creeping death | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/29/10

was looking for the lyrics to this song because. my band wants to cover it and didnt realize there is a "review" or "comment" section. I have to say the comments are so interesting it made me laugh and actually made me want to write a comment. All i can say, is to the guy who mentioned 10 commandments, the song is about the new iPAD. its like Moses 10 commandments, only cooler! lol i just love the haters who write shit in Metallica related media esp youtube. haha! cheers!

METALLICA FAN | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/13/10

ok first, there was no christianity in that time only the jewish, christianity came after jesus CHRIST die in the cross, so that is in the new testament. also moses has hebrew @ that time the pharoh was killing the new born hebrews so his mother put him in a basket and send him down the nile where the sister of the pharoh found him and kept him as her baby, then long after that he killed a soldier and have to leave egypt and then send by god he came back to egypt to free his people. so again NO CHRISTIANITY AT THAT TIME!

It's about a Charlton Heston Movie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/5/09

wow, glad you guys could clear this up. I was convinced that this song was about that Charlton Heston movie - Planet of the apes. I thought it was about the scene where he tells the head ape to set his people free or he'll kill all of them and destroy the statue of liberty and they will be plagued by toads. There is a big chariot race in the movie too and then a giant Tsunami destroys all the chariots. I was way off. Aparently it is about the NRA and gun rights.

bob | Reviewer: bob | 12/5/09

"Why does everyone feel the need to dissect every lyric written, ESPECIALLY those written in this particular genre?? And I think it's pretty clear what the song's about -- no need to copy in all of Exodus followed by an analytical essay. And, yes, James' parents were very religious Christian Scientists. Anyone who's watched Some Kind Of Monster could tell you that. Can't anyone just listen to a damn song anymore and NOT try to find it's meaning and the entire complete fucking background of the person who wrote it?? "
What the fuck are you doing on a lyrics interpretation site? What did you expect to find?

Great song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/2/09

I love metallica and I am a christian and the band members from metallica are catholic I like to listen to songs like this that have faith in and ones that you can rock out to metallica has granted that wish in one song. I love this song!!!

It's just a song with a cool story, but since y'all are trying to get the story right... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/1/09

There are no "Christians" in this story, because Christ wasn't even born yet - not for hundreds of years. Moses followed the same God who sent Christ to the earth, but the Jewish religion followed another path later when they refused to believe that Jesus Christ was the Messiah. Moses and Christ were on the same team, though. And yes, he was not Pharoah's son. He was a Jew.

Moses was not the son of a Pharo | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/16/09

Wow, you had me believing Dan, until you mention that Moses is a first born Pharoes son?? He was born out of a hebrew slave and sent off in a basket where the Pharoes sister found him and took him in as her own son. I'm by no means a religious freak, but I've seen the movie many times and understand the story from reading a little too.

Metallica is great, I think a metal band singing about the story is kick @$$ and wouldn't expect others to try this and succeed. It's a pretty old song, glad to see others like it, I just happened on to this site to find the lyrics to show somebody Metallica really did write a song about Moses and the Angel of Death.

THIS SONG IS ABOUT.... | Reviewer: Dan | 10/24/09

this song is about moses/passover. and also to the guy who thinks moses was christian he isnt this is a jewish story about moses trying to get all the slaves(hence the first word of the song)to leave egypt which the pharoah wasnt letting be done. moses is the first born pharoahs son(but was sent away so he wouldnt be killed) so its not christian

WHO realy CAreS | Reviewer: BB | 9/14/09

Anyone wiht half a brain will know what the song is baout you take what you want from it and i don't think the Boys in the bankd realy care just as long as you like, love or hate it. The things is you are playing it and you are using you mind to thing on it!!!! love the music

Cliff Inspired | Reviewer: Ryan | 8/20/09

This song was inspired by the movie 'The Ten Commandments". During the scene when the Angel of Death appears (as a giant green cloud) cliff had commented that it looked like "creeping Death" which is what gave the song its title. The song itself however was originally called Die by the Sword. written by Kirk when he played for the band Exodus. After leaving Exudos to join Metallica Kirk kept the music but the title and lyrics were obviously changed. Creeping Death was born. And yes... Its about the life of Moses. Creeping Death is the plauge, or otherwise known as the Angel of Death who was sent to kill all the first born children. Moses told the Jews to paint there front doors with lambs blood and all there children would be spared, he did not tell the chistians this however. And so the Pharoes son was killed.

I agree with Guy below me | Reviewer: Josh | 8/9/09

It's obviously about the Story about Mosus, i'm not Christian so I don't know exactly what it is but yer it is about that, if you are to argue that Metallica don't talk about religion in any of their songs then you clearly have never heard of the album Kill Em All of which about 3/4 of the songs are about Christian storys or concepts.

It really doesn't matter at all though, i'm Atheist and this is my 2nd favourite song; Ride the lightning being first.

Even though it's about a Christian story it's not written to enforce Christianity and most of the band members in metallia only loosly believe in religion.

My God, this is ridiculous... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/24/09

Why does everyone feel the need to dissect every lyric written, ESPECIALLY those written in this particular genre?? And I think it's pretty clear what the song's about -- no need to copy in all of Exodus followed by an analytical essay. And, yes, James' parents were very religious Christian Scientists. Anyone who's watched Some Kind Of Monster could tell you that. Can't anyone just listen to a damn song anymore and NOT try to find it's meaning and the entire complete fucking background of the person who wrote it??

"TOTENKOPF" | Reviewer: Devonzig | 7/13/09

No, that isnt what was on Kirk's shirt. That was the Captain Harlock skull. Glenn Danzig also wore that tshirct. He was a manga/anime character from the 50's. Chill out and lay of my 'tallica, or youre just gonna have a lot of pissed off baby killing, switchblade toting, beer guzzling, hell raising metal heads wanting to rape your mother.

it's only about religion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/12/09

yeah, i know metallica don't have the need to talk about religion, but what the hell? they simply liked the story and said: 'okay, our next song will be about this'

this is about religion, metallica rulez, jonas brothers suck cocks AND NOTHING ELSE MATTERS!

Re: Anonymous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/6/09

sorry dude but that is horseshit. You can intrepret the song however you want but I think the correlation between Hetfields religious/conservative background is more palatable and closer to the 'definite testimony' than the anti-semitic shit youre harping about and stronger proof than what a bunch of adloscents may/may have not worn on a gig. Stop trying to over intellectualize a song written about an Exodus story and hijacking it with your political vendetta.