To Bill on 11/5/08 | Reviewer: God is GOD! | 2/9/09

I wish people would stop apologizing for God's Sovereignty and allow Him to speak for himself through His word. God has never claimed to be "all-loving" or "all-forgiving". There are plenty of people whom He will NOT forgive... people that will spend eternity separated from Him. He IS love... all love comes from Him but He is also justice and He is also holy.

But He also claims, by His own words, to hate wickedness and to hate certain wicked individuals. (See Psalm 11 and Romans 9). He also takes credit for wickedness and catastrophes. Please read your bible!!! Stop making up other gods.

God DID send His Son to save, forgive and redeem ALL those who would believe. But we are NOT all "sons" of God. We ARE all "creations" of God. Some created as objects of mercy, some as objects of wrath.. determined by HIS good pleasure and will. But only Jesus gives a person the right to be called a "son" based on His decree, not by the decision of humans. (Please read John 1:10-13).

As for Who is responsible for disasters, again read your bible people! Or if you don't have one, see the passages below. God is not a big marshmallow in the sky who sits around powerless or impotent. He is a sovereign deity Who does as He pleases for His own reasons, even if you don't agree with Him or like His plan. That is why HE is God. Man's mythical "free-will" is nothing more than man-made PR device... an attempt to make God more appealing to the masses. Let God be God and let people come to Him as He is. He does not need for you to make Him look nice.


Deuteronomy 28:59 - The LORD will send fearful plagues on you and your descendants, harsh and prolonged disasters, and severe and lingering illnesses.

Deuteronomy 28:61 - The LORD will also bring on you every kind of sickness and disaster not recorded in this Book of the Law, until you are destroyed.

Deuteronomy 29:21 - The LORD will single him out from all the tribes of Israel for disaster, according to all the curses of the covenant written in this Book of the Law.

Joshua 24:20 - If you forsake the LORD and serve foreign gods, he will turn and bring disaster on you and make an end of you, after he has been good to you."

1 Kings 14:10 - " 'Because of this, I am going to bring disaster on the house of Jeroboam. I will cut off from Jeroboam every last male in Israel—slave or free. I will burn up the house of Jeroboam as one burns dung, until it is all gone.

1 Kings 21:21 - 'I am going to bring disaster on you. I will consume your descendants and cut off from Ahab every last male in Israel—slave or free.

1 Kings 22:23 - "So now the LORD has put a lying spirit in the mouths of all these prophets of yours. The LORD has decreed disaster for you."

2 Kings 21:12 - Therefore this is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: I am going to bring such disaster on Jerusalem and Judah that the ears of everyone who hears of it will tingle.

Proverbs 16:4 - The LORD works out everything for his own ends— even the wicked for a day of disaster.

Isaiah 10:23 - The Lord, the LORD Almighty, will carry out the destruction decreed upon the whole land.

Isaiah 45:7 - I form the light and create darkness, I bring prosperity and create disaster; I, the LORD, do all these things.

Jeremiah 11:11 - Therefore this is what the LORD says: 'I will bring on them a disaster they cannot escape. Although they cry out to me, I will not listen to them.

Jeremiah 11:23 - Not even a remnant will be left to them, because I will bring disaster on the men of Anathoth in the year of their punishment.' "

Jeremiah 23:12 - "Therefore their path will become slippery; they will be banished to darkness and there they will fall. I will bring disaster on them in the year they are punished," declares the LORD.

Jeremiah 25:29 - See, I am beginning to bring disaster on the city that bears my Name, and will you indeed go unpunished? You will not go unpunished, for I am calling down a sword upon all who live on the earth, declares the LORD Almighty.'

Jeremiah 42:17 - Indeed, all who are determined to go to Egypt to settle there will die by the sword, famine and plague; not one of them will survive or escape the disaster I will bring on them.'

Jeremiah 49:8 - Turn and flee, hide in deep caves, you who live in Dedan, for I will bring disaster on Esau at the time I punish him.

Daniel 9:14 - The LORD did not hesitate to bring the disaster upon us, for the LORD our God is righteous in everything he does; yet we have not obeyed him.

