Reviews for Leonard Cohen



By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2
Add New Review About The Artist

amen | Reviewer: johnny logan | 8/11/14

dear leonard I stumbled on to your genious not long after my parents passed on since listening to your lyrics and amazing artists Sharon,the webb sisters,dino,bob,xavio maas,neil laarson it has helped me and my dear annie get through some really difficult times.thankyou p.s have a wonderful 80th birthday nxt month.hope you have many more.love john and ann.manchester uk

many interpretations | Reviewer: piera pisani | 2/16/11

In your recent concert in Hobart did you hint that were you referring to being in therapy when you wrote 'they sentenced me to 20 yeaers of boredom for trying to change the system from within? my daughter and i had oposing views on this. just curious! thank you for the many years of pleasure. PP

Like A Bird On the Wire...I have Tried...To be Free... | Reviewer: George | 2/7/11

I'm reviewing all the lines already written by your followers, here:
Everything that everyone of them felt about your artistry, I felt, and yes just like one of them said I wish I could put in words the magnitude of the effect it has on my own humanity. The "Order Of the Heart": "Everyone will come to love but like a refugee", reflects the spirit of your works of modesty, humility and humanism, derived from the hard wormanshipr that only talent can start to create. When we admire the ceiling of the Sistine Chapell, how many times do we think about the toil of the making? With such out of this world feelings is your art touching the chords of my spirit: Him who wonder out of his pass to find a truer one is a hero for coming back to share the passage.
But not only did you enlighten so many audiences, but also performers, thorough whom the heart of your artistry are elevated magnificently: "Bird On the Wire" (Perla Batalla), "The Traitor" (Martha Wainwright), "Hallellujah" (Rufus Wainwright), the list goez on and on.
Thank you for sharing your light with so many of us, who needed it so much. God Bless.

Adelaide (Australia) concerts | Reviewer: John MacCarron | 1/30/11

had the hounor of being present at a "benidiction" concert at Day on the Green" Leconfield Winery Australia Day 2009 and again in November 2010. can only say thanks again for the old records, Songs of love and Hate etc. loved them all and seeing you in person has been a highlight of my 72 years. Missed Sharon second time around in Adelaide. Best regards John

For loss of words | Reviewer: Tamlynn | 1/25/11

I was supposed to do a project on a published poet and found you in a book of poems. I found you were Canadian and the poem I saw, For Anne,got me interested. In retrospect it was a very interesting unit and I adore your poetry

Dipping into the well of sadness and bringing up Joy | Reviewer: Carolyn | 10/24/09

The concert at Madison Square Garden was a gift beyond measure. L Cohen dips into the well of sadness that affects every mortal and he brings up buckets of Joy by virture of his generous and loving application of his amazing talent. Thank you for the miracles you craft for those of us for whom stammering is the native tongue. Thank you for bringing together the talented musicians that so richly augment your poetry, the result is an amazing grace.

love is the only engine of survival | Reviewer: majid rezaee | 10/11/09

as my very dearest sir leonard cohen has mentioned in one of his songs which I listened to before.I have experienced in my life such love but unfortunatly ended in a...oh LOVE oh sometimes I have a pain in my heart....just hoping would love find all of us....with special regards your faithfully majid from Iran.

lisbon 2009 | Reviewer: margaret davies | 9/6/09

My husband introduced me to you and your music and poetry only 3 months ago, i have siince bought your Book of longing the dvd Live lin London.How i would love yo shake your hand ,maybe your next European tour will bring you to the Algarve where we live. Happy birthday Leonard ,may we have many more years of your beautiful work

Dance Me To The End Of Love | Reviewer: Jennifer Evans | 6/21/09

It is only now at aged 63 that I have stumbled upon Leonard Cohen's music and lyrics from his album London Live. Since buying the album I have listened repeatedly to it and I have deep regrets that I have never immersed myself in his lyrics before. However in the hindsight of the wisdom of my own years, this was the right time for me to absorb them as they complete my own life's experiences and philosophies and I found myself echoing and responding like for like. His lyrics speak to me of his search for the heart of the matter, the truth that lies behind the lies. His utter charisma of spirit is breathtaking. His pure unaldulterated eroticism, so beautifully crafted, raises sex to a spiritual level and seems to elevate the female to the status of goddess. He has the ability to 'see' what others only glimpse and is able to literate what he observes whilst others who might 'feel'and echo his profundities in their psyche, could never craft such deep thoughts and emotions into words and music as he does. He strikes a chord in the heart. He opens up the searching mind and reveals the vista that has been hidden by the mist. He stirs the longing to touch and know God. God bless you Leonard and thank you for enriching so many lives.

Merryweather Post Pavilion-May 11th, 2009 | Reviewer: Allyson MacIntosh | 5/12/09



Dear Mr. Leonard Cohen,

I had the privilege of coming alone and sitting up front-mid row last night- and being absolutely mesmerised by your concert- you were stupendous. It was an early birthday present to myself; of which I will keep close to my heart; always.

