If you like this band, try Skunk Anansee | Reviewer: Dr Frank.N. Furter | 6/10/13

Listen, as I preach the truth, mindless children of the void.
I'm not going to pick apart this song, as anything this hauntingly beautiful probably has a million meaings, affects, and connotations,
But what I will say is this,
A. I quite like the Hannibal Lector analoogy, well done Anon 1,
B. Hazmat, don't be a "song Nazi",
C. retarded is a indecent terminology, so... Humanitarian slap.
D. Hazmat, sorry to say it, but I'd really hate to be a thorn in your side, as your thighs are probably atrocius, cool username though, kudos,
E. Gambit, no neeb to respond to douchebag-ery with further douchebag-ery

And remember kiddies, the internet is for lovin', not for hatin'!

Learn to fucking read, dipshit | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/19/12

To the self-righteous dumbass who posted a "review" solely to tell me off, but didn't actually pay attention to anything I wrote, and took the gist of what he thought I wrote before his ADHD set in to come up with retarded labels for me:

LEARN TO FUCKING READ, STUPID SHIT.

Music is different to everyone | Reviewer: Gambit | 6/26/12

To the asshole that gave a sermon about what this song meant and how you should interpret it (criticizing that guy about the silence of the lamb);

Music and its interpretation is personal, different, infinite and valid for everyone, so if I like to cling strictly to the melody or the lyrics, or the overall feeling of the song, is my choice.

Sh#t, I hate music Nazi's and intellectual hipsters who tell others how to perceive or interpret a song, specially one as great as this.


Correct, Spleen | Reviewer: Hazmat | 4/2/12

That is likely as close as a explanation as you will get, or should get. I've been listening to this over and over today after it got going through my head after the first couple of times I heard it while listening to the whole album, and this song struck me as particularly memorable. Besides what it seemed to mean to me, this is the conclusion I have finally just reached. Considering what Homme has said about the making of the album, and the genre of the music itself ("Stoner rock" or "Desert rock"), I think its artistic strength comes from the EFFECT the song has while listening to it, rather than the actual meaning. That is usually the way psychedelic rock works in their abstract and surreal lyrical qualities, and Stoner metal has that same attribute as psychedelic rock. Some songs are meant to be appreciated for their imaginative, nonsensical, or surreal wording; and that is to me the official explanation of this song.

When the song was playing, it caught my attention, and as I listened, I began to feel very unsettled by the lyrics, and especially that haunting instrumental section in the middle. But it was not just the lyrics, but the way the song was sung. Besides the lyrics being potent, there was such a powerful quality to the sung being sung so low-key, and apathetically. When I put the lyrics and the music together, I felt like I was in on the dreaded secret. I knew what they were really singing about, and what I felt to be true, it is for me. I like your take, Spleen. It is quite similar to mine, but except that song is not just singing about an abstract concept like life. It is referring to beings. "They." "Mosquitoes." There is a personage and perpetrator affixed to the torment. 'They' "Swallow and chew." "Eat you alive." Everything left in you that is still alive, they suck it out. It's easy for me to tell what this is about.

It's up to the listener to determine what it means, but seriously - some people are aggravatingly unimaginative and stupid as hell, like the moron before you who took the lyrics literally, and says they thought about "Silence of the Lambs." That is just an unforgivably retarded thing to say.

People are such frustrating little thorns in my side. Chipping me away with their small-mindedness. Just like mosquitoes.

Spleen | Reviewer: The Boogueyman | 2/20/12

I'm shure there is as many meaning as there is people to listen to this song, but personnally, I think we dont have to go that far to understand the song.
Because i think the lyrics have mostly an "abstract" meaning. The song brings more an atmosphere of fear and a metaphorical meaning of the cruelty of life itself wich, represented by those mosquitoes, "eating you alive" and "leave you here all alone". I think the song was designed to put a feeling of anxiety and fear deep in your brain, and then makes you think about the absurdity of life, and the sometimes unfair ways of death itself.
But I admit it did make me though of "Silence of the Lambs" too!

Creepy | Reviewer: Anon | 8/17/10

I went hiking this weekend and got bit by a few mosquitoes, and since then had been thinking of this song. After listening to the lyrics, though, it kind of sounds Hannibal Lecter to me--especially the part about cutting boards, hanging hooks, bloody knives, and cooking books. I'm sure it's somehow supposed to be a metaphor for how brutal societies can sometimes behave, but it sounds right out of Silence of the Lamb to me.