Amos 3:6 - When a trumpet sounds in a city, do not the people tremble? When disaster comes to a city, has not the LORD caused it?

about muse, the living agnostic and denial | Reviewer: peeciss | 2/4/09

great song revealing fears of nonexistance that cross the minds of people that concern themselves with issues of eternity and death. exact to the point no matter what belief. specifically to our living agnostic: once you experience near death or death itself all your theories of "you cannot experience death" and "there's nothing to be scared of" will reveal themselves as tools of denial used to conceal the natural fear of not-being.

the song being kept simple, repetitive and yet powerful is a perfect reflection of the state of the dying existentialist mind.

Thoughts | Reviewer: Alex | 1/30/09

Th reality is why are you scared of dying because if there is no god then it not like were going to care because were going to have no thought anyway it will just be eternal sleep without any thoughts and if there is a god then great theirs heavens so what the all the fuss about?

A nonbeliever | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/24/09

To "A Believer": How do you account for evil caused outside of human influence, like tsunamis, hurricanes, earthquakes... etc. How about children? How can an all loving god allow for children, who are at the mercy of adults, be abused, tortured, killed, etc..? I suggest you read more in to this; I think it's evident that their are certain values which outweigh a momentary divine intervention (aka, a moment of no free will). I will finish with this final question: If you knew a child was going to be bashed to death with a bat by someone else, and you had the ability to prevent it, wouldn't you? By your own logic, it would be "wrong" to do this because the person with the bat has their own free will and can do what they want. Now, if you answer yes, like any rational person would, then why is it off limits for god to do this?

hmm | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/28/08

to the reviewer "simple", i couldn't have said it better myself. it's nice to know there are people out there who have similar opinions to me. i am nothing but looked down upon for not believing in a god, which is tremendously unfortunate. if only more people could accept that the faith they have is not necessarily reality, it is just what they believe. as what i believe is only what i myself believe, and i don't go shoving my opinions down other people's throats because i can't accept that everyone is just getting by in the world based on the faith they do or do not have. :)

Meh | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/11/08

To that person who said we're all afraid of death because it is one of those things in the unknown
for me, you half way there, it's not the dying that scares me it's what happens after, what it feels like, if you feel at all, me and a friend got into one heck of a discussion about that bit after death... this is a great song though

Who? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/7/08

I'm not an atheist. But just think about it. What if there is no god? Then what was al the worshipping for? Who have you been worshipping? Or what if the god you beleive in isn't the one that exists? Just something to think about.

. | Reviewer: A Believer | 11/23/08

Often people say there is no God because so many bad things happen. But God gave us a free will. A free will to choose what to do-and yes, also to do bad things. Don´t blame God for the bad things that HUMANS do. God gave us free will AND responsibility. And if we don´t use this responsibility and don´t care about anything but power or money, then-of course- bad things happen; caused by humans. That´s just the secondary effect of the human´s free will. Blame yourself, or the ones who do bad things, not God.

Thoughts of a dying atheist or not. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/14/08

First of all, I just love this song… muse is just great.

Second I won’t say I don’t believe that there is a God out there, I do want to believe there is but sometimes is hard to keep believing in it. Because of all the bad things that happens in this world and specially to good people. But one thing I’m sure is that we all are afraid of dying or of what‘s after we are dead, you may say now “I‘m not afraid of dying” but I think you are actually lying to yourself…we human are scared of things that are unknown to us…. And dead is something unknown…

to chris, Anonymous, Df_queen, Dylan,CFR , simple, and anyone else | Reviewer: Bill | 11/5/08

