Reviews for Plateau Lyrics

Performed by Nirvana

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    Current page No. 4/ 6
Add Your New Review About The Song

Do u realy want to know wat it means? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/18/08

IT MEANS ABSULUTLY NOTHING alot of songs mean nothing it proboly means something to the songwriters/singers but nothing to us maby he was talking about a dream or maby a tv show or maby he is just plain phsyco maby he mentally insane unless ur him u really dont know so why dont u all shut up and enjoy the song!!!

in MY opinion | Reviewer: cari | 8/4/08

music is a form of art, and anyone who can appreciate art knows that while the artist created it with his own thoughts and reasons behind it, he knows that the consumer will think of it what he will. maybe one of us is right about the original meaning, but then again, maybe we're all right. my first take was that it had to do with politics, but i'm open to all possibilities. i just wish more people were. and even as i was reading all of this, i couldn't help but imagine kurt kurkwood laughing til his sides hurt at all of us b/c maybe it's not supposed to mean anything at all. whatever the meaning (or lack of), it's a fun song to sing and listen to. no one is an idiot for expressing an opinion different from anyone else's, but some of us or clearly intolerant.

take care of your own life | Reviewer: julia | 7/12/08

Let's stop with this sheat. Have you ever thought that kurt only decided to sang the song because he liked the rhythim? The things are simpler than you guys make looks.
Or maybe he thought it will be interest to make all your fans thing about why the hell he sang it.
Let's just enjoy the song and take care of our own lifes, yeah? Nobody heres know why and nobody will never know.

Plateau | Reviewer: david | 7/2/08

In my opinion, the "plateau" is the TV set (Dr Phil, BBC for e.g.) that everybody is trying to reach (anchors, journalists, politicians, actors). This song describes the reality of this TV set and all its superficial people who sometimes believe they are what they are not. The author tried to make the audience aware that beyond the flashing decorations and the spotlights, there will be someone like you or me to clean up this already "dead" place. The author reduces the result of a TV set to "an illustrated book of birds" where, I believe, humans are compared to innocent cute birds. The point is to understand the overall meaning of this "action", this plateau is less important than the words you can use.

Myguess | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/2/08

In my opinion, the "plateau" is the TV set (Dr Phil, BBC for e.g.) that everybody is trying to reach (anchors, journalists, politicians, actors). This song describes the reality of this TV set and all its superficial people who sometimes believe they are what they are not. The author tried to make the audience aware that beyond the flashing decorations and the spotlights, there will be someone like you or me to clean up this already "dead" place. The author reduces the result of a TV set to "an illustrated book of birds" where, I believe, humans are compared to innocent cute birds. The point is to understand the overall meaning of this "action", this plateau is less important than the words you can use.

My guess... | Reviewer: frenchy | 7/2/08

In my opinion, the "plateau" is the TV set (Dr Phil, BBC for e.g.) that everybody is trying to reach (anchors, journalists, politicians, actors). This song describes the reality of this TV set and all its superficial people who sometimes believe they are what they are not. The author tried to make the audience aware that beyond the flashing decorations and the spotlights, there will be someone like you or me to clean up this already "dead" place. The author reduces the result of a TV set to "an illustrated book of birds" where, I believe, humans are compared to innocent cute birds. The point is to understand the overall meaning of this "action", this plateau is less important than the words you can use.

my guess | Reviewer: frenchy | 7/2/08

In my opinion, the "plateau" is the TV set (Dr Phil, BBC for e.g.) that everybody is trying to reach (anchors, journalists, politicians, actors). This song describes the reality of this TV set and all its superficial people who sometimes believe they are what they are not. The author tried to make the audience aware that beyond the flashing decorations and the spotlights, there will be someone like you or me to clean up this already "dead" place. The author reduces the result of a TV set to "an illustrated book of birds" where, I believe, humans are compared to innocent cute birds. The point is to understand the overall meaning of this "action", this plateau is less important than the words you can use.

awesome | Reviewer: Lauren | 2/8/08

Who gives a fuck what it means, it is a mad song and Nirvana do a fucking insane cover of it.

Keegan is a wanker. And yes i agree that a song is meaningless until you place your own meaning to it. It has an 'intended' meaning which is the one the author gives to it, but everything after that is the listeners interpretation. If you have read the Kurt Cobain Journals, Kurt himself says (paraphrasing here) that a song doesnt have a meaning. What it means to him when he wrote it means something completely different to someone else, and that the beauty of music! Also (and yes i know Kurt didnt write the lyrics) but Kurt would write stupid shit like "jesus came to me in a taco" and im pretty sure that doesnt have any hidden meaning. He was just fucking around. So i guess what im saying is, sometimes songs dont really have any hidden meaning anyway, the listener is just looking too deeply into the song and youll never fucking know wat it means until you ask one of The Brothers, Meat.

Peace out and enjoy the music.

