Hey | Reviewer: Willis | 4/8/08

hey, anybody actually seen the video for this? thought i should point out that its fucked up beyond all recognition. in my personal opinion, anything that messed up could not possibly have any purpose other than to entertain me. Which it did. made me giggle. alot. anyway. shut the hell, pull your head out of your ass and just listen to the damn song. or watch the video. whichever works for you.

to all you argueing against the Christian guys | Reviewer: Frank | 4/2/08

guys, just relax about the one line about God. David (a few posts down)explains the whole thing perfect.. I'm Christian too and I agree that its just saying that history can be interpreted as if 'God fell asleep' or whatever, its just a metaphor. It just means that Muse feels as if God was silent during history. thats all, now just talk about how cool the song is and get on with your lives. end of arguement.

Knights Of Cydonia | Reviewer: R | 4/2/08

This is a great song and to all those bible bashing christians out there as people have said before how you do you know they are specifically talking about the christian god you don't, also on that point if you are smart enough to understand the metaphor you wouldnt be moaning in the first place at least use a modicum of common sense. Me personally having no religion/atheist I personally think this song is great and anyone who says "oh i'm not buying this song because it insults my god." or something of the like is totally ignorant and doesn't appreciate the greatness of this song.

Apologies for the massive block of text I felt I had to reitirate the point made by the reviews before me.
Great song instrumentally, although the lyrics are a bit short.

to all you argueing against the Christian guys | Reviewer: Frank | 4/1/08

guys, just relax about the one line about God. David (a few posts down)explains the whole thing perfect.. I'm Christian too and I agree that its just saying that history can be interpreted as if 'God fell asleep' or whatever, its just a metaphor. It just means that Muse feels as if God was silent during history. thats all, now just talk about how cool the song is and get on with your lives. end of arguement.

muse & music rox! | Reviewer: Iam5aur0n | 3/31/08

I really think we shouldn't mix up our beliefs and what a good music CD is .. this is absolutley an awsome song ... and lyrics are just great! ... God (whatever the name you give Him) simply seems to fall asleep sometimes ... probably not true ... probably there isn't even a God to fall asleep ... but here we shouldn't discuss that ... just have fun and enjoy music .. =)

jesus christ dont exist | Reviewer: M. Shadows | 3/31/08

holy shit wat is it with u ppl who still beleive in religion...the world is going to shit and u still think its all part of "The Plan". wake the fuck up. hoestly if god existed i dont think it wud be his main goal to kill every living human on the planet...wars diseases, climate issues, they all are leading to one thing, our deaths...if god does exist and thats his plan id rather burn in hell then live an eternity with a fucking murderer...but ne ways this song is fuckin sick muse owns and as sumone said before me music is ma fuckin religion so God, Jesus, Muhammed, Budda, and all u others, suck ma dick and listen to sum music!

shut up about god already! | Reviewer: stfu | 3/30/08

god is perfect period just forget about its its a song not a threat to religion forget about her could be saying other gods arent real and there is only one you never know until you ask muse just try to ask him or shut your traps you turds!! gosh some people are just so stupid...

Holy Buckets! | Reviewer: Elayne | 3/27/08

Jeezus, anthing that even implies that god isn't perfect sets off rabid christians.
All that matters, is that this is probably the best rock anthem I've heard in a long while, and the video that goes along with it is just as over the top and amazing as well. 8)

Take it easy | Reviewer: David | 3/20/08

Okay, seriously, settle down everybody. It's a song. For those of you who said that you won't buy the song because of the mention of 'God falling asleep', that's your choice. Respect that the rest of us choose to buy it anyway. I am a devoted Catholic Christian, and I take no issue with this song. You know why? Because it is not directly about God. It does not mention any particular god. Most would just to the assumption of the Christian/Jewish/Islamic God, and if you do, let's look at what that implies. The song makes a metaphor out of it. It is merely implying that there are times that were dark enough in the veins of history (or pages if you prefer more classical analogies) that one might be led to believe that God fell asleep or at least wasn't paying much attention. You know what? It's an understandable conclusion. Not everyone is an extremely devoted religious person. Some people (actually, I'd go as far as to say the vast majority) have doubts now and then as far as God goes. This song merely addresses those doubt. And you know what? It even says that it's time to 'make things right'. To restore things as God intended, one might conclude. This song leave it open to interpretation. I myself see it as pressing on despite doubts of God, much like Mother Theresea. If you see it otherwise, then that is merely your interpretation. But arguements about a poetic work like a piece of music are rather... pointless. Every person interprets a work slightly different than another. I'm sure not everyone sees this piece of music as I do. Thusly, we aren't even arguing about the same work, so to speak, because we all have our own versions of it. The lyrics are interpretted differently.

Sorry for wall of text, but I felt the need to say it. Also, great song, awesome both muscially and lyrically, and Muse rocks!

Wow, just chill | Reviewer: Manuel | 3/17/08

Honestly, and this is just referring to the other comments, why are you guys talking about religion? It is a song, not a psalm. Just enjoy the song and go "Ooh, aah!" like a good commentor. Excuse me, reviewer.

I agree with the comment below this. | Reviewer: Maddi..x | 3/17/08

The christian god IS a scary thing!! BUT not god itself....the effect it has on people who choose to believe or not to believe. Religion is the cause of all the terrorism and bulshit in this world....its destroying us!
Christians live there lives preparing to die. Where as me, MUSIC is my religion!! I enjoy life as it comes and the only thing i preach to people is about great music. LIVE YOUR LIFE n enjoy a song created by one of the best bands ever, instead of worrying that god will smyte you if u like it.
And for that josh bloke....learn to be open to lifes critisisms, you wont get far in life if ur not.

MUSE MUSE MUSE...I LOVE MUSE!!

Bear | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/13/08

Great song. And personally, I truly hope that God doesn't exist or that he has at least fallen asleep. Because the Christian God is a terrible and vengeful creature who scares the crap out of me.

Right.. | Reviewer: Bvz | 3/12/08

Firstly, saying God doesnt necesarily mean its the Christian god. Secondly, if it is, that really doesnt mean you shouldnt like the song because you're an athiest. So it say God one, time, WHO CARES? IF you dont like this song because of that, then you are an ignorant fool who cant see past his/her prejudices to just enjoy this song.

btw my religion, or lack thereof, really is not important and has little influence on this comment... Muse rock, get over the so-called religious comments in this song.

stupid people who take offense to this song | Reviewer: V | 2/29/08

God falling asleep on the job is a metaphor and a damn good one so all you dumbass Christians that find it offensive even though it is just a metaphor can print these lyrics and shove them where gods sun don't shine. i have Christian friends who seem a lot smarter than you and they love this song.

SONG OF THE DECADE | Reviewer: Misael | 2/17/08

I've heard this song for the very first time after i got the cd, when it was realeased. I must said that overall the album is a wonderfull work, the kind of work that only Muse is able to do. A real fan doesn't find comparations between album and album, and this song is the proof.

It does´t matter if you´ve listened this song first on GH3, only and only if after doing that you've search on internet or went to a record store and get as much as you can on muse's work.

This song is for me... the song of the decade, i waited six years to really connect with the new millenium in the music scene.