Reviews for Du Hast Lyrics

Performed by Rammstein

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

the real meaning | Reviewer: daniel alba | 3/29/08

The whole song is a play on German wedding vows.

The refrain ("Willst du, bis der Tod euch scheidet, treu ihr sein für alle Tage?") translates to "Will you, until Death separates you, be faithful to her forever?" Instead of answering with "ja" ("yes"), the singer says "nein" ("no"), finally breaking his silence earlier in the song: "Du hast mich gefragt, und ich hab nichts gesagt", which translates to "You asked me (or have asked me), and I have said nothing."

As stated earlier, the English version of Du Hast is not translated, but changed altogether ("Du hasst" (du haßt) means "you hate". The extra "s" differentiates it from the conjugated verb form of haben (to have).


Someone obviously doesn't speak German! | Reviewer: matthew | 3/23/08

Whoever translated this song doesn't speak German and has led people to believe it says you... you hate. NO! It says 'you... you have... you have me'... this makes sense because later it adds ' you have asked me' which is the proper past tense form of the German haben gefragen. In the future I suggest that you not translate a language you do not speak... have a nice day!

i love them | Reviewer: Kaitlyn | 3/25/08

I love rammstein!!!! They are the best german band. I am german and am learning the language! I know how to talk to people in german and rammstein is like the best! I learned a lot of words from rammstein and the song du hast. They helped me with the language! Keep on playing Rammstein!!!!! Ich mag Sie Burschen damit viel!!!!!

Du Hast | Reviewer: Blake Meche | 12/23/07

Du Hast can be translated two ways. directly, You have, or indirectly, you hate .. So it varies on the usage, in the German version, I'm pretty damn sure they mean it as, You have asked me and nothing I said.
If you have any questions or want me to explain more, just e-mail me.

answering Augie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/29/07

Augie, I'm not good at english but I'd try to explain it:
the thing is that you are translating "hast" only like "has" but it happens like in english, it's used also to do the participle form so the translation would be "u have asked me and I've said nothing" ;)

im still confused | Reviewer: Matt McDaniel | 11/24/07

im still confused, what does it mean. i absolutely love this song because of the guitar riffs in it but still i dont know is it du hast or du hasst???

CONFUSED | Reviewer: Augie | 11/15/07

OK im confused if du hast means you have, and du haSSt means you hate me, then how can Du hast mich gefragt und ich hab nichts gesagt, mean you asked me and i said nothing???Man those crazy krauts lemme tell ya.but the song rocks so its all good


Du Hast Mich Gefragt Und Ich Hab Nichts Gesagt | Reviewer: Adam | 10/25/07

That song kicks ass, rockin' i would be singin' du hast mich gefragt und ich hab nichts gesagt all the fuckin' time, rock on Rammstein whoa.

Du Hast | Reviewer: alan | 10/2/07

good song, but really not a wedding song, unless you really don't want to get married. "Du hast mich gefragt und ich hab nichts gesagt" means "you have asked me, and i have said nothing." but if you want to get married to a song about saying no to your wedding vow, help yourself

the song is great... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/23/07

but I wouldn't necessarily say it's a great wedding song...it's more of an anti-wedding song, if you will.

Those crazy Krauts | Reviewer: InFiD3VIL | 7/16/07

Man, those Germans can sound badass even singing a nursery ryhme. Keep up the good work Rammstein.

du hast. | Reviewer: michelle | 7/2/07

omg i absolutely love this song. my boyfriend had me listen to it. im so happy i listened. they rocked that shit.

Rammstein Du hast | Reviewer: POP | 5/27/07

Du Hast is totally wicked. I knew the song in 5 hearings. It is a cool wedding song. I know german because of Rammstein. Rock on Rammstein.











another meaning | Reviewer: John Comeau | 4/26/07

Yes, "du hast mich" means "you have me", but "du hasst mich" means "you hate me". That double entendre is probably deliberate, as it is in "man ist was er isst". The others may be, too.

lost in translation | Reviewer: Dave | 4/20/07

doesn't du hast mich mean 'you have me' not 'you hate me'?


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3