meaning | Reviewer: abby_ownz_emos | 4/3/09

the song was written with a certain meaning behind it and it is important to know it....but i also believe that James would not mind at all if the listener can relate the song in a way that makes it entirely personal to them....it is important to know James' story...but the great thing about any song is that you can look at the lyrics, and relate it to something that's entirely you!! im a singer/songwritter and i for one would want the listener to know my story, but also have it be as if the song was written for them!!!

METALLICA IS THA BOMB.COM!!!!!! (AND THIS SONG IS SOOO DEEP!!:)

the unforgiven | Reviewer: eh | 3/31/09

Like all music the artist is expressing themselves in their song hoping we will understand their point of view. But we should also keep in mind that we can express the songs meaning differently inside ourselves. So we can all find a different meaning to a song and be right this is art not math.

Great Song, But All of You Are Wrong | Reviewer: Doug | 3/18/09

the song is about james hetfield's childhood and how they kept him away from the world. He even said in an interview that the song was written about how he couldnt forgive his parents for what they did to him!

New blood joins this earth
(He is born)
And quickly he's subdued
(taken in immediatly)
Through constant pained disgrace
The young boy learns their rules
(Goes through learning his parents rules)

With time the child draws in
This whipping boy done wrong
Deprived of all his thoughts
The young man strugggles on and on he's known

(Learns parents rules, deprived of childhood and never really given a chance at life)

A vow unto his own
That never from this day
His will they'll take away-eay

(wont give up)

What I've felt
What I've known
Never shined through in what I've shown
Never be
Never see
Won't see what might have been
What I've felt
What I've known
Never shined through in what I've shown
Never free
Never me
So I dub thee UNFORGIVEN

(Didnt live up to potential, wont see what might have been, cant be himself so he lables his parents unforgiven)

Do some research before commenting!!! i saw some shit about it being about someone who had success stolen from them and

"The boy passes his love to his friends or girlfriend, looking for a shelter"

WTF!!!!

What can I say? | Reviewer: Rikki | 2/20/09

Well..... What can I say about this song?
Actually... This song explains my life in a nutshell! I'd recommend this song to ANYONE who is in a similar situation in life to me...

But on the other hand.... Listening to this song quite a lot lately, it's somewhat helping me with getting on in life, and it's also helping me to change my life around.....

Metallica Rocks!!!

What I Think | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/17/09

I believe it's about somebody who as a child was bullied and pushed around, always trying to serve up to the people that knocked him down. Later in life he's still in the frame of mind that he's nothing and has to serve his 'betters', making him the bitter man he is - so bitter he doesn't care any more. As an old man he realizes all his mistakes and dubs his enemies 'unforgiven', blaming them for everything wrong that's happened to him and giving his manifesto; no longer will the world tread on me, I'm going out with dignity.

a2eow | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/13/09

you're wrong its not about a guitarist
and it was the bassist that died in metallica
and the replacement left 10 years after this song was written.. please actually know something about the song before you comment

It's about a guy who never really takes advantage of certain situations, never really takes chances. Then, later on in his life, he regrets not having done anything with his life, so he dubs the rest of the world the 'unforgiven'.- James Hetfield (writer of the song)

the real truth | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/5/09

the song is about the guitarist that quit the band. when the original one died a new one joind and like they treated him like shit and so he quit because he was horrased to much like they were ass holes to this guy and thats what all the unforgins are about....but i will say i relate to this song as well. my life sucks.

What I think | Reviewer: Fred | 1/31/09

I think this song is about a young boy who has lived under a communist controlled area for his when finally relizes his whole life has been a waste and he should have tried to escape. (That's what my teacher had to do belive it or not) But anyways the is really good morale wise and sound wise.

My life as well.. | Reviewer: heidi | 1/27/09

This song has strong meaning to me, because I can relate perfectly. To me, I picture the boy being born into an extremely religious family, but the boy doesn't share the same faith his family does. His family is strict and try to control his actions & thoughts, and though he tries his hardest to fit in and believe the same way, he knows he never will. But.. he knows if he is himself, they will ostracize him even more, so he does his best to pretend and please all of them.. his family.. the church.. and the rest of society. The whole theme and title of this song, "unforgiven" makes me think the song is strongly tied to religion and the belief in God.

The boy constantly suppresses who he truly is in order to satisfy his family. "What I've felt, what I've known, never shined through what I've shown. Never free, never me.." He always feels trapped, because he can never be himself or express his true thoughts & emotions.

