Reviews for Exit Music (For A Film) Lyrics

Performed by Radiohead

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

It can mean anything | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/19/09

I think even though the song relates to the movie almost perfectly, Thom Yorke has written to fit a lot of different situations as well. The reason why it is such a beautiful and haunting song its generic in its meaning yet still so personal.

This is a song of revenge, anger and frustration. | Reviewer: Matix | 2/23/09

This is a hymn to unhappiness. It can be interpretted in any way you want as long as you are feeling miserable. Unhappiness is part of life this is a melodic and harmonic testimony of its existance.

One of my two favorite songs...

In my opinion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/31/08

I was listening to this song & I just came out of a relationship with a worst breakup anyone could imagine.. I'm feelin down & angry.. this song really spoke to me . the part where it says "Breathe... keep breathing
Don't lose.. your nerve.
Breathe... keep breathing
I can't do this.. alone."
anyone can relate this to their own problem but at the end where he sings " that you choke".. thats exactly how I want my ex to feel.
Thom Yorke is a genius ..

Why are people confused about what this song is about?? | Reviewer: Amanda | 12/8/08

V1
(He is singing to a girl about getting out of a situation)
V2
(Obvious disapproval from the parentals)
V3
(He is telling her to stay strong, and what every they are doing to get out of the situation they are doing it together)
v4
("such a chill" going cold, dying)
V5
He sings to another party, could be parents, could be society, either way a party that he thinks is fake and has power
"Now we are one
In everlasting peace"...shows that the other party didn't want them together, but now they are one in death.
V5
they hope they "choke" on their own rules and wisdom. In other words realize they were wrong...foot in mouth type thing...

Obvious it's about Romeo and Juliet and Thom is singing from Romeo's perspective...

or that's my opinion...and it's called Exit music for a film and it was the exit music for the film R&J..sooo....yeh..it's not rocket science...they wrote this about the movie for the movie..

ditto | Reviewer: malia | 11/16/08

Andrew's right -- this was comissioned for Baz Luhrmann's 'Romeo + Juliet', the second film in his Red Curtain Trilogy, starring Claire Danes and Leonardo DiCaprio.

My interpretation of the lyrics is that this is what would have happened if the scheme at the end of the plot (wherein Romeo knows that Juliet is not actually dead and goes to rescue her from the tomb) had played out like it was supposed to.

To the oblivious tard below me | Reviewer: Andrew | 6/13/08

This song is played during the end credits to the Baz Luhrmann film in '96 (Yes, the one with DiCaprio). Radiohead was commissioned by Luhrmann to write a song for the end of the movie, and this was what they came up with. It then appeared on the 1997 album, OK Computer (They're best album in my humble opinion). "Talk Show Host" by Radiohead is also featured in the beginning of the film. It's an excellent movie. Watch it sometime. Then go play "In Rainbows" because it's fraking amazing.

What This Is Really About | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/27/08

Radiohead wrote this song for one of the more recent film remakes of "Romeo and Juliet." I don't know the exact title of the film, but it's not the one with Leonardo DiCaprio. Keeping that in mind, the song is written from Romeo's perspective. The fifth and sixth stanzas are supposed to be directed towards Juliet's father.

My opinion | Reviewer: Lily | 4/14/08

In my opinion, this is one of Radiohead's best songs, although they're all brilliant.
When I heard this song, I thought of someone sitting next to their lover, who is in a coma, at a hospital, because of the line "Wake... from your sleep."
Either way, this song is wonderful and hauntingly beautiful.

Maybe its hooters? | Reviewer: Sean | 3/14/08

am not sure, but if you look deep within the lyrics and melody of this song, you will find a striking resemblance to Hooters, a fine dining establishment.
Its possible - Chicken wings can make you choke. The alternating low and high notes almost describe in photographic detail the movement of her breasts, perhaps the swish of her but In fact, I can imagine some nut case inventing an imaginary relationship with one of these voluptuous servers, taking her hostage within her own restaurant, forcing the SWAT team to enter the building, eventually killing both of our "lovers." Or at least wounding her - maybe she's OK ... I don't know - it's too hard to say right now, with all of the broken glass, the smoke of the detonated explosive devices, and the shuffling of boots into the room.
But I guess I can see the "Romeo and Juliet" thing too. Maybe I don't take the song as serious as everyone else here. Either way, interesting comments.

Maybe its about Hooters? | Reviewer: Eric | 3/14/08

I am not sure, but if you look deep within the lyrics and melody of this song, you will find a striking resemblance to Hooters, a fine dining establishment.
Its possible - Chicken wings can make you choke. In fact, I can imagine some nut case inventing an imaginary relationship with one of the servers, taking her hostage within her own restaurant, forcing the SWAT team to enter the building, eventually killing both of our "lovers." Or at least wounding her - maybe she's OK ... I don't know
But I guess I can see the "Romeo and Juliet" thing too. Maybe I don't take the song as serious as everyone else here. Either way, interesting comments.

What i take from this... | Reviewer: Candi | 2/22/08

Only my opinion of course! But I can see an abused mother and child escaping from a horrible father. This song really speaks to me...I'm just glad my mother never listened to this or we might not be here today! Great song...

This song reminds me of suicide | Reviewer: Gregory Marshall | 12/30/07

I must admit that I am a pretty rabid Radiohead fan...and have listened to this song while experiencing different ups and downs everyone has in life. Tonight, this song queued up while running the Folding Home feature on my Playstation and it invoked an incredible sadness that made me break down and cry. My partner has been battling drug addiction for the past 6 months...and after being together for 17 years, I feel completely duped.....angry, sad and hopeless...some of which this song makes me think about. While sad, life isn't entirely a downer...and luckily...Exit Music reminds me that at some point..being self actualization or death, sadness ends.

Well... | Reviewer: Shannon | 11/17/07

I'm currently blitzing my way through National Novel Writing Month this year, and I'm writing a collection of short stories about a sort of police force made up of wholly unimaginative people who guard others dreams from the practicularly nasty nightmares. I heard this song while writing that, and instantly it was about one younger officer who fell in love with a nightmare and is going to force herself into a coma so she can be with him forever. Totally not what it's about at all, but that's how I'll always think of it.

Art is always open to interpretation | Reviewer: Sidney | 11/12/07

Art, and especially Music is open to the interpretation of the viewer/listnener. It's one of the key elements behind why some people stalk and sometimes kill their favorite artists. They think the song is speaking directly to them, because they can relate to the lyrics and the music is an emotional catalyst that drives it home if done right. With that said this song brings me to tears thinking of my divorce and losing custody of my daughter. But I'm prett sure Thom Yorke didn't write it for me. LOL One of the most artistic uses I've seen of this song was in an episode of the HBO show "Six Feet Under" where they played it over the closing credits faded out from the family burning their unwanted possessions in a front yard bonfire.

runaway | Reviewer: tchaka | 10/23/07

Thom: "The song is written for two people who should run away before all the bad stuff starts."


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4