BananaoRama | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/21/10

Jesus is mentioned in the song, but that does not mean that the lyrics are a "sarcastic view of the Christian/conservative ideology"
i think this is bout money. (Capitalism specially)

Specially in the verse:

"I'm deep inside your children
They'll betray you in my name"

That happens a lot...

"There is no other pill to take
So swallow the one"

another Verse pointin at Capitalism...

Its clear this is a Political critic to the demagogue capitalism.

The video was recorded the same day that Argentinian representatives were re funding their debt to the FMI, if u take a look u will see the Argentinian flag on the building.

Sorry for my english, cheers from Argentina ;)

Brilliant song | Reviewer: Riaan | 10/17/10

I see a lot of politics up here, but nobody mentions what a kick-ass song this actually is. RATM were all about being against "the man" and I am a supporter of their politics, but they made some great rap-metal tunes.

The video is great too, funny and satirical which was directed by Michael Moore. Long live RATM!

Wake up Got it Wrong | Reviewer: Max Emberson | 9/21/10

In response to got it wrongs posting saying "the Christian/conservative ideology that has shaped this country". Jesus is about many things that rage are about just read Matthew chapter 5. Mt 5:8 “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. MT 5:9 “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

USA birthed the Mormens that are headed by Masonry. I am a Christian in Asia and we see USA as mainly losing your religion - so don't blame Jesus. Your MTV has barbie dolls with crosses dangling over their implanted juggs thinking their Christians.

Look at your recent Wall Street crash - your banks lose $1 trillion and the bank directors that are paid 7 & 8 figure salaries to LOSE YOUR money get another $2 to $4 trillion. Its the SCAM of the century. ITS NOT JESUS TAKING YOU DOWN - wake up bro. Jesus convicted the tax collector to pay back quadruple to everyone he scammed - and this is one thing RAGE are about.

got it wrong | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/15/10

This song is clearly about Manifest Destiny or "the White Man's Burden". Essentially Zach is taking a sarcastic view of the Christian/conservative ideology that has shaped this country, and the western world i.e. "Jesus blessed me with its future" relating directly to the ideology that expanded America west to the pacific. This song is completely anti-capitalism, and probably their strongest political statement. The lyrics then represent all of the terrible things the christian ideologies have brought on the rest of the world, because of their arrogant superiority (nina, pinta, santa maria...priest of hiroshima) showing that Euro/Americans will take what they want because they truly believe it is God's will. Great lyrics, spot on.

Response | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/17/09

In response the guy calling everyone insane, its more than governments taking your paychecks its more than war, its more than governments all together. Its people striving for a world without money or jobs, or police or governments. Its about us all living together as a species, exploring instead of working towards having a massive bank account.

Regardless | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/11/09

But don't get me wrong, this is a great RAtM song off their best album. I'm just saying that when it comes to politics they, specifically de la Rocha, are FUCKING RETARDED..................
Great song either way though.

To Muahaha | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/4/09

True the Germans did go through a time of prosperity during the Thrid Reich, but that was only because Hitler was preparing for war and mobilizing the factories. He brought jobs to the people through capitalism and undermined them and controlled their lives through socialism, which happens in every socialist society at some point in time. Eventually somebody gets power hungry and causes a major war whcih proves that you can't give the govt all the power.

MUAHAHA | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/28/09

Do you really think that germans lived bad with the third reich ? Maybe if you will read some books you will know that it was the best regime and goverment for the german people in the whole history. If only they could stay in they own borders,damn.

Ur all fuckin insane | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/20/09

You all obviously have no idea what "the real world" is about and you sound like the mainstream media when you blame everything on Bush and religion. Congress voted to go to war, Bush suggested it, and most religions are agianst war, except radical Islam which is against most of your insane Liberal views so it makes no sense that you would support them. As for our government, yes it isn't perfect, we have let it get way too bloated and given it too much power, so now it rapes you in the ass and takes half of your paycheck while you sit around blogging. That paycheck ends up in the hands of superwealthy Liberals who don't pay their taxes but support taxing "the rich" to "help" the poor. Some of it also goes into the mainstream Liberal media that pumps your fried minds with anti-right wing propaganda everyday but your too stupid to realize it because "everyone at The New York Times must know what they are talking about." For those of you that think that 1984 is about Capitalism, you couldn't be more dead wrong, brainwashing the children is a common communist tactic first employed by Stalin and is now incorporated by Obama. If you still believe in socialism and universal healthcare, look no further than The Third Reich, Communist Russia, China, Cuba, Vietnam, and of course NORTH FUCKING KOREA.

RATM is about society as a whole | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/22/09

If you listen to Rage's entire catalog, it becomes clear that they are not only angry at government - they are also angry at people. We let all the "bad" stuff in the world happen without batting an eyelash. What people don't realize is that all the institutions and power structures they rail against are merely tools which we can put to whatever end we choose. We let power get corrupted. It's time to "Wake Up" and, only then, can we "Take the Power Back"

rage | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/10/09

damn this song is really deep!! corporate greed, reffering to how the u.s does things in the name of god, how protesting doesnt bother the government as long as they dont achieve anything by it,and those commited to their cause are political prisoners or silenced by death and that some poeple dont mind what the goverment is doing because they profit from it, and i believe "sleep now in the fire" refers to how the public is being harmed but they arent even aware of it

the solution | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/3/09

zack made many points on standing up for your rights and not tolorating violence and injustice, but what if we didn't stand up, but don't lay down and roll over either...zack knows what he is talking about but be reasonable people