The Real Story | Reviewer: idiotsrbelowme | 6/26/10

Phil would always drink beer with his friends after his work and one day he was late to drink beer and when he made it there to the coast one of his friends was dead in the lake and the other friend was laughing at the dead one so when he had a concert for this song he invited the friend who drowned the other one and put a spotlight right on him and sang it to him and later that night the guy he sang it to shot himself.

so yall motherfuckers a fucking idots you peice of shits know you facts before you fucking post it you bastards

ha | Reviewer: sunshine | 5/13/10

all of you who keep writing about him witnessing a drowning or watever you guys have issues. His songs have deep meaning and sometimes use metaphors to describe events in his life or just life in general...

In The Air Tonight | Reviewer: Ken | 4/11/10

I have always loved this song. Phil was going through a divorce at the time and apparently even he has said that he does not know what this song is about. However, I think it is about "love" betraying him, love is the "friend", he trusted love to do him right and it betrayed him and he saw what love can do to a person, i.e. broken heart. However, I'm not sure about the line "I can feel it coming in the air tonight, Oh Lord". It sounds to me as though "justice" or "resolution" in some form is arriving.

hit and run | Reviewer: Diazzz | 1/15/10

You are half correct anonymous /b/ tard. He didnt know the man through friends he actually had to pay hundreds of thousands of dollars for investigators to track him down. but the rest yes you are correct.

uhh no you're all wrong. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/8/10

Phil Collins saw a man he knew through friends, run over and kill another man. The man that did it fled the scene, a hit and run. Phil Collins waited for him to own up for so long, but he didn't. He then got the guy tickets to his show, and had him sit right in the front row, and sang that song to him. The man was later caught and convicted for his crimes. The whole bit about drowning is like the saying "I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire", he saw the man leave the man he hit to die, and didn't own up, so he's saying if you were dying, I wouldn't save you. Geez.

now I know... | Reviewer: glenfiddich | 12/15/09

now I understand... the real truth behind this song.. It's more than a year since I've split with someone I thought would be love for life.. taking everything for granted she left with another guy... Today I share my life with someone else... but some painfull memories will always remain.. like a splinter in the brain driving me mad... I do carry on with my life with another scar... a massive one... the anger didn't ressolve or vanish.. it's still there.. life goes on.. peace.

JB1 | Reviewer: James | 12/8/09

This song is most certainly about A divorce that Phil Collins was going through. "It is all about the anger, and bitterness with seperation" words used by Phil himself when asked what the song was really about. Im sorry if you believe that this song is truly about Phil drowning someone, or watching someone drown you are most certainly an idiot. You can inturprite the music however you want but if you truly want to believe what the music is about ask the musician or read interviews.

o lord | Reviewer: jimpalerino | 7/12/09

there is no h at the end of o in oh. according to that one urban legend, the man was approximately 40 years old that pushed phil's friend in the water. the boy did not drown. a college-aged student fished him out. all the little boy could remember is the man's elbow coming at him.

the truth | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/26/09

this was a song telling the man that he saw everything he did to his friend, his friend drowned and he did nothing about it and phil was fishing when he saw this, and then he wrote this song, and he spotted him in the crowd and he sang the song to him the verses and when the drums kicked in the cops rushed in and arrested him and took him away

An urban legend | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/26/09

An urban legend has arisen around "In the Air Tonight". According to the legend, the lyrics are based on a tragic event Collins witnessed, usually a drowning (as in the song's lyrics), in which a man could have helped the victim, but did not do so (an alternate version of the legend has the onlooker a murderer, intentionally drowning the victim, rather than a bystander). A common ending is that Collins invites this man to a show and sings the song to him, often with a spotlight pointed at him. Afterward, the man is arrested or, in some versions, is wracked with guilt and has a heart attack or commits suicide. Other versions of the story involve Collins discovering his wife having sex with (or being raped by) another man, often a close friend; the man subsequently drowns while Collins himself watches.

Years later, Collins commented on the legends about the song in a BBC World Service interview:

“ I don't know what this song is about. When I was writing this I was going through a divorce. And the only thing I can say about it is that it's obviously in anger. It's the angry side, or the bitter side of a separation. So what makes it even more comical is when I hear these stories which started many years ago, particularly in America, of someone come up to me and say, 'Did you really see someone drowning?' I said, 'No, wrong'. And then every time I go back to America the story gets Chinese whispers, it gets more and more elaborate. It's so frustrating, 'cos this is one song out of all the songs probably that I've ever written that I really don't know what it's about, you know. ”

Ah, Urban Legends | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/28/09

I love this song, and I've heard a dozen and one legends about it, all absolutely false. It just deals with his bitterness over the end of his first marriage. Here's a weblink to explaine.

www.snopes.com/music/songs/intheair.asp

you all are wrong it about.... | Reviewer: rjz | 6/22/09

this is wat the song is about !!!well if you told me you were drowning i would not lend a hand? this is about the security guard seeing the man drowning and taking no notics.
ive seen your face before my fiend, phil has seen this mans face before.(explaians further down)
the security guard doesnt no that phil saw this event happen.
he saw what he did.

and so on,
so one night phil was doing a concert in london and he spotted this security guards face in the crowd this is like 1 in 10,000000 chance.
after the concert phil followed the security guard home and got his address.
phil sent the security guard a vip ticket to his next concert front row!
phil made up this song in 2 days and when his concert cam around he spotte dthe security guard on the front rown and sung this song to his face and reduced this man to tears.

thankyou. that the real true



In The Air Tonight | Reviewer: Monique | 5/24/09

I heard this song was about, phills brother drowning and phill asking this man to help but he didnt. when phill was rich and famous he sent that guy who didnt help him front row tickets to his concert, when he sung that song he put the spotlight on the guy and sung that song, this guy went home and took his own life.

