ACTUALLY, it is based on the Bible | Reviewer: Peter | 8/13/08

Actually, there is one lyric in particular with a specific connection to scripture:

"A person looks at the outward appearance, but God looks at the heart." -- I Samuel 16:7

Yes, Lord... You search much deeper within, through the way things appear. You're looking into my heart!

Of course, if you're willing to look, the song has numerous other sentiments based on soundly biblical principles.

a personal song between you and God | Reviewer: vera | 8/3/08

I'm a singer at my church, I have been in choir groups from elementary to high school and honestly I can say that this song reminds me of why I sing at my church...It's more than a song...It's the recognition that there is a greater purpose to singing.
This song and many others allow you to come and bring it all to God, because anyone can sing hymns, but that doesn't mean they are closer to God because of it, but when you can just speak words that come from the heart you too are bringing your own song and if it is directed to God you are becoming a true worshiper...read Psalms 96:1 it says "Sing to the Lord a new song...(4)For great is the Lord and Wothy of praise,..." anything and everything we do in His name is Praise and Worship and God wants us to be true worshipers he says so in john 4:23 and 24 that he is seeking true worshipers that will worship him in spirit and in truth...
I bless all of the ones that don't accept that God wants us to bring him new songs that God himself be the one to lead you to aceptance.
And all of you that are bringing new offering with all your heart don't give up even when it seems pointless...

God loves all of you and his mercy will endure forever

Holy Spirit | Reviewer: Angela | 7/27/08

I heard this song for the first time during our second worship last Thursday at YFC. I didn't know its lyrics, how to sing it, but I just felt others singing it, then tears came to my eyes. Although nothing from the Bible was quoted, it is obvious that it is for God. God only looks at your heart when you sing; you don't need to quote the Bible although it will be better to do so.

God looks at what's in our hearts | Reviewer: Aunj | 7/27/08

I heard this song for the first time during our second worship last Thursday at YFC. I didn't know its lyrics, how to sing it, but I just felt others singing it, then tears came to my eyes. Although nothing from the Bible was quoted, it is obvious that it is for God. God only looks at your heart when you sing; you don't need to quote the Bible although it will be better to do so.

uplifting worship song | Reviewer: delphine | 7/25/08

From the first time my brother played this song i knew it would be one of my best worship songs. God requires heart felt praise,and i am sure that does not mean reciting Bible verses only. This song is just an excellent piece of work that i believe has helped many people get closer to God- even experience His presence.

For that, I applaud it. God bless everyone who realises the essence of true worship!!

awsome song | Reviewer: mickii | 7/15/08

This song is all about the Bible, because it is about making Him 1st. We want to make it all about us, but real worship is about making Him 1st in our lives. This is a song of repentance, turning to Him, a depth of Love and commitment.

agreement with Glenda | Reviewer: LaToya | 6/29/08

I would like to agree with Glenda. This song may be simple and not directly based on a quotation of the scripture but it does have meaning.

with regards to Chris, he comments have only demonstrated his limited ability to comprehend and a personal blockage to what is an inspiring meditational musical item.

. | Reviewer: abraham | 3/16/08

though this is a simple song, the meaning within it is so touching.. it does not matter whatever the song is, biblical or not. the only one that God wants to see from you is your heart, your heart of worship.

everything we do, let's do it for our Father in Heaven. God bless you

Response to Chris' comments | Reviewer: Glenda | 2/17/08

This reply is in response to the comments posted by Chris. I, too, love hymns, especially "Great is Thy Faithfulness," "A Mighty Fortress is Our God," "It is Well With My Soul," "O Love Divine, What Hast Thou Done," "O For A Thousand Tongues to Sing," and on and on. I also love Psalms and other portions of Scripture set to music. There is; however, room for more. Ephesians 5:18-20 speaks of psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Even in Bible times; apparently, there was some distinction made among the three. I have a degree in voice, so I love to sing. I have also studied the Bible a great deal. In my single years, I often spent entire days, or groups of days, immersed in Bible reading, study, and memorization, so I have a great love for the sound theological teachings contained in many of the old hymns. I also know; however, that there have been heated discussions about changes in the type of music used in churches going back many generations. If no one had been willing to let each successive generation add to the styles (right down to the types of chord formations considered acceptable) we could still be singing exclusively Gregorian Chant in church each Sunday.

That doesn't mean that no care should be exercised in the choosing of musical styles or the content of lyrics, but to use a crude word to describe this song shows a poor understanding of it and just plain unkindness. There are concepts present in this song, as in many Christian songs, that are very Scriptural without being an exact quotation of a verse or passage. Certainly, the truth that Jesus should be at the heart of our worship, publicly and privately, is in agreement with the Bible. The fact that God sees us as we truly are, in a way that others cannot (and sometimes even we ourselves cannot or often will not) see us is in agreement with Scripture. The fact that Jesus is our King and is of endless worth must not be denied and is definitely appropiate content for a spiritual song. True also is the fact that God wants more than just a song (or a burnt offering or other particular action - see I Corinthians 13). The confession by this particular songwriter that sometimes, after the public experience of singing has faded away, he is left alone before God, with his soul laid bare and the realization that his deepest longing is to offer up something of beauty to God, however feeble his attempts may be qualifies as neither small-minded nor uneducated. He confesses, as well, that public worship can hold many distractions. How many of us allow our thoughts to wander at various points in a church service away from the song being sung or the sermon being preached. Being "up front" in a choir, singing or playing a solo, etc. can offer a whole different set of distractions.

absolutely nothing to do with Bible | Reviewer: Chris | 1/29/08

This, like many other contemporary songs, has absolutely nothing to do with anything from the Bible. Quality hymns printed in traditional hymnbooks are based on biblical texts set to music. This is made up crap from a small and uneducated mind.

luv Him | Reviewer: rowena | 1/28/08

all i can say about this song is that it simply praises God, more than it, it is just a prayer of a sinful being to his God in a humble manner...i cant express how much this song touches my noy only when i hear itbut also when i sing it...

life changing words | Reviewer: witness | 1/26/08

this song is wonderful indeed,it actual teaches how the saviour worth,and if u really mean the words while singing,i know it will b like a smellling of sweet aroma in heaven.glory b to God forever and ever

anonimus | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/21/08

i really love this song. when i lead prais and worship with my church you cant but help to close your eyes and just listen to the words. buteful song
PRAIS THE LORD!

overplayed. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/16/07

love the song, it's just WAY overplayed.
kinda lost it's meaning after awhile.

it really has a good message, though.

A great song indeed !!!!!!!!!!!!! | Reviewer: gracious | 11/16/07

ths song makes me cry
a wonderful song indeed
i can just feel GOD is by my side
GOD bless michael w smith