Reviews for Father And Daughter Lyrics

Performed by Paul Simon

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5
Add Your New Review About The Song

lovely daugther KENDRA | Reviewer: jaap | 5/31/11

Always when i hear this song i set up the reciever from 4 to 6...
I try to sing even beautifull as the lead singer 'Paul' .
and i did it for my lovely daugther 'KENDRA" she is now 28 but i loved her as if she still is that little 'wonder' as in her babytime.
Love ! from Am*dam for all of you!

My Daughter | Reviewer: Bernie | 4/18/11

This song always brings a tear to my eye.
I have 5 daughters the first two are with my ex wife. I worked my ass off while she raised them. I am not close to either.

I met a girl that had 2 daughters 5 and 1 whom I raised as my own. 1 year later we had a daughter her mother went back to work and let me raise our daughter that was 9 years ago. Last year we split up and when I told our daughter she was happy because she could live with Dad. My ex gave me the gift of being a father. I never was with my daughters or her's but I got to be with our's
There was no fights when we split I have our daughter when ever I want she takes her the rest of the time. I still love and spend time with her daughters. But I am so close and so in love with our daughter. She loves her Dad and is so much like me. I got to be a Dad and will always thank her mom for that gift. This is one of our favorite songs.

I am touched by the stories here of daughters hat have lost their fathers I cannot imagine not being there for mine.

If your fathers loved you 1/100th as much as I do mine you were very loved!

Bernie

Close to My Heart | Reviewer: LAB | 2/27/11

I didn't have the father-figure needed in my childhood. my parents were divorced and i would visit him about 3 times a year. i really loved these visits and I always looked up to him. In my teen years, however, it was all broken. We used to watch the Wild Thornberry's all the time and that is where i first heard this song. Listening to this always reminds me of him and what we used to have. It is simply beautiful and amazing what love a father can have for his daughter.

This is so special! | Reviewer: Nana Y.S | 12/8/10

I was have no dad, he died, i call him papa. I have 2 big bro but 1 died. I dnt live wid mom. B4 papa died he gave me dis song n gave my bro song of 'father n son'. We dnt really care, we never hear the song. den papa died, we gonna hear the sng frm papa. We cry. Papa gave me father n daughter so sweet THANX!

Rebuilding | Reviewer: sarah | 9/9/10

I have been in the process of writing a book - in my journey I discovered how much I have missed the bond I never had with my father. The last time I saw him, I was 10 and then he died when I was 17. I am 33 now and finally writing my story. The only good memory I have of him was his love for music - something I share in common with him. I have decided to rebuild my relationship with him, even though he is not here in the physical and I could not think of a better way than through music. The words of this beautiful song are exactly the message I needed to hear - thank you Paul :) I know my Dad would love it!

Best father/daughter song EVER | Reviewer: Daughter Proud Of Her Father | 7/28/10

I first heard this song when I was 12 on the radio sometime after my mom left me and my dad. I downloaded it later that day and played it for my dad because I said it made me think about us. He loved it as much as I did, maybe more. Ever since then, this has been our song and I told him that it's my song choice for the father/daughter dance at my wedding when that day comes.

To all the amazing fathers out there....THANK YOU!!!!


thank you | Reviewer: Angi Jones | 5/21/10

My Dad just took his own life yesterday. Three days before that he posted this to me (on facebook) but I did not see it until yesterday. I thank you so much for writing a song that has become a message to me from my Dad, I needed to hear these things from him more than anyone will ever know. I love you SO much Dad and want you to always know...

As long as one and one is two
There could never be a daughter
That loved her father more than I love you ♥

This beautiful song! | Reviewer: Martha Moore | 3/15/10

This beautiful song really touches the heart and reminds me of my relationship with my father. I am very lucky to still have my father here with me today, as he is 90 years old and has battled numerous illnesses and health problems, as well as survived the attack on Pearl Harbor and World War II.

