Response | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/17/09

In response the guy calling everyone insane, its more than governments taking your paychecks its more than war, its more than governments all together. Its people striving for a world without money or jobs, or police or governments. Its about us all living together as a species, exploring instead of working towards having a massive bank account.

Regardless | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/11/09

But don't get me wrong, this is a great RAtM song off their best album. I'm just saying that when it comes to politics they, specifically de la Rocha, are FUCKING RETARDED..................
Great song either way though.

To Muahaha | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/4/09

True the Germans did go through a time of prosperity during the Thrid Reich, but that was only because Hitler was preparing for war and mobilizing the factories. He brought jobs to the people through capitalism and undermined them and controlled their lives through socialism, which happens in every socialist society at some point in time. Eventually somebody gets power hungry and causes a major war whcih proves that you can't give the govt all the power.

MUAHAHA | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/28/09

Do you really think that germans lived bad with the third reich ? Maybe if you will read some books you will know that it was the best regime and goverment for the german people in the whole history. If only they could stay in they own borders,damn.

Ur all fuckin insane | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/20/09

You all obviously have no idea what "the real world" is about and you sound like the mainstream media when you blame everything on Bush and religion. Congress voted to go to war, Bush suggested it, and most religions are agianst war, except radical Islam which is against most of your insane Liberal views so it makes no sense that you would support them. As for our government, yes it isn't perfect, we have let it get way too bloated and given it too much power, so now it rapes you in the ass and takes half of your paycheck while you sit around blogging. That paycheck ends up in the hands of superwealthy Liberals who don't pay their taxes but support taxing "the rich" to "help" the poor. Some of it also goes into the mainstream Liberal media that pumps your fried minds with anti-right wing propaganda everyday but your too stupid to realize it because "everyone at The New York Times must know what they are talking about." For those of you that think that 1984 is about Capitalism, you couldn't be more dead wrong, brainwashing the children is a common communist tactic first employed by Stalin and is now incorporated by Obama. If you still believe in socialism and universal healthcare, look no further than The Third Reich, Communist Russia, China, Cuba, Vietnam, and of course NORTH FUCKING KOREA.

RATM is about society as a whole | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/22/09

If you listen to Rage's entire catalog, it becomes clear that they are not only angry at government - they are also angry at people. We let all the "bad" stuff in the world happen without batting an eyelash. What people don't realize is that all the institutions and power structures they rail against are merely tools which we can put to whatever end we choose. We let power get corrupted. It's time to "Wake Up" and, only then, can we "Take the Power Back"

rage | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/10/09

damn this song is really deep!! corporate greed, reffering to how the u.s does things in the name of god, how protesting doesnt bother the government as long as they dont achieve anything by it,and those commited to their cause are political prisoners or silenced by death and that some poeple dont mind what the goverment is doing because they profit from it, and i believe "sleep now in the fire" refers to how the public is being harmed but they arent even aware of it

the solution | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/3/09

zack made many points on standing up for your rights and not tolorating violence and injustice, but what if we didn't stand up, but don't lay down and roll over either...zack knows what he is talking about but be reasonable people

To the reviewer below... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/25/09

Rage Against The Machine suggested a solution, and not only once. They cry it out at the top of their lungs, over and over again, hoping someone will just listen. They are telling us to stand up. Stand up for who we are, stand up for our rights, our freedom, stand up against injustice, hatred, violence, abuse, war. They invite us to take a stand against all that has made this world so unjust, to take a stand against ignorance and complacency and to, for once, do something about it.

... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/20/09

This is an awsome song. I love listening to it and thinking about the lyrics. A lot of their songs have the same theme. The only problem I have with it is that they enver suggest a solution. It's always this, this and this are wrong. They either think they can do a better job governing the United States or that there is no hope for humanity in general which seems like a depressing way to look at the world. I agree that there are a lot of things wrong with the American government but they're not going to be able to change it so they might aswell try to find some good in it instead of focusing on everything that's wrong. Either way these guys did their homework and they know what they're talking about.

"The End of History" | Reviewer: Salva Veritate | 11/20/08

The four central lines to the song that outline its entire message:

www.wesjones.com/eoh.htm

For it's the end of history
It's caged and frozen still

The End of History was an essay written by Francis Fukuyama in 1989 that basically glorifies American strength, declaring it the ultimate, perfect political and economic system and the culmination of five thousand years of governments.

There is no other pill to take
So swallow the one that made you ill

According to him, as the perfect government, it's our duty to spread our way of life throughout the world. Of course, America's is not the perfect government, but Fukuyama's intention is to force it upon the world anyway until there is no other way of life left. It's especially scary as Fukuyama joined a few dozen like-minded political philosophers to form the Project for a New American Century, and proceeded to heavily influence the Bush administration in its rampant nationalism and fierce imperialism, at the cost of other nations and their citizens.

Good interpretations by others here, too, who aren't familiar with Fukuyama and the ideologies of the PNAC.

the pill | Reviewer: john | 9/10/08

"there is no other pill to take, so swallow the one that made you ill"

these people have destroyed the world to a point that you have no choice but to do as they say, further damaging the world.

"I am the Nina The Pinta The Santa Maria
The noose and the rapist
The fields overseer
The agents of orange
The priests of Hiroshima"

this is them causing the world harm, but at the same time, try to convince everyone that they are the good guys, eg: "the noose and the rapist" could mean they are the perpetrators yet they are the ones who seem to be doing the punishing

Empire | Reviewer: James | 8/26/08

The lyrics are basically outlining the way multinationals and oil companies work. 'The world is my expense, the cost of my desire.' They are prepared to sacrifice the rest of the world to keep themselves rich and in power. It goes on to describe the way that freedom fighters are 'caged and buried'. You can march and protest, but until you can actually take back power, you will be ignored.

The second verse lists acts of imperialist agression and dominance, the exploitation and sacrifice of the weak.

There are several references to george orwells 1984. 'I'm deep inside your children, who'll betray you in my name' could well be a reference to the children spying on their parents in 1984, as well as the younger generation being more consumerist, supporting capitalism. 'The party' is a strong 1984 reference, and 'the end of history' refers to propaganda, and the fact that in 1984, the main character works in a department that deletes and changes history, leaving no true record of events.

Cost of my desire... | Reviewer: TISTF | 3/31/08

Amazing lyrics, i think that the lyrics are an analogy to the middle east however, rather than health care. The 'pill' is democracy, but democracies have been harmful to some states in the middle east and africa and america is forcing them to take it. at any rate, no matter what its about, amazing song

The lyrics actuall meaning..? | Reviewer: James Ram | 3/26/08

The music video shows how civilians ignore the problems because they feel they can't do anything about it, and how politicians know about these problems and have the power to fix it but no.. they choose not to. While we also abuse our health care system "There is no other pill to take so swallow the one that made you ill" and how although we have pills for almost everything it usually causes other problems.
Also how we must conform or we get dragged into our grave and how although we say we have "freedom of religion" it's still socially un-acceptable to have a different religion as opposed to the mainstream religion.
And by the way Rageforever.. the government is not neccesarilly evil there just usually really, really unbeilavably stupid.