i luv this song | Reviewer: jara baby [[check-a-hoe]] | 8/17/07

this song expresses so many emotions in so little words.. it reminds me of this guy named ray who i deeply love and cherish with all my heart !! i will give tha world for him.. he is my butterfly.. he gives me butterflies.. i luv this song it is one of the best she has written

singing. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/13/07

Does Ne1 Hu Reeds These Know How ii Can Stop Singing Out Of My Nose!? i Get Told Im A Good Singer But i Know i Consistently Sing Through My Nose, [If You Know What i Mean!] & i Want To Move On With My Singing But Cant As i Now Feel Consicous About The Fact That i Dont Use My Real Voice To Sing & It Just Sounds Exactly Like The Person Hu Sings The Song!! help me pleasee!! =]

its an inspirational song... | Reviewer: leah... | 6/28/07

the song is right...
we must let go the one's we love...
for in the end if they are really ours...
they will surely return..
i cant believe I've been sharing this words... we'll maybe because I have the feeling that i should let him let go...
and just believe in whatever plans God has for us...

I finally found it! | Reviewer: Austin Muller | 6/27/07

since i was 5, i have listened to this song. this is one of my fav songs by mariah carey.

love it | Reviewer: garesha | 5/28/07

i think this song is personifiction expressing a person to a butterfly is a good way to explain your feeling love is amazing people dont know everyday your exmaple of a butterfly

Purpose of my tattoos? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/30/07

funny cause i've known this song for years. i've liked it before because of thinking that i was letting go of my first boyfriend (small butterfly). The past 2 years have been hard. I thought I found the one and even though we haven't talked in almost a year, we have been in contact somehow. Mostly cause I have been afraid to let go. Hearing this song today and me currently going through the first week of really letting him go, I realize that this day has a special meaning for me. I can't control situations or other people's feeling as much as I think it should be this way. I have let him go (my second bigger butterfly). The purpose of stating my two butterflies is cause I have 2 butterfly tattoos on my back. My small one came back (first boyfriend) and today I had a thought, what if I was meant to have these tattoos to symbolize the two butterflies that came back to me? Obviously, this is wishful thinking, but this song has made me realize that I need to let go.

Butterfly...literally taken | Reviewer: jimmy | 1/3/07

I heard that Mariah has this immense love for butterflies and such love for them is actually the whole point of the song (literally speaking). The persona apparently gives way her selfish intentions for keeping the butterflies to freeing them or letting them go to their natural habitat. Taken from an environmental conservationist point of view this song challenges those pet lovers especially those who itch in keeping endangered animals as pets.If you really care and love those animals let them live in their natural habitats for it's only their that they can be happy. Let them flutter like the freed butterfly:)

As for the figurative interpreation...well, i leave that to the guys who would review this song and express their sentiments on letting someone special go. :)

I like this song!

Lyrically Meaningful | Reviewer: Jojo | 2/18/06

I think that with this song people can actually refer to it as a song of inspiration. In the world, there are many people with this sort of distraughtness in them, and hearing this song can inspirationalize his/her soul in terms of emancipationally venturing beyond the boarders of isolation. I thing that these are the many few lyrics that are written empathatically. I give this song and lyric two thumbs up.

david | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/29/06

when I was 16 I was head over heels in love with this guy named david. But he wasn't able to date because of his parents. Well, I got put in foster care and was not able to see his glowing face ever again. i was really sad until I heard this song than I let him go and went on with my life as was. Two years later I was able to go to the church we both went to the one that we meet each other at. And we started to date, and every thing is wonderful. I think I am in love with him.

Top notch | Reviewer: Matt | 12/10/04

Lyricly this song is fantastic, the sentiment convayed is emense. Truly a great song. One of the best she's written.

Broken Hearted | Reviewer: Raspberry Kisses | 12/1/04

This song always make's me think about when I was in love with this guy,I would have moved Heaven & Earth to be with him.But after hearing this song I decided to let him go and prayed that he would come back to me.After four years of waiting we met again and we both were single, and our love couldn't have been stronger.And I thank this song for helping me let go and finding the strenth to be more appreciative of the live that I have.
XOXO,
R.K.

Broken Hearted | Reviewer: Raspberry Kisses | 12/1/04

This song always make's me think about when I was in love with this guy,I would have moved Heaven & Earth to be with him.But after hearing this song I decided to let him go and prayed that he would come back to me.After four years of waiting we met again and we both were single, and our love couldn't have been stronger.And I thank this song for helping me let go and finding the strenth to be more appreciative of the love that I have.
XOXO,
R.K.