I also was lucky to have a good dad when I was growing up. He did not drink and worked hard to support his family. My dad taught me everything I know about life and was always there for me. Thank you, Paul, for writing and recording this song. If I had to sum up a 52 year relationship in 4 minutes, it would be this song.

I miss the dad I never really had | Reviewer: Tasha | 2/18/10

Im 28 and my father died when I was 7 and when I heard this song on a commercial I became very emotional. I miss my father eventhough I really never got a chance to know him. As I reach the age when friends are having their dads walk them down the aisle, I dont have that and it is sad but I know he loved me.

Totally Special | Reviewer: smiles | 11/11/09

Paul Simon thank you for writing such a heart felt song. It is so beautiful and reminded me of the many ways that a father loves a child.

Most of all it made me think about my Heavenly Father though, and how God is so awesome, mighty, kind, and just. And yes, God does not always intervene in our lives the way we would want but God does what is best. My heart is at peace when I think of that because I know that God can work things together for my good even when everything seems to be going so wrong. I just have to trust him and obey. Listening to the song especially this part -

I'm gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So you'll always know

I just thought wow sometimes I miss it. Yet...that does not change that God demonstrated His love for me by sending His son, Jesus to die for my sins and not only me but anyone who will believe in Him. And then I read this...

There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you
Thank you again Mr. Simon for writing this song.

And thank you Lord for placing me in the loving care and arms of my earth bound dad.

My Beloved Daddy | Reviewer: Aimee | 11/1/09

My beloved Daddy died from cancer just over a week ago on 23/10/09, two hours before his 57th birthday. I miss him terribly, he was my best friend and we were so close. I have been blessed to have such a wonderful Dad and was proud to have him give me away at my wedding nearly two years ago now. He ended his wonderful speach with 'in the words of Paul Simon, There could never be a father who loved his daughter more than I love you' and I have never forgotten it. This song has very special meaning for me and he will be laid to rest tomorrow with a copy of the words.
I love you Dad. Xx

for daddies | Reviewer: kayz | 10/15/09

when i heard this i cried like a baby. this reminds me of how much my dad loves me and how he's always there for me whenever i need him, even when i don't. and now that i'm leaving home i'll really miss him! to my Daddy I LOVE YOU! thanks Paul Simon.

Talk about pulling at the heart string | Reviewer: Eric | 9/23/09

I always loved paul simon and discovered this song for all the wrong reasons.

My sister had the misfotune of losing her son when he was 11 years of age in a very tragic accident, he had just joined the school band and had been learning El conoro Pasa so I was listening to the essential album a lot, so we played El condoro pasa at his funeral. Simply the most heartbreaking day of all our families lives. He was the only Nephew/Grnadchild in the family at that point.

Over 14 months ago my beautiful girlfriend gave birth to our daughter and currently the only niece/grandchild in the house, as you can imagine she has become a vital ray of light for the entire family and especially my sister who just adores her. I rememered this song recently as how best to describe how I feel about this gorgeous little creature that I will always have the pleasure of saying is my own flesh and blood. Plus of course what she doesnt know now but will is how she has helped a broken family pick back up the pieces.

Brings a good tear to my eye.

wow | Reviewer: B | 7/29/09

Love this song. Just discovered it through itunes...and these reviews are touching. Meghan, doubt you'll ever read this, but i lost my dad around the same time as you last year...he was about the same age and died of the same thing. I hope you had a great wedding...I so know how you feel and I wish you the best!

Makes my cry | Reviewer: Liz | 6/25/09

I love this song, the first time i heard it was when i was younger, watching the wild thornberrys and the song was playing at the end.
This song reminds me of the relationship i had with my dad when i was younger, probably from a baby to about 9 years old.
I lost all respect in my dad, when i found out he had been cheating on my mum since i was 4 years old. My parents got divorced shortly after.
When i played this song to him, and tried to explain what i felt this song meant, he laughed at me. Laughed as not in a nice way. My dad speaks to me like hes a child, he never takes any responsibility for himself and i dont think he ever will.
When i played this song to my mum, she cried. same reaction i had.
Thankyou paul simon for your incredible lyrics.



Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5