Reviews for No Surprises Lyrics

Performed by Radiohead

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 4/ 10
Add Your New Review About The Song

It changed my life | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/5/09

This song caused me to re-evaluate my life. I had been in a job for 13 years which I subsequently left and did my social work training. That was 5 years ago, now I work in a frontline social work team for children, I'm happy and fulfilled. Every day is full of surprises and I almost always go home feeling like I have made a positive difference.

I don't really listen to the song anymore, I doesn't have the same cache that it did, but I think that's a good thing.

Hii | Reviewer: Christina | 11/7/09

I agree with one of the posters. Interpretation is subjective and that it is up to the individual

I sort of agree with other posters, though. I find it ironic how the heart fills like a landfill, b/c when I think of a heart, I think of something that should be filled with spiritual things and not the material things that go into a landfill (i.e. filling the hole in your heart with material crap)

I somehow think of that pre-packaged case of school supplies that the school hands out. Those always annoyed me b/c they were crap quality, ugly, and average. I would have rather gone out and bought my own.
Love the song and that is the main point.

One of their best songs | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/4/09

One of my favorite songs. The lyrics on this site are wrong though, according to the jacket it is "I'll take the quiet life. a handshake some carbon monoxide". This makes more sense to me. I don't think this song is about suicide. It's about complacency and the way society has evolved. Their are some horrible reviews of this song by people that type as if they know everything. In reality they know very little about Radiohead.

The meaning of music perhaps? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/29/09

Ok. So im not massively into radiohead, but this song is my favourite of theirs. I dont know why, maybe that makes me ignorant. Whatever. I just dont understand why a song must be picked to peices like this. A song means different things to different people. All i know is that this song reminds me of a really good time in my life with a really good friend whom i will never forget. So, contrary to the rest of the world probably, everytime i hear it i smile. Which i suppose is the point of any music really.........

No Surprises | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/7/09

This song reminds me so much of Aldous Huxley's novel "Brave New World". In it, the people of the future stagnate in a world of deluded happiness; the negative aspects of the world, or thought to be negative, are systematically eliminated. And the people only think they are truly happy because they are almost always high on soma (a handshake of carbon monoxide) that slowly kills them. A world where there is truly no surprises.

Bubble | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/9/09

Its about, metaphorically,living in a bubble. "I'll take a quiet life,
a handshake of carbon monoxide" and also, taking a quiet life, not listening to the worries of the world so "no alarms and no surprises"

No Surprises | Reviewer: Calvin | 7/19/09

I think this song is about someone being tired of living the normal, boring life that everyone is supposed to live.
"Such a pretty house
and such a pretty garden."

That it's killing him inside, and so he kills himself.

I love radiohead | Reviewer: scott | 7/3/09

This is why i love radiohead!

Im a teenager, by normal standards i should like stuff like Ne-Yo and all them, but no. Radiohead is one of the few artists that actually make you really think about what you are listening to and that is why i love them, gives you the power to think for yourself for a change rather than get spoonfed.
No suprises is one of them songs that you listen to you and it just knocks you out into a state of tranquility and reflection and reflecting is always a good thing

Long Live Radiohead and to all folowers, well done, your awesome!

Its about suicide | Reviewer: nuckingfutter | 6/27/09

it is about suicide, he saying his heart is full, he has bruises theat wont heal and he has a job that is killing him so he will take a carbon monoxide handshake instead, you cant get more clear about suicide than that. knowing 3 people that have commited suicide and that was how they were feeling its pretty clear to me.

dont be a bitch | Reviewer: Sarah | 6/12/09

Everyone is entitled to thier own opinion here. Music is made to be enjoyed and interpreted however the listener feels they can relate to best. There is no wrong meaning to the song, even if it may not be how the writer felt when making it.

Nobody's opinion is "wrong" so dont put them down for voicing thier poin of view :)

I agree | Reviewer: Oli Outrageous | 5/31/09

I agree with Scott, the song is about how Radiohead believes that by settling down and following the system you are slowly killing yourself because by conforming with the norm, you are detroying your indivduality/soul.

a correction | Reviewer: Scott | 4/27/09

In response to one of the other posters, it's not about killing yourself OR settling down, because what Radiohead is trying to say is that settling for that mundane life IS killing yourself, slowly and surely. It's living life without any greater meaning.

hmm | Reviewer: lydia | 4/15/09

it's so obviously about suicide. all you people trying to make out its about living the 'perfect' life. it's got nothing to do with that. surely you're not so simple minded to not see that the song seems to be about suicide.
"This is my final fit,
my final bellyache."

after all their 'bruises that wont heal', their finishing everything. thats what i thought from the second i saw it.

Watch the making of the video | Reviewer: Lee | 4/2/09

I was watching a movie about the tour they did to support OK Computer. They had the making of the music video for 'No surprises'. Thom has to do about 15 takes for the video. The water filled up, but Thom didn't have enough air to hold for the entire song.

At one time, you see Thom start cursing as the water is flushed out of the tank. He was really frustrated by doing the video.

I can't imagine trying to hold your air that long.

It is a great song for sure. You have to really listen, is it killing yourself or surrendering to the world?

~L~

Me again... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/2/09

seems i was so upset about the people who bash Radiohead, i never even said what i think this song means, at least to me...
i believe its a peaceful acceptance of the notion and truth of the end of all things, and a quiet resignation of power over your life. in any interview that you can read about Thom Yorke and the rest of Radiohead, they always decline any reposibility and refuse any praise for the son, usually saying that they write themselves...
i think this song is more about the hope that when you die, and through your life, there's nothing that makes the world just drop out from under you, or any crazy amounts of anxiety... i don't know, i think its more of a life comment than a government comment


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 4/ 10