Reviews for Leonard Cohen



By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add New Review About The Artist

A thread through my life 1972 - 2008 | Reviewer: linda | 8/31/08

I first learned of Leonard Cohen in 1972 living in a co-op at Michigan State University. His music was a "part of my 60's" that continued until 1976. I lived his music through 1972 - 1974 in college and later when I traveled to Montreal and Quebec in 1976. The feeling that his early music evokes for me will never leave.

I am now one who is a "song to aging children" ala Joni Mitchell, and a Canadian in spirit, even though I am a Michigander.

When I hear the music of L Cohen, I think of dark Montreal clubs, farm houses in Quebec and nights at MSU. I am 56 years young, but the spirit he instills will never leave me. And I still think of his "famous blue raincoat" whenever the rain falls.

Thank you Leonard.



'In My Secret Life - Lilly Rose | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/10/08

I was 17 when I first listened to Leonard Cohen -I was deeply in love with a young guy from California who came on holiday every year to Ireland - he was my first love and it was he who introduced me to Leonard's music - No we did not marry - I grew up and he went off to 'find himself' - I remember when he would return home after the long summers together I would put on an album by Leonard - I never stopped listening or loving either of them. I had one wish to go to a Leonard Cohen concert but it was not until 35 years later my wish came through.

I travelled from Cork to Dublin to see my idol for the first time last month - - words cannot describe how happy this made me feel - 'take this longing from my heart' springs to mind - the years slipped away, when Leonard recited the words of Ten thousand Kisses deep to music, I watched my son of 24 by my side, wipe the tears from his eyes - the silence was unreal - thank you Mr Leonard Cohen for one of the happiest nights of my life - God how I wish I could meet him personally - I have over the years bought all his albums - When I listen to him, Im still that 17 year old in love all those years ago - Guess you are wondering what happened to my American love - well he did come back the night, however it was the night before I married my now husband of 30 years, but he neednt worry hes still with me 'in my secret life' - From 'Lilly Rose'




'In My Secret Life - Lilly Rose | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/10/08

I was 17 when I first listened to Leonard Cohen -I was deeply in love with a young guy from California who came on holiday every year to Ireland - he was my first love and it was he who introduced me to Leonard's music - No we did not marry - I grew up and he went off to 'find himself' - I remember when he would return home after the long summers together I would put on an album by Leonard - I never stopped listening or loving either of them. I had one wish to go to a Leonard Cohen concert but it was not until 35 years later my wish came through.

I travelled from Cork to Dublin to see my idol for the first time last month - - words cannot describe how happy this made me feel - 'take this longing from my heart' springs to mind - the years slipped away, when Leonard recited the words of Ten thousand Kisses deep to music, I watched my son of 24 by my side, wipe the tears from his eyes - the silence was unreal - thank you Mr Leonard Cohen for one of the happiest nights of my life - God how I wish I could meet him personally - I have over the years bought all his albums - When I listen to him, Im still that 17 year old in love all those years ago - Guess you are wondering what happened to my American love - well he did come back the night, however it was the night before I married my now husband of 30 years, but he neednt worry hes still with me 'in my secret life' - From 'Lilly Rose'




Wow. | Reviewer: Brooke | 4/1/08

This man is awesome. I was never a serious fan of anyone before, but I think he has taken my "fan virginity". I am a twenty three year old senior undergraduate in English from Minnesota, and I like to write poetry, fiction and creative non-fiction, but I also LOVE to write tunes, lyrics and even rap. I also draw and have put together music videos and am working with my dear twin on a movie script. Before hearing of Leonard Cohen, I thought there was not another soul in the universe who was interested in doing as many things artistically as I was, much less anyone who could integrate them into a coherant and sucessful career and with such consistent quality. Then I learn this man can write great poetry, great novels, draw (as he does is his poem books),and even create good movies. Wow. Now I have hope that artistic omniscience can be accomplished, and I am not afraid to be someone who cannot be labelled. Long live Leonard Cohen. His lyrics are so sexy and poetic and his voice has got that rocky sound. If he and I had been born in the same time and place, I would probably have stalked him like Diana the Huntress. Dear Lord, luckily for him he has escaped me. Well, perhaps there are other lives.....?



Blessing from Heven | Reviewer: lucie di angeli | 12/17/07

Leonard Cohen is the greatest singer and prophet of 21-rst century! If we would take one of his songs to be an american anthem we would have much better society right now!I am thrilled that after long "20 years of boredom" his coming back as a victor! Leonard! I am admiring you " et je tirre le chappeau" devant Vous! Lady X



everybody knows Hallelujah will be your man | Reviewer: Lane | 9/7/07

To review L Cohen might ensure that should I ever have the chance to meet him I couldn't.
I never had much trouble understanding the messenger but the message only recently caught up to me. His personae and ideal are perhaps the best example of the serious professional who happens to write so concisely that post war children listen. To hear his poems made lyric for song compels blues, rock, beat, folk, country and punk listeners to conclude that the Cohen sound is machine language for the musical brain. More and more people have admitted to having the musical brain because of Leonard Cohen. But still, to have a conversation with him..the brain runneth over.



Jesus was a sailor | Reviewer: Bob | 8/25/07

I heard Suzanne when it came out in the late 60s. I was in college and very much the rebel agnostic. His words touched a deep place in my heart that I had forgotten over the years. A few days ago that song came floating back into my consciousness as I sat in front of my screen working on a Christian poem. It still touches me deeply.



IN MY SECRET LIFE | Reviewer: jenny | 8/1/07

This is my frist listen Cohen's song,I fall in love his voice at first,I will listen more his songs,I think it's will give me more feeling.



The name Leonard Cohen was spoken frequently with reference | Reviewer: Jay G | 7/20/07

I lent Clemma my Leonard Cohen albums in 1980,
But she broke my heart and I didn't ask to get that vinyl back,
Just picked up the pieces that I could find and left.
She said I was an arrogant son of a bitch who thought he
Knew everything, thought he was better than everyone,
But I never thought I was as better than Leonard,
When he sensuously touched everything, my soul felt touched.
His words carved reality like no words I could slice.
I haven't seen her for 27 years, but I've heard
Clemma is a doctor and heals bodies now,
Leonard still touches souls.



Painter/Poet/Saint | Reviewer: Dixie | 7/17/07

First, a thank you to the writer of this biography. Leonard Cohen's poetry is equal to that of any saint in the canon of English literature: Sexton, Coleridge, Yeats, to name a very few. His life is as wild as that of Rimbaud but he does not seem hampered by viciousness. Cohen's words, for me, conjure up visions of gold & cerulean impasto paintings, as if van Gogh & Magritte had joined forces to create mural upon mural of surrealistic/impressionistic dreamscaopes. This is babble because I cannot express the fullness of my joy in living during the same 2 centuries that Leonard Cohen has inhabited. Blessings upon his head!
Dixie in Colorado




Add New Review About The Artist

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3