Reviews for Given To Fly Lyrics

Performed by Pearl Jam

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 3/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

badfish, you are a moron. | Reviewer: james wann | 3/1/08

badfish, unless i'm hugely mistaken, illiterate means one who can't read or write. i would say that me reading your comment and replying by writing a comment would suggest you are wrong. please, please use words in the right context, you just seem as if you're making a big effort to seem intellectual. in all honesty, if this is the case, you are failing miserably.



the intelligance of PJ fans | Reviewer: mike | 1/22/08

PJ fans are by far the most inteliigent of the lot ...PJ probably one of the most deep (pardon the pun) band around today. I wonder if Eddie ever reads these forums he must love the way everyone has their interpratations of their songs ..that is exactly the way he wants I reckon. Clearly they have a message and its about mankind and his relationship with earth...which is not good right now...Hail Hail Pearl Jam...



i started the whole jesus theory on here! | Reviewer: james wann | 12/11/07

i agree with the guy who stuck up for me-pearl jam isn't just for all you atheists. i think if you refer back to garden, he talks about obviously a garden. a possible interpretation is that it is the garden of eden, which has now turned to stone after man betrayed God, and that he will go in with his hands bound so he can't take fruit, and 'she don't wander' could be a reassurance that eve doesn't accompany him. fair enough if this is wrong, but i couldn't be much further from a Christian fundamentalist. I'm an agnostic, and I believe religion itself is a bit of a scam. I just think it is irrefutable that Vedder COULD be talking about God. Now open up your own irksome, closed mind, before challenging mine. I also happen to see the intelligence of other reviews, such as the one that says 'True Meaning'. Now try and see from a purely analytical point of view, rather than atheist or Christian fundamentalist. Lines such as the one that talks about the chains that he saw everywhere, and stripped and stabbed etc. Come on, just think and at least intellectually acknowledge it.



The true meaning | Reviewer: A true christian | 8/29/07

Well the song meaning is not about christ... so please all the little kids behave. This song is the first one of the album YIELD, which was inspired in the book Ishmael, a book that tells the story about a trapped talking gorilla who realized about pretty much everything that was wrong with this world; including religion, agriculture, evolution, and other interesting subjects. So the guy with the wings is either the gorilla trapped in the cage, or the guy who the gorilla gives the knowledge the ape discovered. Pearl Jam uses this story as inspiration to create the whole album, including songs like DO THE EVOLUTION, which are even more obvious about the source of pearl jam's inspiration. So now the kids can stop calling themselves names over the internet and leave this space for its original purpose.



The true meaning | Reviewer: A true christian | 8/29/07

Well the song meaning is not about christ... so please all the little kids behave. This song is the first one of the album YIELD, which was inspired in the book Ishmael, a book that tells the story about a trapped talking gorilla who realized about pretty much everything that was wrong with this world; including religion, agriculture, evolution, and other interesting subjects. So the guy with the wings is either the gorilla trapped in the cage, or the guy who the gorilla gives the knowledge the ape discovered. Pearl Jam uses this story as inspiration to create the whole album, including songs like DO THE EVOLUTION, which are even more obvious about the source of pearl jam's inspiration. So now the kids can stop calling themselves names over the internet and leave this space for its original purpose



( ( (@) ) ) | Reviewer: noizenotwar | 8/4/07

A personal view(sorry if it has been posted previously) on this song...To me it seems like the story of a young man who feels trapped inside his life with no "doors" leading to the next step in finding out who he is. He leaves his norm and finds himself sitting on a tree where he marvels at the power and mystery of the world. With a clear head he sees who he is and transends the rest. Going back to try to pass on his message people dont believe him..but he knows his message is truth. A story of enlightenment if you will. I do not believe that it is important in this song to name the subject. Doesn't seem like the direction Vedder was trying to point the song in. This song is great...and im probably way off with this rant.



About the song Given To Fly performed by Pearl Jam | Reviewer: Fas | 7/21/07

Hi guys been read your veiws on this track and I can see were you are all coming from...thought I might just giveyou guys my veiw, and remember this is my view and I am not saying this is who they wrote it about, but I think its about Malcom X and were its written about:

(He still stands

And he still gives his love, he just gives it away
The love he receives is the love that is saved
And sometimes is seen a strange spot in the sky
A human being that was given to fly)

I recon they're talking about what he has tought the people of the world and how he is remembered.

but like I said this my opinion...



Freedom | Reviewer: McFly | 7/20/07

I agree in a way with the first comment about that psychology-class, and that "free from your body and exsistence while surfing" part.
I think it's about mankind breaking free from a hard-knocked life they end up alone and pushed away in a corner. They become trapped in a social downward spiral and alienate from the competitive society.
What do you do when you are trapped? You escape, get back in touch with nature. After a while you start feeling free, you know how free you can be by not wanting everything("the ocean and a smoke in a tree is enough") Then it hits you, "like a fist to the jaw", you are just a human and there are bigger things than you. Even if you win in this competitive society, you cannot have everything, and you do not have everything. We must be lucky to live more than 80 years, we die anyway("A strange spot in the sky"). So with that in mind, try to live your life in a good way, help others to be free as well("his keys, the chains he saw everywhere") How stuck is everybody by having ambition, and wanting to accomplish things. Leave everything behind once in a while, start over.
I know I'm not that good at English, read Seneca's Letters to Lucilius, "On the shortness of life", to get a better understanding of what I mean.



Allegory of the Cave | Reviewer: Narek | 7/10/07

if anyone here has been in a psychology class, you are familiar with the allegory of the cave by Plato, in which people are chained inside a cave their entire life and can only see shadows of people against the wall of the cave, one day one of them is released into the real world and is amazed by what he sees. He comes back to tell the others but they don't believe him and think he's crazy.



Jesus | Reviewer: VedderGrrl | 7/6/07

I kinda think its Jesus, especially towards the end,

"But first he was stripped and then he was stabbed
By faceless men"

Jesus was stabbed in the head with thorns, stripped of everything, and they covered his face and they slapped him asking him to see which one of them hit him if he was so powerful. But the beginning of the song doesn't really fit, but when i write a song not all of it is inspired from one thing. hey i think its for Eddie and the gang to know whats its about, its fun to find out what songs mean and why they wrote them but its not for us to say because we didn't write it.





Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 3/ 4