Reviews for Father And Daughter Lyrics

Performed by Paul Simon

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 3/ 5
Add Your New Review About The Song

Beautiful | Reviewer: Leigh | 5/6/09

Such an amazingly beautiful song and what touching reviews...I read them all! Meghan that was such a sad story...I hope you had a wonderful wedding. Im sure your Dad was there with you =)
This song will forever remind me of my own Dad. I dont know how I would cope without him. So many fond memories as I was growing up and now continuing on into adulthood. He's always been there for me. He's always made me laugh. I couldnt have asked for a better Dad.
Love you Dad.
p.s. Daddy talking to man, scabbo =)
xx

Thank you paul Simon | Reviewer: Emilys Dad | 12/7/08

As a father of a 7 yr old girl,that I havent seen since xmas day 2007, when through some stupid life choices I let the most important thing slip away Thank you Paul.
The words and sentiment could have flowed from my own pen if I had that talent, but when I close my eyes and visualise that face ,these words are my own- but both soothe a tortured heart and make one curse past actions...
If only it were a duet and the daughter made her father aware his love did not go un-noticed..

To my darling Girl | Reviewer: Richard | 7/1/08

To a father has been separated from his soon to be 4 year old. I would like to thank paul simon for a wonderful song lyrics. I was a very active part of her life until her second birthday when Myself and ex wife began devorce proceeding which became nasty. Now I can only see her once a fortnight and talk to her via the phone. So when i wantede to put to words how I felt on her 4th birthday card this song came to mind. I worship my girl and feel so proud of her and it a honour to be her dad. Paul has said something that all dads would wwant to say to there little diamonds. I hope when see is older that she'll read her card and see how much i love her. Thank you Paul.x

The Best thing that has ever happened to me . | Reviewer: Richard | 7/1/08

I'm a father with a soon to be 4 year old daughter The problem is that her mother and I are devorced and she will not allow me to see her on a regular basis . The only means of contact is through a child minder via the telephone and a contact centre that is only open once every two weeks. When we were living together we were so close. She taught me so many things about me that nobody could . I looked after her bathed. Played with her did her laundry cleaned her bum,We went to the park, took her too and from the child minders. And well, everything that dads do. I loved every minute of it and I will treasure those moments for the rest of my life (I'm very lucky.). When I'm with my daughter for the short amount of time that we have time stands still. It's sheer joy to look at her. And when she hugs me and says that she loves me,it warms my core being. When we speak on the phone I love to hear her develope and to hear her laugh and sing. It tears me apart to leave her or put the phone down due to our current situation with her mother. So when I wanted to put into words how I felt about her in her 4th bithday card. I remembered this song. I first heard "Father And Daughter" just before her 2nd birthday as my ex wife and I was starting devorce proceeding. It stuck with me as we were heading into dark and terrible times. I hope that when she is older that she'll read the words that Paul has so perfectly written and to know that I love her so deepley and will always love her. My girl is proudest and most wonderful thing that has ever happened to me. I will never give in. I will always fight to be a part of my daughters life. And it's an honour to be her Dad.
Thank you Paul Simon.x

my beautiful daughter | Reviewer: allan bishop | 6/24/08

i havent seen my daughter for nearly a year she lives in another country she is my only child and i miss her and love her so much this song says it all for me theres is no other love like a fathers love for is daughter today is the first time i heard this song and i have sent it to her so hug you children everyday because they fly the nest all to soon

My Dad - 5/5/50 to 4/26/08 | Reviewer: Meghan | 5/15/08

My father died three weeks ago of sudden cardiac arrest. He was 57 years old and very healthy. I am getting married on June 28th, and had told my Dad that he could pick the father daughter dance because he loved music very much. All through my engagement, he would say "Do you want to hear the song now, Meg? It's kind of fast and we should probably practice." I always said no because I knew that I would cry my eyes out as soon as I heard whatever song he picked. He died before I ever heard the song or danced to it with him. The day after he died, I asked my Mom to play it for me. When she put on 'Fathers and Daughters' it was like my Dad was telling me one last time how much he loved me and how much I meant to him. Whenever I hear it, for the rest of my life, I will know that my Dad loved me with all of his heart. I hope that he knows why I never danced with him - it was not because I didn't want to or because I didn't care, but that I knew I would be incredibly emotional because I loved him more than words can say. Every single day I had with my Dad, I knew that he loved me and was proud of me and supported me. I was his only girl, and he looked at me the way no one else ever did. I think of him and miss him every day. I believe that now he knows more than ever how much I love him, and that I know I am the luckiest girl alive to have had him in my life. He was the best Dad a girl could ever ask for. Thank you, Dad, for being who you are and loving me the way you did. I will love you and miss you for the rest of my life and will think of you every day. You will always be my Daddy and I will always be your little girl (your DDD). I love you to the moon and the stars.

