Reviews for Under Pressure Lyrics

Performed by Queen

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 11
Add Your New Review About The Song

!!! | Reviewer: Sonya | 11/9/07

I just can't believe, the lyrics above. There are so many homophobic people filled with hatred. Although Freddy was gay he was one of a kind. And no matter if the song was for the qay population or not, this song should teach us all,about love and RESPECT towards all the people.

Anal Pressure | Reviewer: Anal Preasure | 11/3/07

Anal preasure pushing down on me pressing down from you my ass is a whore. Anal preasure your cock burns on the way down. splits my ass in two with no knee pads for the street. I'm so gay, I'm so gay, so gay, so gay. that's OK. It's the terroe of knowing that your cock swings about. Watching other guys say pull it out.

it's not all about pressure | Reviewer: HEdgehog | 10/31/07

Well, i've seen everyone around is focusing on that little word "pressure" that is indeed the one mostly repeated. But haven't you seen that other word "love" I think the song's more about love than it is to pressure, and about some hope feeling as well, hehe, I know this sounds old fashioned just as the song says but it's the part of the song i consider the most important one.

Not Freddie's lyrics ! | Reviewer: Tom Tlist | 10/9/07

I have read a few interesting reviews for this song but i feel that a few are a wee bit wide of the mark. I dont think this song relates to Freddie's struggle with AIDS and is him coming out - when this song was written (1980/81) Freddie would not have been aware that he was ill - this didnt come until at least 4 years later. I also dont think this is nessecarily about Freddie dealing with being gay. The songwriting is credited as Queen and David Bowie but Roger Taylor (Queen's drummer) has said in interviews since that the song was mostly his creation and the bulk of the music was jammed out in the studio with Deacon providing the memorable bassline and May and Mercury adding more musical ideas as it developed into a song. By the time David Bowie dropped by (unplanned) and recorded his vocals, the bulk of the lyrics were already penned by Taylor.

A great song and like most Queen songs, it is sheer imagination - it allows the listener to be taken to another place and the song can mean whatever they want it to mean. Quite simply it is one of the best singles of all time !!!!

Freddie's Tough Love | Reviewer: Rhy | 10/5/07

I've been looking at this song for a while. But I always find the same conclusion. Freddie as we all know was gay. And I have no problem with that. This song expresses the struggles of the gay community. It's really as simple as that.

Pressure pushing down on me
Pressing down on you no man ask for
Under pressure
That burns a building down
Splits a family in two
Puts people on streets

This stanza is showing the effects of being a gay man. The fact is that, unfortunately, families do get torn apart and people lose their jobs because of this.

It's the terror of knowing
What this world is about
Watching some good friends
Screaming let me out!
Pray tomorrow takes me higher
Pressure on people
People on streets

Again this is looking at how the world treats them and how some of these people want so badly to not be gay. But that isn't possible so they pray that tomorrow they will be accepted for who they are.

Turned away from it all
Like a blind man
Sat on a fence but it don't work
Keep coming up with love
But it's so slashed and torn
Why why why?

This stanza explains how he tried to just turn away from his problems but it didn't work. And once he finds love with another its tainted by society.

Cause love's such an old fashioned word
And love dares you to care
For the people on the edge of the night
And love dares you to change our way
Of caring about ourselves
This is our last dance

This is possibly the strongest stanza. Saying that the word 'love' is 'old-fasioned' or that it does not include gay relationships. Its also saying that being gay opens your mind and heart to be a more caring person. A perfect way to end a perfect song.

"what this world is about" | Reviewer: TIBS | 10/3/07

That would be the 'meaning' of the song if I were to analyze it, I suppose - people 'coping', other people and yourself.. "life's a struggle" - whoever said that pretty much defines it. Going deeper I think it may well be about judging others - it could just as easily be yourself in their situation (i.e. "on the streets"). Love the song though even if I had no idea what it was about the first time I heard it as a nipper cos the song itself is sheer class with or without its meanings =)

Song | Reviewer: Notimportant | 9/15/07

You know, it comes down to one thing. It means alot to everyone. It means either the struggle of living daily lives, or it means people who survive things that they should've not, or it simplely means things you do from your day to day life. Basicly, what it comes down to is the fact it means ' under pressure ' . People live daily and are under pressure more then anyone is willing to admit or more then you even think you know. You see celeberties out there, they are under pressure even though you may not think so. Fame is a pressure, it means living up to what people expect you to do. Its a great song and everytime I hear it I think of people who are under pressure every day to do something they either shouldn't be doing , or should be doing.

