Are you serious? | Reviewer: Vincent Vega | 12/3/08

This song is obviously about the insolvency of the plastic industry due in large part to the hippies that listen to this music and recycle everything. If you people would only stop recycling plastic, you might damage the environment, but just think of all the jobs that could be created by a need for new plastics to be molded. Also, the term "fake plastic" is somewhat of an oxy moron: fake things are made of plastic, but the plastic is real.
Just kidding. . great song.

Pretend | Reviewer: sam | 11/19/08

This song captivates a place that we all reside within, a somewhat parallel universe of the bitter, true reality of what's underneath the surface of our very existance..."She looks like the real thing, She tastes like the real thing...My fake plastic Love" And sometimes it's easier to pretend.

Fake | Reviewer: Blackmamba8888@yahoo.com | 11/16/08

I believe this song to be about relationships which just are not really ment to be. The whole last verse coveys a emptiness in a seemingly good relationship.
Trees being the source of life, all over happiness.
It just goes to show us no matter how hard you try, or try to fake something that somethings are just not ment to be.

Beautiful song | Reviewer: Alex | 11/3/08

This song strikes such strong emotion. We live in such a jaded society where the superficial almost always seems to override the true inner beauty of people. I believe this song makes us all look in the mirror to realize the true beauty amongst us all in held within. We can all be victims of vanity. Whichever side it may be.

tenderness | Reviewer: Just Me | 10/29/08

This is one of those songs for our generation that best expresses the longing you feel in a relationship that you realise is failing or failed. I think it's the tenderness and longing that Thom York expresses in the line "if I could be who you wanted" repeted several times at the end of the song that sends the mesage home for me. It's like the fault lies in your own inability to be good enough for the other person, wich is often felt, but rarely the case. It's a strong powerful song, good and beautiful, on a strong, powerful album that ranks up there on musical Olympus.

what this song is about | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/24/08

i believe this song is about time in a relationship. a plastic surgeon "fixed" his wife to keep her the way he wants but she always gets old ("garvity always wins") and it wears him out. for similar reasons the passage of time makes her anxious and ultimately weary of existence.

and the last few lines sum it up...

heard on entourage tonight | Reviewer: chris | 10/23/08

i heard part of this song on entourage tonight in the closing credits and it just caught my attention right away. i had to go and find it on the internet and when i did and listened to it.. over and over again.... i realized why because it reminds me of her like someone else said... and shes with him, despite her contacting me after several months of not talking and telling me she misses me and wishes we could be back.. shes still with him and has just disappeared yet again... that is a great.. great.. great review. and the closing lines of this song blow me away..

fake fake | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/24/08

everyone pretends life is great, but inside, it is not. we make for it by having a nice stuff, good job, and beautiful people around us. but in the end, those are all there to make up for things not there. And that can get tiring.... very tiring.

Those moments where its not is when we are completely giving toward others. that is where life works, when your not in your head, but for others.

fake plastic trees | Reviewer: n|nace|m | 10/3/08

the words to this song captures what i want to say, how he feels..
He told me recently that everyting feels fake. he loves me but he can't help the feeling.
"fake plastic love" this song conveys an emotion where your world feels plastic and fake, and it's exhausting to live your life everyday with the same feeling of being unreal.



This is my 2 cents | Reviewer: He'll know. | 9/25/08

I'm not going to try and convince anyone reading this that I know what this song is about. I feel that would be extremely hypocritical. What I'd like to say is that this so invokes such an intense emotion whenever I hear it. I'm glad to hear that I am not alone in this opinion.
And I'd also like to point out the absolute best review of this song on this page:
"this song reminds me of her, because she said to me that it reminds her of me. that is what this song means to me, especially because now she is with him, and this is what i have of her....memories."
I feel this best captured the meaning of this song.
Fake Plastic Trees remind me of him now. In only the best way possible though.


Very Buddhist | Reviewer: Edwin Dominguez | 9/18/08

In Buddhism an attachment to anything material or emotional is the cause to our suffering. Therefore, when the song mentions plastic you can realize how great the buddha was to understand the mind 2500 years ago. I'm sure many of you can find different subjective meanings. Songs like this one opens our mind to reality, unfortunately, as the song says at the end, that he was also in a plastic relationship and "It Wears me out". How can you avoid been Worn Out? Meditation is the way to find understanding and Wisdom so that you don't Wear Out.

semantic connotative lines... | Reviewer: Jehuty | 9/12/08

for everyone who did a review about this song, I can say that in every form of art the artist sends a message, and we, the spectators recieve a version of our own because we try to make that piece of art a part of our own... and that's how everyone is right and wrong at the same time. The song what really tells is about how fake can something be specially love since it is such an industry element and how we can pretend to be one thing when we are something else.

What a song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/10/08

I think the fact that people are still writing reviews about a song that was written more than ten years ago speaks (or shouts) volumes of the effect that Radiohead has had on both the theatre and substance of music. Anyone who has seen a Radiohead concert cannot say that they were not moved by it, just as anyone who has ever loved someone but not had the feelings returned must say that they got it right when they wrote this song.

the highest form of music :) | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/3/08

I never realised how good Radiohead are. I usually take a few listens before i can appreciate a song, and I found Fake Plastic Trees on an old mixed cd i hadnt listen to in ages. The profound meaning of this song makes it stand out so much from the repetive commercial garbage that tend to dominate the music industry. Reading all the reviews just on this site is testament to how amazing this song is. The fact that one song can evoke such a wide range of emotions from ordinary people, the way it can cause them to really reflect on how true or fake their relationships are, the way it can help people make meaning of their lives. Its the highest form of music, the ultimate goal of the songwriter. Consider me a newly devout Radiohead fan. Thanks to everyone who posted reviews and helped me appreciate this song!

Highest form of music | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/3/08

I never realised how good Radiohead are. I usually take a few listens before i can appreciate a song, and I found Fake Plastic Trees on an old mixed cd i hadnt listen to in ages. The profound meaning of this song makes it stand out so much from the repetive commercial garbage that tend to dominate the music industry. Reading all the reviews just on this site is testament to how amazing this song is. The fact that one song can evoke such a wide range of emotions from ordinary people, the way it can cause them to really reflect on how true or fake their relationships are, the way it can help people make meaning of their lives. Its the highest form of music, the ultimate goal of the songwriter. Consider me a newly devout Radiohead fan. Thanks to everyone who posted reviews and helped me appreciate this song!