My Dad | Reviewer: meghan | 5/15/08

My Dad died three weeks ago of sudden cardiac arrest. I am getting married on June 28th, and had let my Dad pick the song that he and I would dance to. All through my engagement, he would say to me "I picked the song, it's a little bit fast. Do you want to practice dancing to it?" I always said no. I knew no matter what song it was, I would cry my eyes out because I loved my Dad more than words can even say. I hope now that he knows why I never danced with him. It wasn't because I didn't want to, it was because I knew it was going to be very emotional for me, and I never thought it was the right time. The day after he died, I asked my Mom to play the song that he had picked out for me. When she put this song on, it was like my Dad was telling me one more time how he felt about me. My Dad loved me and believed in me and was proud of me every day of my life. He was the most supportive father a girl could ever ask for. I hope he understands now how much I love him, and how much he means to me. I had the best Dad in the world, and I was lucky enough to have him for 27 years. I will miss him and think about him every day of my life. Thank you, Dad, for having me and loving me, and thank you for picking the most beautiful song for us to dance to. I love you to the moon and the stars!

RIP Daddy in memory Richard L Kane | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/7/08

The first time I heard this song I cried my eyes out. I lost my Dad on 10/29/02. He was the first man I ever loved or trusted. He was my Daddy. I miss him everyday....he was not a Father, he was a Dad. He was everything, he was the heart of our family....he was and still is my hero.
RIP Daddy....I love you...till we meet again.
Kristin L Kane-West

sent this to him for his birthday | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/30/08

How could this song not remind me of my dad and I ?
I kind of wish it was a duet, with the daughter assuring the father. I am not a crier, but the first verse and then, the father assurance he will be guarding her got me, because I miss him so much...he has been deployed for two months already...August can't come soon enough.

Beautiful way to describe the Father & Daughter love | Reviewer: Sanjay Mukherjee | 3/26/08

I lost my wife when my daughter was 1 year old, She died out of cancer . After that my daughter is everything to my life . Her name is Sanjanaa. I think no other father can love her daughter as i love , thanks Paul simon

no title | Reviewer: Annie | 3/16/08

the only things i knew about my dad was his name, where he lived, his age and how he looked like. The funny thing we lived in the same house for 16 years! he never cared about me, my sister, brothers or my mum. Listening to this song makes me angry. they got divorced a year ago, and i now live with my mum. My brothers and sister already live by themselves. I haven't had contact with my dad for a year now, and i dont regret. I never wanna see him again.

My angel's melody | Reviewer: Nomfundo Ndwayana | 2/15/08

This song touches me all the time. Reminds me of the only father i have ever known. My grandfather. Takes me back to my childhood and bring back a scent filled with unconditional love and innocence. Truly amazing song....

i wish i had my dad with me | Reviewer: chirag | 2/8/08

My father hardly lived with me n my mom. I want he should know how much i needed him in those years and even now.listening to this song i started crying.The best lines I liked are" I'm gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow".

my dad | Reviewer: maggie | 1/22/08

me and my dad, we have never really gotten along. him and my mom got a divorce when i was just a baby, so i didn't really grow up with him in my life. recently he and i haven't stopped talking, and today i was listening to this song and started to cry, because it was just what i have always wanted to hear from him. to hear that he loves me more than the world was what i have always wanted to hear from my father. then, miraculously, as i was listening to this song, i got an email from him. the email was almost what i wanted to hear, and this song gave me the courage and inspiration to write him back. these lyrics, is my letter back. haha, thanks paul simon! lol

My Dad | Reviewer: Sari-Jade Binnington | 1/10/08

Well i'm 13 and i hardly knew my father
my father past away when i waz 2
but i can remember him too
and i've only heard thiz song by watching a movie
and thiz song remindz me of wah he would be thinking.
i still cry to thiz song.
i mizz him and love him heapz too.
but i wonder wah iz he thinking


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 3/ 5