First of all Chris...
As a fellow Christan I have to agree with you on the conception of God being a creator and working outside of time and the concept of free will. On the other hand, your portrayal of God being the cause of plagues, sickness, and death because we is just wrong. This notion leads people to blame God for such disasters like hurricanes and tsunamis. Then the inquire, "How could an all loving God allow such horrible catastrophes?" God does/did not create evil or death, evil and death evolved out of sin (which is a result of man wanting to God and turning his back on Him). God allows such events to happen because we are on a neutral field where we can either choose to accept Him or not without forceful intervention. Secondly, God is all forgiving. If He was not, He would not have sent Jesus in the first place. If you are Christian then you know that Jesus is fully human and fully divine(not 50-50). We are all sons of God, but we are not begotten. The phrase "Begotten not made, one in Being with the Father" means that Jesus is of the same essence as God and is God's revelation to mankind. You see Chris, God is so loving and all-forgiving that He, Himself, came down from heaven to cleanse the world of sin by becoming man. By becoming man, He made humanity and divinity whole again and reconstructed the gap (sin) that had torn man from God so that man could enter into heaven (however this does not mean that if you turn your back on God you will get into heaven no matter what, you must still seek the good).
To CFR...
life does make sense. Think of this life as a test. If you seek what is good and right, you will reap the benefits of paradise. Of course I do not mean that if you make mistakes you will fail. God always gives extra credit.
To annonymous, Df_queen, and Dylan...
Dylan, i agree with you that "if heaven and hell don't exist, that will really suck." Annonymous and DF_queen, i do not mean to offend you, but what us the point of living if we are only meant to die? Do you understand where I am coming from? If the later was true, then life would be pointless. In mathmatic terms, assume life to be variable L and death to be 0. If life equals death (L=0), then life truly has no meaning. This is where the x-variable(something after life (God,heaven,hell,ect.)) comes into play. Now L=x and life has some meaning rather than nothing. If you can prove to me that there truly is no purpose in life and that the only thing that awaits us at the end of the tunnel is eternal darkness and rest, than here are my wrists. Whats the point of living if nothing awaits us in the end. Humans all have a yearning for something that they cannot explain and those yearnings never go away. It does not make sense that our yearnings are met with and abrupt and unsatisfying end. Like i said before, i would gladly take my life now if i knew there was truly nothing for me in the end.
Finally, to simple and everyone else...
Do not be confused by what Chris said earlier. Just because you sin or are not christian does not mean you are sentenced to eternal damnnation. Im sure there will be plenty of atheists, buddists, jews,ect. that get into heaven before me. The point is that every religion seeks some good(except satanism cuz that kinda goes in the opposite direction). Just be the best damn atheist, buddist, jew, and person you can be. Seek the good and get up when you fall.

To Chris | Reviewer: CFR | 11/2/08

Chris,i read your review and from what i understood you are saying everyone who commits sin deserves to be punished anybody who sins dies?
Yet sin supposedly sends people to hell,in the end we will all die,therefore you're saying we will all be punished to hell?And sickness?
children get sick at birth?
is it for their sins?
Quite frankly life in general makes no sense,so just shut up and enjoy the damn song!

Thoughts of a Living Agnostic about Dying Atheists and Muse. | Reviewer: Phil | 11/3/08

This song gives no insight into atheism, or the merits of religion. All he says is "it scares the hell out of me" -- not exactly profound or illuminating, you'd have to agree. As regards atheism itself, it is important to understand that without a notion of a life after death, you cannot experience death. Put simply, you cannot know that you are dead, so there's nothing to be scared of. It's impossible to imagine, since the one thing the human mind fundamentally knows is that it exists, but if you will, imagine how you felt before you were conceived -- nothing -- and it would probably be something like that.
As regards the song...I'm not really a fan of Muse, and this hasn't done anything to change that. It's ordinary, unimaginative, and lacks the light and shade that better music exhibits. It's earnest, but monotonously so, which limits its effectiveness. The title sucked me in, because there are so many interesting things a dying atheist could think, but it doesn't seem that Matt Bellamy thought any of them.

makes 100% | Reviewer: simple | 10/30/08

sense to me. im definitely wondering what death is like. i don't believe in god. i don't believe in heaven or hell. I believe in a better world and future for our kids. We borrow this planet from our future generations, we don't inherit it from our ancestors. and any god that can let a person who sins tremendously go to heaven because of faith vs. sending me to hell although I live my life helping others and the planet is not for me. burn me for eternity if thats the case.

risterapi | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/30/08

"Honestly, if heaven and hell don't exist, that will really suck."

You cant be serious. The thought of an all-seeing dictator watching your every step and THOUGHT is bad enough ok?

I mean a lot of places on earth are actually places with a human dictator. But those poor people at least get out of it when they die!

But no, not with religion. That's when the real fun begins, as a wise man once said.

Give me a fucking break, noone is so damned scared of the thought of dying as the religious man. He is so damn scared that he force himself into believing that he wont.

But is that really a comforting thought, if you really think about it? Get real.


live free | Reviewer: Df_queen | 10/30/08

I don't want anyone to rule MY life, even God.
Religion isn't a thing for me.
Those maybe my thoughts before dying, I admit it, but I'm not really scared about it. If the after life is the nothing, I want it...we will all return to our mother earth.
Great song, anyway!