Reviews for Idioteque Lyrics

Performed by Radiohead

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 1/ 8
Add Your New Review About The Song

A Test? | Reviewer: Hunter E | 4/15/13

Perhaps Yorke just wanted to see what he could get away with, you know? Like how random the lyrics could be while at the same time people go crazy with interpretations.

Don't take that out of context by the way, it's a great song. It has a dark feel. But perhaps the purpose was to catch us red-handed in our "genius interpretations."

Reply to Zack | Reviewer: Harley | 1/10/13

The point of drawing vague lyrics from a hat wasn't just to save time. Like when painters simply fling paint at a canvas, the purpose is to create something on which people can apply their own ideas. Besides which, the creators intent doesn't dictate the meaning.

Isn't it obvious? | Reviewer: T.W. | 7/13/12

It's about america or some government. I'd be more likely to assume america because it's called idioteque. It talks about hearing both sides and scaremongering, and as we know america is the top in scaremongering...

take the money and run.

simples | Reviewer: pearcej86 | 4/8/12

its clearly about technology and progress possibly leading to over consumption and enviornmental and thus human disaster. the climate debate (let me hear both sides). greed & consumption without thought for consequence (take the money and run). the long term consequence (ice age and panic evacuation) and also the best lyric stating a love of life "Here Im allowed everything all of the time" but the potential consequences of such a privilege.

the lyrics out of a hat thing is either to stop people analysing or makes no difference because what you write reflect whats going on in your head so it will still have thought process but a randomly selected order

... | Reviewer: abc | 3/30/12

That's for "I will" :
"The main inspiration for the song seems to be an incident from the first Gulf War. On February 13, 1991 the US military bombed the Amiriyah bomb shelter, at the time a refuge for over 400 people, nearly all women and children. All of them were killed by two precisely directed bombs, resulting in horrific imprints on the walls. When Thom heard about it, the event deeply disturbed him."

But as you can see, idioteque is also based on that incident.
Nice try Zack.

"Idiotque" is about nothing | Reviewer: Zack | 2/7/12

You folks are way overthinking this song. Thom Yorke has said in numerous interviews that the song is composed of lyrics he randomly drew from a hat. He had people write down phrases and then cut and pasted them into a song. It's not about anything, though he's stated that "Kid A" the album is loosely and roughly about the Bosnian conflict and seeing disaster looming on the horizon, while "Amnesiac" is being in the middle of the disaster.

play on "idiolect"? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/4/12

Considering the variety and weight of opinions here, I'm inclined to think that this song is about someone planting red herrings to divert people with little else to do - ergo, little else to buy - giving them a desireable, albeit false, sense of empowerment. Maybe. Because you have to put a lot of time into investigating the facts, right? And then you feel knowledgable and important and you get laid more - for a good cause. Maybe. Nevermind, screw it.

my synopsis... | Reviewer: Jonathan James | 1/3/12

RADIOHEAD fans....what is this song about? Holocaust? Nuclear winter? global warming? It came out in 2000 so was it predicting a decade of terrorism, war, and natural disasters? 2012? Greed, Capitalism and human self destruction? probably all of the above... I think Thom is saying the world is full of "idioteques" ...a bunch of idiots turning a blind eye to whats happening dancing to discoteque like the people taking soma in Aldous Huxley's Brave New World or George Orwell's 1984....and that maybe we should all wake up and start being the change we want to see in the world....

What this song really means. | Reviewer: rotaryaddict | 12/28/11

This song is about scammers who made a lot of money in the late 1990's by making people believe the world will end in the year 2000(the year this album was released). It’s sung from the scammer's point of view. Get in the bunker! Women and children first! The world will end! (people start to believe him) he’s laughing till his head comes off because they’re actually believing his BS. He’s expecting to get rich and eat till he bursts.

I've seen too much I haven't seen enough, you haven't seen enough (he’s going to push his scam to the next level)
Here I'm allowed everything all of the time (he can get away with anything)
Now he’s saying that the ice age is coming. “Let me hear both sides” then, someone must have said that his story is BS so he says “throw HIM in the fire!! This is really happening!!!” then he takes their money and run.

Thom just fooled all of you

Oh common! | Reviewer: xsoraxrileyx | 11/28/11

Everyone is arguing over what this song means. I think it's pretty hilarious that that is what you all spend your life worrying about. To be quite frank, I believe that Radiohead is its own genre... heh... But whatever.
When I first heard this song. For some reason I thought of the Titanic. I don't exactly know why that is, however... never mind... In any case, the reason I was ever introduced to Radiohead was when I heard of this song. Bleach. It's Uryu Ishida's theme song. Or so Tite Kubo says. I just wanted to throw that out there, since nobody else would... or perhaps I'm that one nerd who's into Anime and Manga...

Aries 64855555555 | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/8/11

A: SHUT UP. This is simply the cycle of life. Create your own lyrics ya hoser! You be like them. Not buttered toast. Croissantes!!!! They can can and you won't gogo. NOOOOOOOOO, stop ye all from being funny farms NOW!!!!! Damn Lexicons Ultra...Hashtag.....@#$%^^%......"Do what you want why do I care" I'm tiRED! Ya'll take a nap and eat well and save and learn from your mistakes......YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE YOU CRACK HOEHOOKER BOTS!!!! SHRAIGHT TOO DA MOO MOOLANDZ!!!!!! timed cubed times yur ma. #Fuck you gnaterdtard!!! You an eidioth hater! PUT DOWN THE HATER AID AND PICK UP yoyo and pkay. KissAzz Foos ULTA VILOT AZZIZA JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM!!!!!!!! copy writed Brought to you by Poision. Fear The Red Headed Crackin!!!! COW A WHA? SMOOOOOOTH......RED HOUR PRAYING MANTIS no comments now -_- i rest myself and my future preditions. LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 6284 Astrodanamus.

desensitization | Reviewer: chac | 8/19/11

this isn't about global warming. it's about life in general. i've seen too much i haven't seen enought? i'll laugh until my head comes off? i think it's about what the fuck is going on, people are killed everyday and we've grown conditioned to it. we're desensitized to the point where we are on the borderline of enjoying watching other people's pain. ya there is supposed to be duality in people, but fuck we've gone the wrong way

this song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/5/11

talks about the holocaust yes but what it's about is the media. It's about how people don't take it seriously enough because it lies so much so we miss the really big problems until it's too late like, like the holocaust and global warming.

obie | Reviewer: Omar | 2/14/11

i think its about how it doesn't really matter what we think we are saving its all screwed when it says I've seen too much and they still haven't seen so let them in the bunker he doesn't care about what will happen because he thinks that life is worse than dying. and thats why he's laughing till he's head comes off how they are struggling to live

A different perspective than that on the first page | Reviewer: Corinthia | 2/11/11

When I first read these lyrics, parts of it immediately reminded of the Holocaust and all that.

First they would separate the women and children from the men. Then they would burn them in the gas chambers (Throw them in the fire).

That's about it for my musings..


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 1/ 8