BEFORE BIBLIC HOLOCAUST | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/4/09

THE LYRICS OF THIS SONG IS VERY RELATIVE ACCORDING TO THE TIMES WE LIVE, I AGREE THERE ARE A LOT OF COINCIDENCES WITH THE EXODUS BIBLIC WRITTINGS BUT THIS IS NOT A DEFINITIVE TESTIMONY.

IF WE THINK A BIT ABOUT IT, ON THIS TIMES JUDAISM IS HAVING A VERY DIFFERENT REALITY, IS NOT THE SAME AS THE PAST. WE CAN FIND IN THE LYRICS OF THIS SONG, AN ANTI-SEMITIC AND SOMETHING PROFETIC AGAINST ZIONISM, WHY?

BECAUSE IF WE APPLY LYRICS IN THIS TIME, THEN THAT WILL BE SOMETHING ANACHRONICAL, INSTEAD WE MUST INTERPRETATE WORDS AND READ THROGH LINES.

*ANGELS OF DEATH* OR *CREEPING DEATH* FROM THE MODERN EDGES AND ERA, COULD BE THE EXCECUTORS OF THE JEW HOLOCAUS. (KILLING THE FIRST SON OF THE PHARAOH, COULD BE INTERPRETED AS KILLING THE FIRST SON OF THE POLITICAL JEWISH EMPIRE)

THIS ARE A VERY RELATIVE LYRICS, AND EVEN MORE IF WE SAY THAT METALLICA WAS A *CONTEMPORANEUS* BAND OR THAT THEY USED TO WEAR TOTENKOPF ON THEIR T-SHIRTS IN THEIR FIRST GIGS, PLUS THEY DOESNT HAD THE NEED TO TELL BIBLIC STORIES ON THEY LYRYCS.

EVERYTHING IS RELATIVE.


Little Diddy about Good and Evil (Book of Exodus) | Reviewer: Yah has given | 11/5/08

Ahhh the beautiful story of the Death Angel passing over...

The lyrical author of this song writes skillfully in the 1st person from two different perspectives. First from the Office of Moses and Second from the office of the Death Angel.

Song's Origins | Reviewer: chuck | 6/27/08

The middle section of the song is from a song called "Die By His Hand" Kirk Hammett had wrote while he was with the band "Exodus" (Ironic?). In its entirety the song gets it's inspiration from the movie "The Ten Commandments". As the band was watching it Cliff Burton, fascinated by the depiction of the angel of death in the movie referred to him as "Creeping Death". The rest is history.

Great song, some background info on the meaning of the lyrics.... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/28/08

The lyrics to this song talk about the biblical story of how Moses freed the Hebrew people from slavery in Egypt. It can be found in the book of Exodus, in the Bible. I personally wonder what inspired Metallica to write this song, I'm not sure if any of them are Jewish, Christian, Catholic, or religious in any way. Though I do believe James Hetfield's parents were quite religious, so maybe he grew up with this story, as I did. It is one of the most famous stories of the Bible.




"Land of Goshen" is supposed to be the land in Egypt where the Hebrews lived while the biblical figured Joseph was still alive (it was he who brought them there). After Joseph's death, the Pharaohs who never met Joseph in life eventually enslaved the Hebrews.


The lines of the song seem to be spoken in many different points of view. Some from Moses, some from God, and some from the Angel of Death. "Let my people go" is said by Moses, whereas the main chorus of the song is by the Angel of Death, or "Creeping Death" as Metallica names it.

"Go, I will be with thee" is said from God to Moses, when he commanded him to return to Egypt, to the Pharaoh and command him that the Hebrew people should be set free. God spoke to Moses through an ever burning bush, hence "bush of fire"

After the Pharaoh did not set the Hebrews free, Moses, through God, cast several plagues upon Egypt. Several of them are noted in the lyrics of the song: "Blood! Running red and strong down the Nile" refers to the very first plague, which turned all water in Egypt into blood. "Plague! Darkness three days long, hail to fire" refers to one of the last plagues, which cast Egypt in darkness for 3 days.

The last stanza in the song is dedicated to the last, and worst plague Moses cast on Egypt: The death of the First-borns:

"I! Rule the midnight air, the destroyer
Born! I shall soon be there, deadly mass
I! Creep the steps and floor, final darkness
Blood! Lambs blood painted door, I shall pass"

In the last plague, the Angel of Death is sent to Egypt, who smites all first born children in the land. In the song, (though not in the Bible, I believe) Metallica call the Angel "Creeping Death." To protect the Hebrews from the Creeping Death, they were to slaughter a lamb, and use it's blood to paint their doors before they went to sleep. When the angel flew by their house, if it saw the blood's sheep, the Angel passed and no one within was harmed. The Pharaoh himself had a son, and he was killed. It was then that Pharaoh finally set the Hebrews free.

