Being alone... | Reviewer: Jan | 10/17/14

The song always meant to me, that even in marriage and motherhood, none of my family heard me...just like that chair. The husband couldn't have cared less about me or my feelings, and the kids were...well, just kids. I used to vacuum with the headphones and listen to this song...I always felt so alone in my marriage, which lasted only 20 years. Thanks Neil...I always had a song to relate to in my worst moments of feeling alone. Jan

If I didn't know better, I would have thought Neil wrote this song for my wife. | Reviewer: Wayne | 1/27/14

My wife's name is Leland. She was born in Staten Is. NY on 1/24/45. Neils birthday. She lived with her family in NY until she married me in 1968 and moved to L A and raised our family. Every time I listen to this song it seems totally about her. I think that her being a girl makes it even more sensitive. She was lost between two shores for many years. We have been to many of Neils concerts and are life long fans.

Connection | Reviewer: Ben | 12/11/13

I understand the analogy to Neil's own life, but for me the part in particular that resonates with me is "And no one heard at all
Not even the chair"

The inner heart-ache just touches me deeply. I've been in a situation like that and its not pleasant at all; The furniture represents the random people you come into contact with on a day to day, (e.g work colleague)whom are no help when you feel at your lowest, and if family members are emotionally distant it just emphasises the pain.

This song helped me to deal with my emotions properly. Sometimes I overthink and depress myself further. This song on the other hand is 100% Empathy. It reminds me that whatever issues I'm facing that it will all work out ok in the end (the old addage "If its not ok, its not the end") It reminds me that its ok to feel sad -Its a natural emotion.

I just want to thank Neil Diamond for writing this, its helped make some of the darkest days a whole lot better for me.

~~~Teenager, anon.

The price of success | Reviewer: RodeoGirl65 | 11/10/13

He talks about a frog who dreamed of being a King. This is his personal story of moving to LA to find fame and fortune and leaving the close knit ties behind where he was accepted for who he was. Didn't matter if he was "just Neil" back home - and he had immeasurable wealth in the love of his family, friends, etc.
This is what I took away here....such a great song...we moved here in June 1970...so glad I go to stay with the grandparents every summer and still go to family home every year to see all the cousins aunts uncles - love them dearly. LA went to the dogs....

8/8/12 REVIEW | Reviewer: GREG | 6/4/13

Whoever wrote the 08/08/12 review succintly hit it on the head. I felt exactly the same way for three years in California during the mid 70s. It was like Neil Diamond was singing the song for me.

I Am Lost | Reviewer: They Call Me Nobody | 8/8/12

I thought I had made connections and friends in my little new town. Five years shot to hell by inconsiderate, self centered people who can't call me for a simple drink or just the pleasure of my company. This song is about unbearable lonliness, I know it with agonozing intimacy.