HMM | Reviewer: lucy (19) | 9/14/07

i think its so cool that so many people interpret this song in different ways, i always assumed it was about live 8 and the planet but, the AIDS theory is a good one, lots of relevance. i think its great that so many people have been affected in different ways by such a beautiful and poignant song

Blasphemy | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/13/07

The fact that Vinnila Ice sampled this beat makes me sick. This song means so much to so many people. Personally this song has made me cry, and there are not alot of songs that can do that. I know what it is like to be under pressure. I went through cancer treatment at the ripe age of 18. I am now 30 and cancer-free. My father's wife is now dying of three forms of cancer. He is almost 70, and is working the same amount of hours. My younger brother is dying of Hepititus C, and my mother is 65% disabled from a back injury. I can barely pay my rent, and I work myself to the bone. Also, my girlfriend of 2 years was murdered. I can understand what pressure is. So to me this is one of the greatest rock and roll songs of all time.

aah this song (and it's reviews!!)are so inspirational ^_^ | Reviewer: Bunny | 9/12/07

i really like what a reviewer named felicia said..
"UNDER PRESSURE!! da da bup bup bup :) BRING IT ON!!!!!! Thats what this song says to me GOT TO SURVIVE! Got to help others after I get my degree. This shit it serious out here ! WELCOME TO THE SHOW. Sink or swim. 'THIS is our last dance, this is oueselves.... Under Pressure."

i'm going through a LOT right now...the guy i'm in love with is too old for me, lives far away, and all of my friends think he's a big ol pervy ho for being with me. but i know he's not. i have faith in him, and i have faith in myself that i'll get us through whatever we're gonna go through. i'd risk everything for him, and you know what? it's coming up, so bring it onnnnn biiiaaaaacccchhh!!

What it is to be human. | Reviewer: Michael | 9/8/07

My personal belief is that this song goes along with caring for other people. That's it. Our world is so fast and screwy that we never help anyone, and are out for ourselves. This begs for us to change our ways.
"Cause love's such an old fashioned word
And love dares you to care
For the people on the edge of the night
And love dares you to change our way
Of caring about ourselves
This is our last dance
this is ourselves
under pressure"

The most beautiful part of the song, in my opinion. Wraps up everything. Love is under-rated these days, and people don't understand love as a human concept, only as a romantic one. We should all love each other.

Bringing things to better perspective | Reviewer: Lauren | 8/22/07

I recently only became familiar with this song during the Princess Diana Concert when Joss Stone sang it. The pressure that has surrounded me for the last couple of weeks has been so great that the lyrics fit myself so well. I am going to be celebrating my 16th birthday in about four days without my father because he died six years ago, and everything just seems so hard at the moment. This song really means to me that I need to keep trecking through everything and that there is light at the end of the tunnel.
"Pressing down on you no man ask for"
This line to me means that no one asks for the things that happen in life, they just turn out that way and we need to try to make the best of them even if they do not seem fair. I personally think that I need to try to make the best of things and count my blessings, such as having a nice house to live in and food on my table. There are worse things that could happen to me; others around the world have it so much worse than I do and I think that what Queen is trying to say is that we need to not take advantage of what we have and begin to think of others who have less.

Got me through | Reviewer: so | 8/20/07

To me, Under Pressure will always be my anthem about HIV/AIDS. I think it was recorded in 1982 and if you think back to that time, many people (mostly gay men) were being diagnosed with the virus and there were not really any medications to combat it, People died quickly and had to work through that their life was ending very quickly. I worked at an AIDS service organization during the late 80's early 90's so for me, this song really got me through and reminded me of what was important. To me, even though I think Bowie wrote the actual lyrics, this is Freddie Mercury's swan song. It is his coming out and letting people know that he is dying of AIDS. It is , to me, a commentary on the times.

