Reviews for Bless The Child Lyrics

Performed by Nightwish

Add Your New Review About The Song

book maybe? | Reviewer: Nathalie | 9/20/13

When I first heard the song, I tought, it has to be written about The Witcher series by Andrzej Sapkowski, because it fits the story perfectly. For those who haven't read it, it is about a witcher called Geralt and his adventures while he is hunting down beasts and monsters in a medieval fictional world ( witchers are monster-hunters who receive special training and have their bodies modified at an early age to provide them with supernatural abilities so they can cope with dangerous monsters.).

What this song means to me :D | Reviewer: Katie | 6/6/12

This song is like a story to me; A story of the life of the person in this song is one of someone who is given into the ways of the world and "drank from a cup...There's a poison drop in this cup of Man". The person in the song has gone down the wide path, instead of the narrow one (1 John 2:15) and she is alone and without God: "I have never felt so alone in my life".

wisdom | Reviewer: langy | 12/18/11

I agree with the review at 10 22 10 but it is a sad song becouse he is wasteing his adult life those of us who know what is wrong with the universe have fixed our inocence with understanding. families.. children.
life is never so bleak as this picture if you value whats right and refute what is wrong.
I am an adult married and happy with children. that is what is ment by bless the child they return what you lost

It's about the innocence of childhood | Reviewer: White Night Fantasy | 8/3/11

This song is not about religion at all. Although he finds all religions to be fascinating, Tuomas is agnostic. He is very fond of reminiscing about his childhood, and the innocence of it. Keeping his inner child alive is very important to him. That's what this song is about. Every line in this song refers to his childhood, not a person. =)

Hi | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/20/11

I think this song.....is about men or Lucifer, I don't know.....the song part which says "Why is the deadliest sin - to love as I loved you?" sounds like the love that Lucifer had for God. BUT, the intro of the song "I dreamt all my future. Relived my past. And witnessed the beauty of the beast" it's a clear statement of Adam, the first men....

LamyaLevana | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/22/10

I think that this song is about THE REAL DEATH (thats how I call it) I mean.. In almos every religion it is said that when your body dies, your soul remains in a higher existance or it reincarnates... the real death is losing the vitality of life, monotony spiritless and hopeless existance...

at first in the talking part it says:
I was weak, yet not unblessed.
Dead to the world. Alive for the journey.
meaning: I was a weak baby, but kind... I mean nothing to people but full of vitallity to live my life...
when it says I saw the beauty of the beast, as he has no prejudice, he enjoys even what it is suppoused to be wrong

the when the child grew up he/she lost youth and spirit, he/she became serious:
"Where have all the feelings gone?
Why has all the laughter ceased?"
and its in that moment when we value childhood
"Why am I loved only when I'm gone?"
--
"Gone back in time to bless the child"
If I were young again I would aprecciate it
(we are so anxious to grow up now.. to be able to drive, drink go to clubs that we do not enjoy inosence)

"How can I ever feel again?
Given the chance would I return?"
meaning wil I ever be able to feel that again from now on that Ive realized my mistake?

"I've never felt so alone in my life
As I drank from a cup which was counting my time"
meaning I feel im pointless and waisting my life like a cup of wine.
"There's a poison drop in this cup of Man" the world of Man (adulthood) has poison beacuse it kills your spirit
"To drink it is to follow the left hand path" to do the left path is the path of what is Right.. extreme example: hitler's politicas views,... exclude the jew thing, he tormented germans to DO WHAT IS PROPER and this sucks up your soul.

this is also very related to the video because the man is a pain in the ass, he has no meaning, when se sees his wedding picture feels nothing so he punches it, he did it because it was proper.. only when they become children they love each other, thats when he smiles

"Where have all the feelings gone?
Why is the deadliest sin - to love as I loved you?"
meaning, to feel passion, insted of an steady propper marriage (no offence to married people! I want to marry someday)
"Now unblessed, homesick in time," (corrupted and missing my childhood)
"Soon to be freed from care, from human pain." ( this could be about suicide, a fresh start reincarnation to forget adults problems)
"My tale is the most bitter truth:
Time pays us but with earth and dust, and a dark, silent grave.
Remember, my child: Without innocence the cross is only iron," its quite literal :) cross only iron meaning there is no belief?
"Hope is only an illusion and Ocean Soul's nothing but a name..."

"The Child bless thee and keep thee forever" be bless by pure innocense and keep it through your hole life

Wasn't my favorite at first, but it grew on me~ | Reviewer: amorailuv | 8/30/10

The title says it all. When I heard it for the first time, I didn't completely understand the real meaning behind the lyrics, but I listened to it again and again and I started liking it more and more. I love the anthem-like opening notes and I love singing along to this particular Nightwish song. I also love Tuomas's spoken references to other songs: Dead to the World, Beauty of the Beast, "lifetime loneliness" from Forever Yours...Great job, Tuomas!!! What a spectacular opening to the awesome Century Child album!

Marie Magdalena | Reviewer: DarkPassionPlay | 4/7/10

galletje, You're right. It seems a little bit like a song written for Marie Magdalena. The song is wonderful, Nightwish with Tarja were wonderful, but Nightwish with Anette are enchanting!!! So-Nightwish rocks forever!!

bible | Reviewer: galletje | 6/6/09

I don't know, but somehow, I get the feeling this could be about Marie Magdalena. Just listen very carefully to the lyrics, and the unwritten meaning...
for example: I was weak (prostitute) yet not unblessed (she had Jezus' love...)

Tarja | Reviewer: kate | 3/7/09

this song is asume but so is every other song of nightwish with tarja with anette its more like nightmare tarja is the the heart of nightwish and she is doing just as good without nightwish my winterstorm is a great album

Awesome | Reviewer: Sparrow | 3/16/08

I just can't get over this song! The instrumentals are just awesome and varied and Tarja's voice wraps it up nicely! The lyrics really aren't that sad, but the music just makes you feel in a way beyond words.

Wow | Reviewer: Katie | 11/17/07

I Love this song!! I haven't heard this in years and just woke up with it today. As forgetfulness will do, I couldn't remember anything but the lyrics to this song, the only Nightwish song I remember! Great song. The singing is of the purest voice, and the lyrics are so,.. felt.

Well.. | Reviewer: Kenneth | 7/19/07

Sami hasn't been in the band for years. He never was involved in Bless the Child or Wish I had an Angel. Marco is:)

Another good song | Reviewer: Kmberly | 6/26/07

Yow I tell you first Wish I had an angel then Bless the child yow this song is soooo deep the lyrics are wonderful and Tarja's singing is excellent. Yow Sami,Emppo, Jukka an Tuomas ROCK ON!!!!! \m/


Add Your New Review About The Song