Your very words speak volumes to me- it was a spiritual journey if you will.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving so completely of yourself. I wish you life's many blessings, and continue to sing your praises with that 'golden voice'....

Sincerely Yours,
Allyson MacIntosh

Tower of Song | Reviewer: hank williams | 10/24/08

A lover turned me on the L. Cohen in the mid seventies. Of course I'd heard Marianne, Bird on a Wire and other tunes covered by Judy Collins and others. I have all his stuff on cd and some vinyl. I have some high quality European bootlegs, mostly concerts..I would love to see him in concert. Terri Gross interviewed him on 'Fresh Air' several years ago. I have a picture of a blackbird on a wire a friend did. As soon as I saw it at a gallery I bought it. Like it was waiting for me all these years. I have tried in my own way to be true. Thats all you can do in the tower of song called life.

A thread through my life 1972 - 2008 | Reviewer: linda | 8/31/08

I first learned of Leonard Cohen in 1972 living in a co-op at Michigan State University. His music was a "part of my 60's" that continued until 1976. I lived his music through 1972 - 1974 in college and later when I traveled to Montreal and Quebec in 1976. The feeling that his early music evokes for me will never leave.

I am now one who is a "song to aging children" ala Joni Mitchell, and a Canadian in spirit, even though I am a Michigander.

When I hear the music of L Cohen, I think of dark Montreal clubs, farm houses in Quebec and nights at MSU. I am 56 years young, but the spirit he instills will never leave me. And I still think of his "famous blue raincoat" whenever the rain falls.

Thank you Leonard.

'In My Secret Life - Lilly Rose | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/10/08

I was 17 when I first listened to Leonard Cohen -I was deeply in love with a young guy from California who came on holiday every year to Ireland - he was my first love and it was he who introduced me to Leonard's music - No we did not marry - I grew up and he went off to 'find himself' - I remember when he would return home after the long summers together I would put on an album by Leonard - I never stopped listening or loving either of them. I had one wish to go to a Leonard Cohen concert but it was not until 35 years later my wish came through.

I travelled from Cork to Dublin to see my idol for the first time last month - - words cannot describe how happy this made me feel - 'take this longing from my heart' springs to mind - the years slipped away, when Leonard recited the words of Ten thousand Kisses deep to music, I watched my son of 24 by my side, wipe the tears from his eyes - the silence was unreal - thank you Mr Leonard Cohen for one of the happiest nights of my life - God how I wish I could meet him personally - I have over the years bought all his albums - When I listen to him, Im still that 17 year old in love all those years ago - Guess you are wondering what happened to my American love - well he did come back the night, however it was the night before I married my now husband of 30 years, but he neednt worry hes still with me 'in my secret life' - From 'Lilly Rose'


'In My Secret Life - Lilly Rose | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/10/08

I was 17 when I first listened to Leonard Cohen -I was deeply in love with a young guy from California who came on holiday every year to Ireland - he was my first love and it was he who introduced me to Leonard's music - No we did not marry - I grew up and he went off to 'find himself' - I remember when he would return home after the long summers together I would put on an album by Leonard - I never stopped listening or loving either of them. I had one wish to go to a Leonard Cohen concert but it was not until 35 years later my wish came through.

I travelled from Cork to Dublin to see my idol for the first time last month - - words cannot describe how happy this made me feel - 'take this longing from my heart' springs to mind - the years slipped away, when Leonard recited the words of Ten thousand Kisses deep to music, I watched my son of 24 by my side, wipe the tears from his eyes - the silence was unreal - thank you Mr Leonard Cohen for one of the happiest nights of my life - God how I wish I could meet him personally - I have over the years bought all his albums - When I listen to him, Im still that 17 year old in love all those years ago - Guess you are wondering what happened to my American love - well he did come back the night, however it was the night before I married my now husband of 30 years, but he neednt worry hes still with me 'in my secret life' - From 'Lilly Rose'


Wow. | Reviewer: Brooke | 4/1/08

This man is awesome. I was never a serious fan of anyone before, but I think he has taken my "fan virginity". I am a twenty three year old senior undergraduate in English from Minnesota, and I like to write poetry, fiction and creative non-fiction, but I also LOVE to write tunes, lyrics and even rap. I also draw and have put together music videos and am working with my dear twin on a movie script. Before hearing of Leonard Cohen, I thought there was not another soul in the universe who was interested in doing as many things artistically as I was, much less anyone who could integrate them into a coherant and sucessful career and with such consistent quality. Then I learn this man can write great poetry, great novels, draw (as he does is his poem books),and even create good movies. Wow. Now I have hope that artistic omniscience can be accomplished, and I am not afraid to be someone who cannot be labelled. Long live Leonard Cohen. His lyrics are so sexy and poetic and his voice has got that rocky sound. If he and I had been born in the same time and place, I would probably have stalked him like Diana the Huntress. Dear Lord, luckily for him he has escaped me. Well, perhaps there are other lives.....?


Add New Review About The Artist

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 1/ 2