Reviews for Hold Me Down Lyrics

Performed by Motion City Soundtrack

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 1/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

Straight-forward song. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/4/11

I'm pretty sure it's quite obvious that the letter in the song was from her to him. It seems as if she feels stuck. Like her life isn't going anywhere while being with him. And yeah, it does look like it's "Hold Me Down" as in "You're holding me back,". She feels that she could be a lot more than what she is without him by her side. And she needs time to get her priorities straight. I thought it was all pretty straight-forward. But apparently, others did not. There doesn't seem to be a hidden meaning, guys.



<3<3 | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/13/11

You can take the song anyway that you want to. Obviously none of you know the real message behind the song. Don't insult each other, its all a matter of how you take it when you listen to it.
Don't be so rude!

On a side note, I love this song. <3



Heartache | Reviewer: Chassereau | 5/25/11

I find myself never wanting to listen to this song. Because it was mine and my ex-girlfriends favorite song for each other. It means more and more to me everytime I hear it. She used me, but I love her so much



reflects difficulties of breaking up? | Reviewer: Dmk 28 | 8/7/10

The song in my opinion reflects the difficulties which people face when they feel they need to end a relationship, in particular when they are involved with someone they fell is everything to them.

Notice the way in which the line 'How will I break the news to you?' is repeated a total of 7 times in the the song, as well how the lines follow the string of metaphors describing the person 'echos of my everything' and 'metaphors i can't create to comprehend this curse that I call love.' This shows the turmoil and confusion of the person doing the breaking up. They recognize the person they are with as being a huge part of their world, and thus can't think of how they will end the relationship.

The repetition of the line 'you hold me down' reflects the view of the person ending the relationship that they need to be free of anything that restricts their potential, even if that means ending a wonderful relationship.

For the record, I am a fan Motion city soundtrack and I am a straight male.



ROFLMAO! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/19/10

First, i am a gay guy and i LOVE MCS. You dont have to be straight to like music about love. Second, CLEARLY it is the girl who wrote the letter... not the guys, hence him saying "I found a letter" not "I wrote a letter".... Its a break-up song, not a deep, hidden message in there.... Take the song for what it really is.



mcs pwns | Reviewer: axelbassftw | 5/21/10

hell no you guysarent the only straightm ales that listen to mcs. i love them so much, and i also love girls. me and my other guy friends all lvoe motion city soundtrack, one of us willstart singing a song and we will all start singing it along. nothing beats motion city soudntrack on any occasion. What would a gay guy find in mcs anyways? its only good if you have real emotions about girls to relate it with



Got me thinking... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/27/10

I find these reviews very interesting...I always thought of "Hold Me Down" as being in a positive way, and not as in "holding me back" Hmmmm....
At the very least, I'm pretty sure the song is about having to tell someone that you really care about that you need some time away...
Anyways, great song, and I love MCS!!



i agree with the wow statment | Reviewer: Kyle | 12/21/09

I listen to mcs and im also straight but some people are missing the point to this song. one person thinks its a guy that wrote the letter. and its not about taking time to fall back into love. i cant believe how you miss the meaning to the song. its all about the struggles of a relationship and a bad one at that. so stop looking so deeply into the meaning of this song and just appreciate it for what it is.



amazing | Reviewer: Kristen keighley | 11/20/09

this song is my favorite by MCS. They are definitely my favorite band. i think the meaning of this song is pretty obvious. but it is by far the most beautiful and meaningful song i think MCS has written. I'm now looking into getting this portion of the song tattooed on me

You're the echoes of my everything,
You're the emptiness the whole world sings at night.
You're the laziness of afternoon,
You're the reason why I burst and why I bloom.
You're the leaky sink of sentiment,
You're the failed attempts I never could forget.
You're the metaphors I can't create to comprehend this curse that I call love..

my favorite part of the song, it gets me everytime. i figure this will be a meaningful tattoo that i willl not regret.



wow | Reviewer: eli | 3/2/09

am i the only straight male that listens to motion city soundtrack. your all fgts. gayest reviews ive ever read. "endless application of this song" "girls want guys to hold them down" blah blah. you people make me sick




Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 1/ 4