Reviews for Learning to fly Lyrics

Performed by Pink Floyd

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5
Add Your New Review About The Song

Learning to Fly....Without A Pilot | Reviewer: Richard | 12/7/09

I forget who it was in the group, but they were quoted as saying that the song is about them going forward without Roger Waters being in the group.

And in response to "Who is Nick Mason?" If a Pink Floyd fan asks that question, then they are not a fan.



No offence | Reviewer: my name | 10/25/09

No offence but you all have it wrong… the song is about a thing named ‘Astral Travailing’
The Native Americans beloved that they tern into that took the form of animals when they did it, just to try understand it but there is no need.
In the Astral plane time dose not exist “A dream unthreatened by the morning light”. I mean come on, “Could blow this soul right through the roof of the Night”.



No offence | Reviewer: Several Species of Small Fury Animals Gathered | 10/22/09

No offence but you all have it wrong… the song is about a thing named ‘Astral Travailing’
The Native Americans beloved that they tern into that took the form of animals when they did it, just to try understand it but there is no need.
In the Astral plane time dose not exist “A dream unthreatened by the morning light”. I mean come on, “Could blow this soul right through the roof of the Night”.
send your e-males to kdaviso@clarehs.sa.edu.au



Are you kidding me? | Reviewer: Pete | 10/7/09

Ok... someone in here called everyone a bunch of 'idiots' and then said that Learning to Fly came from the album 'A Momentary Lapse IN Reason'??

It's 'A Momentary Lapse OF Reason'

'Learning to Fly' was indeed written by David Gilmour and he wrote the tune while he was in the process of obtaining his pilots license.

Heroin?

No - but nice try!

I've got a great idea... READ! And I don't mean silly inaccuracies and distortions.

Interested in Floyd facts?

Check out 'Inside Out' by Nick Mason

Who's Nick Mason??

If you love Floyd but you're asking this question, you owe it to yourself to go out and buy that book. He's the DRUMMER and the very ORIGINAL and FOUNDING member of Pink Floyd.

Don't believe me?

Get the book... and read it!

I couldn't put it down!



skydiving / flight | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/23/09

"This song is about herion...thats all there is to it...yes it can be deciphered in many ways...but come on.. "Theres no sensation to compare with this. Suspended animation in a state of bliss""


Its obvious you've never experienced flight. To me, this song is about skydiving. Theres no sensation to compare with this. Suspended animation in a state of bliss. You should try it sometime. Apparently Gilmour loved aircrafts.



I'm not a little boy.. | Reviewer: Carson | 9/11/09

I'm not young and I'm well educated. I am sorry. I do think the songs about mushrooms. it matches too well. it may be double meaninged but if you've ever had a spiritual experience with mushrooms, the video ebodies your experience when all other descriptions fail too. If you've never had an experience like it, you just won't relate. I had mushrooms with indians and was never the same. There is nothing like it and this song is about it.. my opinion!



nothing to do with drugs | Reviewer: someone who knows what he's talking about | 7/14/09

you people who say this is about drugs are idiots. this was on the album A Momentary Lapse In Reason which was made after Waters left the band. they were already far beyond their drug years and besides, Pink Floyd has never been a band to directly glorify drug use in their music, even if their early sound was heavily influenced by psychedelics.

though I dont know exactly what it means, its likely just another Floyd song based upon beautiful dream-like imagery like Echoes or Point Me At The Sky. Pink Floyd has always had some of the most incredibly beautiful and poetic lyrics of any band in existence especially when Syd Barrett was still sane. the lyrical quality of Floyd songs is second only to Bob Dylan



Did you know... | Reviewer: floylover | 7/15/09

That Gilmour is an aircraft lover and even had a museum about it?
In the song we can also hear the voice of Nick Manson, a pilot himself, making a "checklist"? This music is about flying, and the adventure of Gilmour as a new leader of Pink Floyd.



Ignorance is bliss | Reviewer: A real Floyd fan | 7/11/09

Ignorant children who have no idea about Pink Floyd! You obviously have no clue about Pink Floyd if you think this song is about heroin. No member of the Floyd was ever involved with heroin. Sure they did recreational drugs but what musician who grew up in the 60's and 70's didn't. Gilmour wrote the song and if you think he ever did heroin then you are on crack! Rest In Peace Richard!



heroin,i don't think so | Reviewer: eugine | 6/11/09

This song could be about so many things, i don't think there's anything about it that screams heroin.If it's about drugs it could be about any of them. No sensation compares to shrooms either or any other sensation. I think it's about picking your ass up and learning to do for yourself and to be free, but that's just how I see it.Anybody talking in certainty's, that isn't david gilmour, is kinda wrong.




Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5