The main chorus of the song is sung from the Angel's point of view, depicting his goal "I'm sent here by the chosen one - To kill the first born Pharaoh's son"

The Meaning of the song | Reviewer: Damla | 3/16/08

Here is a little background (I learned this in college religion class, and yes I got an A+ on the test):
When Egypitans came in power, Hebrews were opressed and had to work as slaves. The Egypitan king gave out an order saying whenever a Hebrew baby was born, he had to be killed...so when Moses (Jewish) was born, his mother hid him for 3 months and then put him on a floating boat in Nile River. Egyptians found him and adopted him (not knowing he was Jewish). When he was about 40 years old, he saw an Egyptian treating a Hebrew badly and killed the guy...someone witnessed to the event so Moses had to be punished...to avoid it, Moses fled to some other country. One day, he saw a bush burning nonstop and went over there to see what was going on. A voice started speaking to him; it was God. God told Moses to go back to Egypt to free his people, Hebrews. Moses refused so in order to persuade him, God revealed his personal name (Yahweh) to Moses but that was not enough to persuade Moses, either...so Gold told him then, Moses' brother, Aaron (a priest) should do it on behalf of him...this showed the voice that spoke to him was indeed God...so Aaron and Moses went back to Egypt in hopes of freeing Hebrews...of course, Egyptian King didnt like this...so to break the king's resistance, Moses put a plague named 10th plague on Egpytians. According to the plague, the first born Egyptian was going to be dead or born dead...Egyptians saw that the plague was valid when the angel of death killed the first born of the Egyptian king...furthermore, while the angel of death was passing over houses, she/he didnt harm Hebrews but only Egyptians (this day is known as passa (passing over) today...upon this, the king decided to free Hebrews on July the 4th...this is also known as EXODUS in history. However, the king, later, changed his mind and sent his army after the Hebrews...Moses parted the sea so his people could get through and while Egyptians tried, they drowned and died.

Wrong Lyrics | Reviewer: Metlovah | 1/1/08

lol, i thought is was "so many retards, so let me die" but actually it was "so let it be written, so let it be done" xD

Song Origin | Reviewer: Whoever | 12/6/07

The lyrics are actually a direct reference to Jewish theology, not christian. Look up Moses and the 10 plague if you actually care what its about. Plague #10, death, which slew every firstborn son in Egypt. Its an interesting story if nothing else.

creeping death | Reviewer: kirk hammet | 12/6/07

man kewl...this is the best metallica song..i mean see the lyrics n nd amazin riffs nd kewl solo by kirk..man not only kirk rules..metallica for life..!!!

imviking | Reviewer: david | 11/19/07

metallicaforever this song isnt about egyptian mythologie its about some bibledude.....and powerslave rules but it has nothing to do with vreeping death

Omg | Reviewer: Henke | 11/13/07

I had no idea what this song was about, mainly cause I couldn't hear wtf he was singing, so I googled it, and with the full lyrics to it + the amazing riff this song is one of the best metallica songs...

Rox | Reviewer: Metallica4Ever | 10/23/07

This song is really good, lyrics are especially. there is this song by iron Maiden, 'Powerslave'. It's more like ancient egyptian mythology but kinda goes with this song in a way.

Awesome lyrics | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/3/07

Wow, the lyrics are actually based on the Book of Exodus in the Holy Bible, during the plagues but mainly the Passover. Metallica ROCKS!!!!!!!!!

Read up, Theodore! | Reviewer: Withnail | 7/27/07

Quote: "And this Metallica song is pretty much taken straight from it's theme... "

Actually, I think you'll find that film and this song are based on the Book of Exodus from an obscure publication called The Holy Bible.

About creeping death of metallica | Reviewer: Glade Clifford V. Catan | 7/11/07

its an awwesome music..,,...i head spin when i hear the music..what a fucking music......

Creeping Death movie | Reviewer: Rhys Theodore | 7/6/07

Awesome song! Metallica Rocks!
Anyway, if you want to know the exact meaning of this song, watch "The 10 Commandments". It's a 50's or 60's movie but still is freakin awesome by todays standars.. And this Metallica song is pretty much taken straight from it's theme... If you like this song, you must see the movie...