Think about it | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/22/08

While the english version of "Du Hast" may say "You Hate", this is a mistranslation. Instead, as others have said, Du HASST would be you hate. Look it up first, guys. Also, just because it says "sun" and "biggest star" doesn't mean it's literal. I've heard people say its about Jesus or God bringing forth the apocalypse (Jesus or God being the Sun). Find an English translation again, but this time, think deeper.

A little lite on the subject | Reviewer: jeff | 10/25/08

Just so all of you know Rammstein is surrounded by a lot of cotraversy in Germany. There is speculation as to wether they are NAZI or not. The band will not give a straight answer to this. So from this you can conclude that it would be impossible to determine if there is more than one meaning to any of their songs. As for if they are using the right form of a word in their songs could be simply that it sounds better they way they say it or that it is leading to a hidden meaning. So until you can determine the actual agenda of the band you can't begin to imagine that you know what there music is about. Also I have heard rumors that the lead singer is gay so why would he sing about a girl? Just enjoy the music for what it is a source of entertainment that is some one else's form of self expression.