Follow up: The obvious meaning behind Plateau | Reviewer: Keegan | 1/23/08

Please, will the next person say this was not written by Cobain and everyone's an idiot? Ok, here's the thing, we can all sit around a campfire singing Koombayah, and say it has a different meaning to everyone. But there is truth to life. Black is black. White is white. What is, is. This applies to intangible things as well. If I sat down and wrote something about something then thats exactly what I did. If people want to take it another way which allows them to appreciate it then thats nice too, but it doesnt change the meaning of the song, because I wrote it. There was a meaning when the meatpuppet guy sat down and wrote the song. A talented writer can make something ambiguous and versitile enough to where people can create different meanings as it applies to them. But he had something in mind when he wrote that song. It took alot of thought and word selection not just a joint, the inside of a Totinos box, and a pen. The reason I say that it has an obvious meaning, is because it does to anyone with wisdom and life experience who ananlyzes the lyrics carefully. Its kinda like looking at one of those pictures that you can't see anything unless you cross your eyes just right, then you see something that you never saw before although everyone talked about the dinosaur image, and then you say, oh I see it now. Oh, and jon, how is a guess not going to help you if it could? Corporate America guy, yes but no. This isn't I hate my dad and America music, but it is about leaving what you believe to be bs. That's about as much of my life I'm going to waste on this and being bashed for helping. Good luck!

OK heres the facts. | Reviewer: Nirvana43vr | 12/22/07

THIS SONG WAS NOT WRITTEN BY KURT COBAIN... for the 1000000th time. moot point. its a dead horse lets stop beating it. if your trying to figure out why KURT wrote this song you never will because he didnt. if you want to know why he had such a HARD time singing it its because of what the words meant to HIM. what HE took to heart when HE heard the lyrics and when HE sang the lyrics. YES keegan is DEAD on. he couldnt have hit the nail any harder on the head. however that is what the lyrics mean to kurt cobain when he SANG them not WROTE them because he didnt WRITE it. the fact is that there IS no meaning. meat puppets has their own meaning behind the lyrics and i have mine and everyone has theirs. listen to the music apply YOUR life to those lyrics and THAT is what the lyrics mean. plain and simple. end of story. i swear some of you would make kurt cobain role over in his grave.

YOU ARE ALL MORONS | Reviewer: Jon | 12/11/07

TRUE MEANING GUY IS A F**KING MORON....YOU ARE ALL STUPID IT WAS WRITTEN BY THE MEAT PUPPETS AND FOR THE KID TALKING ABOUT IT BEING A WALK OF LIFE YOUR THE BIGGEST IDIOT OF ALL BECAUSE YOU CANT READ THE LYRICS RIGHT, WHEN HE SAYS THEY WOULDNT HELP YOU IF THEY COULD HE IS TALKING ABOUT THE GUESSES OF WHERE THE NEXT PLATEAU IS, NOT OTHER PEOPLE...

The Man | Reviewer: baggs | 12/8/07

I believe that this song is designed to trivialize the role of the beaureaucrat in a corporate environment. In other words, someone wanted to mock 'the Man'.

Before any of you decide it would be fun to verbally assail me for stating the obvious, let me first say that mocking 'the Man' is always the point of Rock!

let it mean what it means for you..... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/24/07

Songs mean something different to everyone. The writer, the listener etc.. The Meat Puppets wrote this song. It has nothing to do with Nirvana. If a song speaks to you and has meaning for you, then keep it for yourself. The idea is not to go out and make everyone believe what you believe, because then it just cheapens the meaning. People think they need to go out and try to sell everyone on their perspective and get mad when people don't accept their percpective..let it go and embrace it for yourself...

The obvious meaning behind Plateau | Reviewer: Keegan | 11/12/07

Guys, some of these reviews are so far off that it does the lyrics an injustice, which is why I am compelled to give this thing an answer. Only one other guy about gets it. Begin with the title as a geographical feature. Plateau. It represents the walk of life and being on top followed by an ubrupt end. It would have been easy to say, THE HOLY GHOST and talk show hosts are planted in the sand. This means the writer is addressing, holy ghosts and talk show hosts, as being peoples false concepts of what it means to be on top, and those things aren't there, however, they greet you on the way, yet are not on top. Once on top you are done with your life's achievement and their's nothing to show for it but an illustrated book about birds, which I see as spending your whole life working to create something detailed yet unimportant. Have you heard of the saying, "That's for the birds."? If you haven't it basically means, "that's obsolete, unimportant, or a waste". At the end of the plateau is a cliff, representing an end in some fashion. It is an end to life or nothing else to conquer. "finished with the mop then you can stop
And look at what you've done" This is saying that people don't even stop to reflect on their life. They just keep desiring and seeking something better, Greenland or Mexico, which are new achievements to conquer. This doesn't include the people who think the best place is where they stood. These people are content with their life's achievement. Its saying they wouldn't help you if they could, because its pointing out human nature in that people act selfishly and most people are only concerned about their own platea. Most of the lyrics is a storyline, but the writer does try to give a lesson in word format in the song. "See a lot up there but don't be scared
Who needs action when you got words" This is saying, I've been to the top. You'll see alot of things as you walk through life. Don't doubt yourself. You don't need all the crowning achievements to master your own walk of life. You have words. Wisdom is the achievement! "Others decided it was nowhere except for where they stood
But those were all just guesses, wouldn't help you if they could" Notice how the writer does not limit his song to all the others wouldn't help you if they could, just "others". One more thing... Use your life's work and achieve something more important than an illustrated book about birds. Remember the plateau ends.

are you all dumb? | Reviewer: smart | 11/1/07

this wasnt written by kurt cobain....

IT HAS NO MEANING TO HIM OR NIRVANA THERE ARE NO DEEP HIDDEN MEANINGS ABOUT HIS DRUG USE OR WHEN HE BLEW HIS HEAD OFF BECAUSE HE DIDNT WRITE IT!
KURT KURKWOOD OF THE MEATPUPPETS WROTE THIS THATS WHY HE CAME OUT AND PLAYED IT WITH NIRVANA


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    Current page No. 4/ 6