Good band, good song | Reviewer: Safford | 7/14/10

This is from the best QOTSA album--- you fans out there all know in your own heart of hearts that Songs for the Deaf was not only their best album, but it was the one that made them stars! It put them on the top 100 charts, and for good reason.

Josh Homme is a solid songwriter and he threw together enough nihilistic poetry together to make a cool song about the mortality of all men, great and small. I personally feel that this song is about social parasites, or people who take advantage of others through non-violent means (coercion, social pressure, etc. )

The line "you won't feel a thing" seems to allude to this, but heck what do I know!?

Hail josh Home

Another show of brilliance | Reviewer: Wubsy195 | 7/1/10

god i love these guys. I have been listening to them for years, and i haven't yet heard a thing that paralells with greatness of every single QOTSA song. I dont think they've ever realeased a bad album, and mosquito song is just one example of how epic and mysterious they can be

My name Is Not Paul, Nor Is It Stephen | Reviewer: Spm | 4/9/10

I entirely disagree with those who says this song is about life. I don't think it had a deep meaning, that isn't like Queens of the Stoneage.
To me it's just a simple tribute to mosquito's and those small things that no-one pays attention to.

To Doug: (wondering)
Inspiration: DRUGS.
Drugs, drugs and more wonderful drugs, yes, QOTSA are the junkies of the modern music scene and definitely one of the most epic.
Most of their songs are about drugs, and are all inspired by drugs.
For example, Marijuana works by accessing the pictures from your brain and making them all fuzzy. If you close your eyes and think of something, you can see the object. Marijuana fuzzes up these mental pictures, thereby meaing your brain functions in a way that it normally NEVER would, and therefore, you have to dig below the surface of your usual thoughts. It is not uncommon to realise simple things such as that mosquitos and other bugs are an important part of the eco system and yet we see them as pests.

All of us food...... | Reviewer: Pura Vida | 10/21/09

This is just a really good example of how really good music is composed,also inspires so many feelings at the same time;explains that it doesn´t matter what you are or who you are, at the end we´re all gonna be dust, so don´t be conceited about it.
¨ Fat and soft, pink and weak
Foot and thigh, tongue and cheek
You know I'm told to swallow you whole¨
Just an amazing song and totally QOTSA

It´s about life | Reviewer: Robert | 6/1/09

Mosquito Song is one of the few songs that means much to me. I think if my life would be a story it should be called "The mosquito song", i connect so strong to the lyrics and especially the melodies.
For me it is about how small we really are. Its ironic, bitter, and yet beautiful.
"Bloody knives, cooking books
Promising you won't feel a thing"
Means to me how much we lie to ourselves: We see that it is going to hurt, hurt a lot. But we still believe the promise that its all fine.

I think the "eaten alive"-theme is very QOTSA like, just look at the Sick Sick Sick video.

Great song! | Reviewer: Suv | 3/6/09

This is a quality track from QOTSA and in my opinion its one of those tracks of their's that's slightly off the beaten path of what they generally do but is totally QOTSA at the same time. I always think it fits better into the 'Lullabies To Paralyze' album tbh. Anyway, i love it and enjoy playing and singing it when i have a jam on my guitar...in fact im thinkin i might even play it as a solo encore track at my bands gig tomorrow night.
Inspiration wise, musically parts of it reminds me of music from old westerns but thats just my opinion...lyrically it could just be inspired by being high when they wrote it lol...i really dont know lol.
Btw i have the proper tab book for 'Songs For The Deaf' and there's a few mistakes in these lyrics so i'll submit the changes when i get a chance ok. As an example it actually starts with...'I know, I know' instead of 'Hello, Hello' but there's a chance that Josh changes bits when its played live tbh.

Wondering... | Reviewer: Doug | 2/25/09

I agree whole-heartedly with the other posts. QOTSA is one of the best bands out there today, and they have roots. I have always wondered what the inspiration was for this song. Anybody know or have a guess?

Sheer beauty at it's best. | Reviewer: Jessica | 9/19/08

This is one song [along with other QOTSA songs] that I can never get enough of. I can't even begin to explain how beautiful this song is, yet so creepy as others have stated. It's really just a masterpiece and while I love QOTSA wholeheartledly and all of their albums, I'd have to say Songs For the Deaf & their self-titled are my favorites. Now, if only they'd come to concert around my area... hehe.
:)

Well... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/16/07

this is such a creapy song. its probly like the coolest thing i have heard since mexican seafood by nirvana. i love these guys.