Reviews for No Surprises Lyrics

Performed by Radiohead

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 7/ 10
Add Your New Review About The Song

No Surprises | Reviewer: Abyss | 7/3/08

This is a song about what happens when you become dead inside. Floating, drifting far above the world. Participating in the routines of the everyday world, an imitation of life. But there is nothing left behind your eyes, no pain or joy, no sorrow or hope. Just the endless void, the endless abyss, the lost ones in the blizzard walking the endless road. You pretend. You try to kid yourself that you can live your life. You try to lose yourself in a million pointless details, and while away your life until its end. Each day the same, melting into one another, passing by in a blur across eyes that cannot see, eyes that have seen too much.
And you're never really alive. Never really there

this is my final fit | Reviewer: anticitizen | 6/22/08

I always thought this song, along with most in OK computer, was about escapism, struggling/embracing the dull & mediocre suburbia life.

A dull unrewarding job, a pretty house with a pretty garden, all the stability with no alarms and no surprises, just routine.

"My final fit" could be interpreted about suicide (or pondering it) but actually, and frighteningly, it could be about fully embracing this unrewarding life. Killing the last bit of humanity and becoming a pig in a cage on antibiotics?

I think... | Reviewer: Luciole | 5/27/08

I think that, rather than himself committing suicide, it's the suicide of someone close, like a lover or a sister or a very close friend or something. I mean, I get the feeling that it's a song written for a woman.

For example, the "bruises that won't heal" line might be a referance to an abusive relationship that someone is struggling to hide. Or something like that.

It could also be seen as a social and political statement against the goverment and how the world is run. Maybe it even means that someone is committing suicide, rather than live with the way the world is now. But the "handshake of carbon-monoxide" might be pointing out that the world is dying from all this pollution.

Not that I really see the song as political comentry, but, just some ideas.
:3 <33

---- | Reviewer: petey | 5/27/08

Why didn't I for once read the word depression in the comments? I think that's what the song's about - you loose touch with everyday reality, you dont care about anything, even living, because it just seems so meaningless, superficial and unworthy going through. For me, "Such a pretty house etc" again refers to the inability to appreciate things you otherwise would if you werent depressed - he just doesnt give a fuck about the pretty garden, about anything. He just wants peace and quiet - a handshake of CO

about the pretty house | Reviewer: zoltán | 5/20/08

If we accept the suicidal interpretation then the lines "such a pretty house" etc. could describe what the writer of the song sees or hallucinates in the euphoric moments preceding the loss of consiousness due to CO-poisoning. Only in these few final moments could they find happiness.

a song about... | Reviewer: Matt | 5/18/08

This song presents us to a "HOW NOT TO" example, a warning, i.e, don't waste youre life with superficial things, try to avoid routine as much as you can etc.In other words it is a song about a person who realises that he/she can do much more in many aspects of his/hers life and decides to change..somehow....to a better "state". have a good time / try to smile / respect all human beeings.ciao.

Not able to do sucide | Reviewer: jordan | 4/3/08

The song is about life not sucide its some1 who dose not yet no his place and is not really bothered if he lives or dies that he is not alarmed or surprised while he walks through with there life.also he could be thinking of sucide but cant go along with ending the 1 precious life he or she has

suicide | Reviewer: Romina | 4/2/08

I think that this song speaks about someone who is tired of his life and thinks about suicide: "a handshake of carbon monoxide" seems to be like the vein he´s gonna use is carbon monoxide. Regarding to " such a pretty house and such a pretty garden" I think that he means cementery. And "with no alarms and no surprises silent silent" is because that carbon monoxide kills you slowly, in Argentina some people calls it "the silent killer" because you cant´t even tell that you´re dying.
that´s all.. bye!

One of us | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/16/08

In my opinion he wants to change things and with "my final bellyache" tries to convince himself that he is capable of something radical (who knows maybe even suicide), a real change, but gives up as usual "such a pretty house..." saying to himself: why complain, could be worse...
I think lyrics are about a guy that has been through this situation number of times before, just like all of us I guess.
Will he just imagine that he could do smth if he wanted, or is he going to actually stand up and change something?
Are we?

I reckon he's One of us | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/16/08

In my opinion he is fed up, wants to change things and with "my final bellyache" tries to convince himself that he is capable of something radical (who knows maybe even suicide), a real change, but gives up as usual ("such a pretty house...") saying to himself: why complain, could be worse...
I think lyrics are about a guy that has been through this situation number of times before, just like all of us I guess.
Will he just imagine that he could do smth if he wanted, or is he going to actually stand up and change something one day?
Are we?

no surprises | Reviewer: eliza | 3/11/08

in my oppinion this song speaks about the "empty" life of someone who feels realy fed up from the routtine and the everyday life. the feelings the song is expressing is monotony, sadness and kind of disappointment for all the vacant promises("bring down the government"). its about somone who feels bored ("a job that slowly kills you"), tired and ..suffocated. he is pent in his normal, typical and "seeming-perfect" life..

Amazing. | Reviewer: Melisa | 2/28/08

This song moves me. It's really, really beautiful.

I think it isn't about giving up on life...I think it's about choosing death as a new life, a quiet one. He is so tired of the life he's living, but he knows death is the only scape, it's not about ending your life, but starting a new one.

Suicide | Reviewer: Johanna | 2/25/08

I personally think its about suicide..being sick and tired of daily life..breathing in CO like its a chore.
A lot of people argued that this lyric:

Such a pretty house
and such a pretty garden.

meant he suddenly became happy...i think thats a lie. I think its just another part of the mundane 'American dream' that he doesn't buy into. yeah, pretty houses and pretty gardens are supposed to be the epitome of success and happiness...but not for this dude. He just wants to be silent.

My interpretation | Reviewer: Etienne | 2/23/08

I haven't read all the interpretations here, but didn't read one that's similar to mine so I'll post it here.
It's about someone that realizes he has a crappy routine life and rejects how the government handles things. It's an existential and pessimist view of life as crap that has extended so much to the point that this person has "given up". That's why he prefers to just go on with that life, not protesting, not fighting for his rights, just a mediocre quiet life. He throws in the ironic sentence: "Such a pretty house and such a pretty garden." as in a stereotype of the perfect life but that's hollow inside. That's what he'll settle for instead of pursuing a change for the better because he's just tired of fighting and not seeing progress.

positive | Reviewer: pete | 2/11/08

i think that at the start, he wants to kill himself,
but during the instrumental part in the middle he notices the beautiful things in life and changes his mind and decides to live.

so i see this as a happy song


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 7/ 10