" Pressure, pushing down on me,.... no man ask for." Gay Men just wanted to love and be loved. They didn't ask for this virus. Literally at that time people would get diagnosed and be dead six months later. At the time gay men and hemophiliacs were the only ones presenting with the symptoms of AIDS and I remember in Forida, this poor family with 3 hemophiliac sons ( all children) contracted the virus through transfusions. People burned their house down, because they didn't want them nearby. People didn't know how you got it and were scared and ignorant " Under pressure. Burns a building down, splits families in 2..." For me the meaning of the lyrics overlap " splits families in 2" reminds me of how many gay men told me when they first came out to their parents during the 70's that they were literally thrown out of the house as young men. People often had to hide who they were and tried to act straight, etc" Screaming let me out." Coming out of the closet. " Chipping around with my brains on the floor" is to me a drug reference. Chipping was slang for occassional heroin use and I just envision the club scene with young gay men coming to terms with who they are and escaping through drug use. The last half of the song reminds me of telling gay men to love yourself, be proud of who you love and how you love. The AIDS virus was decemating the gay community and we really didn't know how it was going to end or why it was spreading or how it was spreading through that community "Love dares you to change the way of caring about ourselves, this is our last dance this is our last chance, this is ourselves under pressure."The song also implored straight people not to turn their backs or hate a community that was literally dying out. That love between a man and a woman is not the only legitimate love . " Love's such an old fashioned word and love dares you to care for the people at the edge of the night." The government at that time did nothing to intervene, to provide tax dollars to try to study this illness to try to find a cure.... To me the last part of the song is telling gays and straights alike that history will look back on this time and it will ask how did each of us respond. Was it compassion, fear, hatred, love, tolerance? So for everybody " This is our last chance...." to get it right.

Now Freddie Mercury could come to me in a dream tonight, or David Bowie could go on tv and say" This song had nothing to do with AIDS at all" I will say: " Yes it did... to me. and it reminded me that when the holocaust of my generation came, I did not look the other way, I did what I could to help. And humming this song got me through many painful, sad days, and helped me celebrate the joyful ones" So while I do not work in the AIDS field any longer. This song is such an important part of my life. I am grateful it was recorded.

I feel identified with this song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/19/07

My problem is sentimental. I have a friend, she is the best friend that someone can ever imagine. She is so full of joy, full of life, she is sweeter than candy, and more colorfull than a rainbow. She means my life to me. I can't live without her! I'm sure I fell in in love with this friend but my love is not corresponded and it is tearing me apart. This song reminds me of her a lot, a admire her and care for her so much. I fill like I have this giant on top of me putting so many pressure to my heart. This pressure is love, I can't hold this love no more I need to give all this love to her cause she is everything I've dream of. The song talks abour about givin ourselves one chance, it talks about giving love one more chance. Lorena, I'm asking you for one chance.. just one chance to guide you to the stars, one chance to demonstrate you mean the sun and moon to me. I need your light! I need you on every day and on every night. I feel underpresure, I can't breath. The song says "this is aour last dance", I will make this dance the dance of your life. I will make this dance last forever. The song says "What this world is about Watching some good friends
Screaming let me out!" I feel my love inside y heart is screaming out your name. He is screaming Lorena please let me out!!!
I will make you happy, I'll live just to make you happy. The song ends like this "Cause love's such an old fashioned word And love dares you to care For the people on the edge of the night
And love dares you to change our way Of caring about ourselves This is our last dance This is our last chance this is ourselves".

So, think about it :)

Pressure | Reviewer: Michael O'Donnell | 8/16/07

We allow our ignorance to prevail upon us
and make us think we can survive alone,
alone in patches, alone in groups,
alone in races, even alone in genders.
Maya Angelou

I never want to compromise with suffering. I always want to realize there is not enough material in the universe to fashion a cocoon thick enough to shut out the pain of others. When we try to do this we only make it thicker and thicker, denser and denser, taking us deeper and deeper into the illusion of isolation that carries that terrible, mind shattering pressure.
We cannot survive alone. But put enough pressure on an atom and it splits, releasing an incredible amount of energy. Put enough pressure on a lump of coal, and you get a diamond. Pressure is our ally, showing us our isolation and, thereby, the way out, the way home. Once we realize love and sharing and caring is the greatest of riches, once we realize that to be alive is to feel, and to feel is to love, it will all turn around.
I love this song. It talks about isolation but has the energy of the release that comes from breaking out of that isolation. There's nothing like Queen.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 11