Then, as he becomes an old man, he realizes it was silly of him to hide his true self just to please others.. and that he wasted his entire life trying to be someone he was not. He wasted his gifts & talents, and now he regrets not living his life the way he would've liked. He wonders what life would've been like for him, if he did things his own way.. "Want to see what I might have been."

No song has better expressed my feelings more than this one has..

how i see it | Reviewer: shaaanonnnn | 1/26/09

a boy who goes through his whoole life living up to other peoples standards. never sure of hisself and its eating him alive and he never shows it. then as he gets older toward the end of his life hes full of regret realizing that waswent the right way to be and he should of been living for himself instead of everyone else and its to late.

My life is pretty similiar | Reviewer: Ricardo | 1/4/09

In my point of view, probably a bit imparcial because I identify too much with this song, it goes like this:

New blood joins this earth
And quickly he's subdued
Through constant pained disgrace
The young boy learns their rules

It's about a boy who knows how the rules of love the hard way by its family, in the early years.

With time the child draws in
This whipping boy done wrong
Deprived of all his thoughts
The young man strugggles on and on he's known
A vow unto his own
That never from this day
His will they'll take away-eay

Then in the latter, the boy begins to make his mistakes and the family pushes him around, labeling him as a child and immature person, they censor him contantly, but he does not give up.

They dedicate their lives
To RUNNING all of his
He tries to please THEM all
This bitter man he is
Throughout his life the same
He's battled constantly
This fight he cannot win
A tired man they see no longer cares
The old man then prepares
To die regretfully
That old man here is me

What I've felt
What I've known
Never shined through in what I've shown
Never be
Never see
Won't see what might have been
What I've felt
What I've known
Never shined through in what I've shown
Never free
Never me
So I dub thee UNFORGIVEN

The boy passes his love to his friends or girlfriend, looking for a shelter, but he his once again, shunned by his mistakes, and left behind. He knows he cannot win against himself and gives up, ready to die alone. He was never forgiven by anyone, hence the Unforgiven.

Sadly, my life was like this, but that's another story :)

It's about passage through life. | Reviewer: Pratik | 12/18/08

This song is about going through life and being disillusioned by how cold the world really is.

You are born and are basically lied to as a child, being told that if you are a good person good things will come to you and that life is meant to be enjoyed.

You then grow up and realize that something is deathly wrong, and see that the real world is far from the world you learned about in your younger years.

As you grow older, you don't care about the world anymore because you've seen how cold and brutal it is... people get away with crimes, love does not conquer all, and you've had to give up your dreams just to survive from day to day.

Then you die regretfully, knowing that you haven't lived life to your fullest because you were constantly oppressed and forced to take the lower road.

You've seen people rewarded for murder, thievery, dishonesty, hypocrisy while you tried to do the right thing and were punished for it in the end.



I'm 26 years old and believe I've been in the "old man" phase for roughly four to five years now. What I've learned is this: you can only take what you can and leave nothing for anyone else. Do whatever you have to because no one will have sympathy for you in any case.

who is unforgiven? | Reviewer: scotty | 12/12/08

The young man has withdrawn his talent from society for the unforgivable sin of punishing success (his success is stolen from him). That is why they will not be or see what the mans talent could have contributed. He is exercising free will, which cannot be forced. His regret is that society at large did not appreciate his talent and allow him to enjoy his success, and are thus deprived of it by his choice. This is eerily familiar to themes and characters in Ayn Rands books - especially John Galt.

What it means | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/24/08

The guy is born into a controlling and dysfunctional family and for a time tries to please everyone and they will never accept the whipping boy (scapegoat) as one of them. He tries but realizes he can never win and so leaves them all behind on the day he swears his oath.
Many years later he looks back at his choice and knows what will 'never be' and what he will 'never see' (acceptance from his family). That is the prison, to be trapped wondering what-if. Then the old man prepares to die regretfully. Its very deep actually and sad.

The Unforgiven I (another vision about the song) | Reviewer: WisdomSkull | 11/12/08

I see this song like this --- a child who's growing up, in a society where everyone puts the weight on him and/or ostracize him from their community, but they still use him for their ideas... and the boy struggles to become independent and then he cuts every connection with the others at the ending, becoming an old man that regrets that he didn't live like the others.. the connection cut can be a sign to show that he doesn't need them anymore, altough they still need him.. the light can represent his liberty, but because of being old, he dies without enjoying freedom... btw, in the normal version and in the long version, there's a poster at the entrance..I think that's his fake personality (and face), because in the long version he shows "fuck you"-s behind that poster...and in the both versions, that poster is ripped off at the ending, maybe the old man was able to show the new personality he had made before he saw the light