Reviews for On A Plain Lyrics

Performed by Nirvana

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 3/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

nirvana | Reviewer: cody | 6/23/08

I myself dont try to think what the lyrics meant because in an interview with krist noveselic he said kurt hated the most when people liked his songs but made up their own ideas for what the lyrics meant. in my opinion that (and depression) are the reasons he killed himself. but you can tell just by hearing the lyrics how deep this song is

Mysterious. | Reviewer: Candy | 6/18/08

Okai, Kurt didn't take drugs because he was depressed, you don't even know that for a fact. Drugs are just a very good past time, people do drugs to have fun. I think this song is about him being selfish, and this is one of the many songs where he is actually talking to the listeners. "What the hell am I trying to Say? It is now time to make it unclear
To write off lines that don't make sense
I love myself better than you
I know it's wrong so what should I do?" - I think he was showing off his new born ego in that part knowing that we listeners will eventually pick up on this and try to comment like idoits trying to figure out the little puzzles he left for us. Mysterys just never end and this man was beyond mysterious.

It's so clear you're blinded by it. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/18/08

NO NO. You people have this all wrong, he is clearly singing about his ego, how shameless he is and his selfishness. This song is so clear I can't believe you people arn't understanding it. He is even talking to us listeners.

Self Appointed Judge | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/25/08

You people need to do research before the "I thinks"


"In a 1993 interview with Jon Savage, Cobain said that "On A Plain" was about "classic alienation." [1] However, he also admitted that he offered a different explanation for his songs every time he was asked, because he didn't know their meanings himself. "For the most part, I write songs from pieces of poetry thrown together," he revealed. "When I write poetry it's not usually thematic at all. I have plenty of notebooks, and when it comes time to write lyrics, I just steal from my poems.""

its your picture... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/22/08

i believe the lyrics are about a jorney he was going through with his cronic stomach pain and the drugs he started taking (heroin) to try and stop this pain aswell as his fame and dealing with his depression. but as kurt has said himself "when i say 'i' in my lyrics that doesnt mean im talking from my perspective or that the 'i' is me." (not exact quote but basically this) all that really matters is that this is an awesome song and can mean what ever you make of it. RIP Kurt... you live on.

I THINK!!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/14/08

i THINK i know what this songs mean... well the part of: IM ON A PLAIN,
its like he knew he was gonna kill himself so he said im on a plain, cause its like hes on his way to heaven, so he knew that, thats why he took drugs... HE WAS DEPRESSED! people have to understand!

Oh my gosh people!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/24/08

"my mother died every night. its safe to say,don't quote me on that" are the CORRECT lyrics!! Try listining to the song for once. Its just on the unplugged version when he messed up and said brother instead of mother. But still you wouldknow that they didnt re-take on that. They kept rolling even if they did mess up.
okay so I'm just saying learn about something then say its wrong. Don't just thnk its wrong with out any proof. (:

RIP Kurt <33 we loved you and still do (:

oh my gosh people!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/24/08

"my mother died every night. its safe to say,don't quote me on that" are the CORRECT lyrics!! Try listining to the song for once. Its just on the unplugged version when he messed up and said brother instead of mother. But still you wouldknow that they didnt re-take on that. They kept rolling even if they did mess up.
okay so I'm just saying learn about something then say its wrong. Don't just thnk its wrong with out any proof. (:

RIP Kurt <33 we loved you and still do (:

song | Reviewer: Dave | 3/13/08

i think this song is about his drug use, but also about him giving up

lines like "It is now time to make it unclear
To write off lines that don't make sense" is him bing tired of ppl who claim all his lyrics are meaningless, which is accually very insulting.

i also agree with michael casey.. stop saying he "took the easy way out" its ignorant. ppl dont understand what depression really is. just walk a mile in his shoes and you would know how bad it can get

Its safe to say you dont understand | Reviewer: michael casey | 2/1/08

my mother died every night doesnt make sense to you because you are not as depressed as he was. There is no way you can judge the song without relating. The song isnt about his drug abuse helping him. Its about him being selfish and lying to get what he wants. But doing so in fact make him sadder when he was doing in the first place to try to be happy. Digging himself deeper if you ask me. His mother died every night? It does make sense. Its safe to say that it could mean that they fought enough to the point of thinking " she is dead to me ". but then the next day talk once again. and also once again fight. and so on. but dont quote me on that. I love myself better than you anyways. ~ mike

Love It! | Reviewer: daniel | 12/25/07

I love this song! I love the mmmm-mmmm's. It's so melodic. I feel so sorry for him, but oh well. Love God(Jesus), love your self and stay away from drugs!!!!!!! seriously

Asshole | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/17/07

This is incorrect,

My mother died every night
It's safe to say, don't quote me on that

what is this from the out, out, outcesticide

Memories... | Reviewer: Rengoku | 9/3/07

Kurt Cobain is a genious. I believe this song is about how his drug abuse helped him cope with all of his childhood memories.

brother not mother | Reviewer: Kurt | 6/30/07

My mother died every night
It's safe to say, don't quote me on that
(this is not correct)


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 3/ 3