My Interpretation of the song... | Reviewer: Glenn B | 5/15/09

I heard a lot of different rumors about the meaning of this song, but I think each person can interpret it differently. Before I even began to research the meaning, I had my own story in my mind. Here it goes...

"Well if you told me you were drowning, I would not lend a hand"

The narrator knows this man and his secret and would let him die to get his revenge.

"I've seen your face before my friend, but I don't know if you know who I am"

The narrator has seen the man before, when he caught him sleeping with his wife. The man did not see him though, so he doesn't know who the narrator is.

"Well I was there and I saw what you did, I saw it with my own two eyes"

The narrator saw the man sleeping with his wife.

"So you can wipe off that grin, I know where you've been
It's all been a pack of lies"

No more reason for this man to be smiling, thinking he's getting away with sleeping with the narrator's wife; he's been caught and his time is up. The narrator's wife has been lying to him as well.

"And I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord"

The narrator can feel it coming in the air tonight, "it" being revenge- the urge to murder his wife's "secret" lover.

"Well I've been waiting for this moment for all my life, oh Lord"

Seems the narrator has known what's been going on for quite some time and was just waiting for the right moment to seek his revenge. Now is the time and he has been waiting so long for the right moment!

"Well I remember, I remember, don't worry, how could I ever forget"

The narrator remembers the moment he caught his wife cheating on him with the man. Such a traumatic event, how could he ever forget?

"It's the first time, the last time we ever met"

The narrator and the man are meeting for the first time and the last time, as the narrator is going to kill the man.

"But I know the reason why you keep your silence UP, oh no you don't fool me"

The man will not confess to sleeping with the narrator's wife, but the narrator cannot be lied to, he saw what happened.

"Well the hurt doesn't show, but the pain still grows
It's no stranger to you and me"

The narrator has been bottling up his hurt and sadness. He doesn't show his feelings about his wife's betrayal to anyone, though he is deeply hurt and angry.

The narrator is finally confronting the man who his wife cheated with. I don't believe anyone is actually drowning, he just used that as a metaphor to explain that he wanted this man dead. He feels the rush tonight, the anger has finally built up, and now, he will get his revenge by murdering his wife's arrogant lover who thinks he got away with it.

Those were my thoughts on it...

Dan's is the closest interpretation | Reviewer: Nicholas | 5/7/09

I feel that this song is possibly about infidelity, but I feel it is more about the human natural instinct to kill. Every animal preys on another or even each other. In this case, as he was going through a divorce I believe his natural instincts were kicking in and he was pondering killing his wife. For example let's look at the following line: "I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord"

He clearly feels a sudden rush of emotion that has overcome him. Urge to Kill?

"And I've been waiting for this moment for all my life, oh Lord"

This line sounds like the "id" crying out for attention. Really every human being at one point or another has this very same feeling. The natural feeling to take another life. In most cases however, the ego and super-ego talk the mind out of committing the crime because we know it's wrong.

"Can you feel it coming in the air tonight, "

Am I the only one that has these feelings? Common reassurance question that the ego would pose to ask.

"Well if you told me you were drowning, I would not lend a hand"

This is an expression of hate towards his ex-wife for putting him through the events of his divorce.

"I've seen your face before my friend, but I don't know if you know who I am"

Here he is saying that he doesn't believe his wife ever took the time to care or get to know him. It could also very well mean that she has changed drastically from the woman he fell in love with.

"Well I was there and I saw what you did, I saw it with my own two eyes"

This is the strongest hint towards infidelity, but I think this line means that she treated him like shit all along. Possibly lied as well.

"So you can wipe off that grin, I know where you've been
It's all been a pack of lies"

Again...another very strong statement leaning towards infidelity. However, once again I think this is about the marriage just not working anymore. She is just as guilty as him for the marriage falling apart, and she has no right to blame him for it's demise.

"Well I remember, I remember, don't worry, how could I ever forget"

This I feel is possibly him standing his ground on something the he was guilty of and talking about her constantly reminding him of it.

"It's the first time, the last time we ever met
But I know the reason why you keep your silence UP, oh no you don't fool me
Well the hurt doesn't show, but the pain still grows
It's no stranger to you and me"

She is completely different then the person he met. Again a statement saying that she changed drastically. The he is saying that she keeps her silence because she knows he is right. He is always right?

Well this is about the best I can do for now.