Reviews for The battle of evermore Lyrics

Performed by Led Zeppelin

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

Song | Reviewer: Melk | 9/23/07

Side by side does not mean Helm's Deep. That was all the movie when the elves came, in the books it doesn't happen. The elves come to Pellenor Fields but not to Helm's Deep. It is not about LoTR, although things from lotr are mentioned, it is about the eternal struggle between good and evil.

When was it | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/13/07

Kids don't read much nowaday's cuz of all the other mediums (media) they have to spread their time between, so at least the making of the films brought the story to my boys. Quite funny, though, when two days of almost non-stop babbling by my youngest finally ended when he said "Dad, you know Lord of the Rings?" "Yes, son" "Well, when did it all actually happen - I mean, what year was it?"

More LOTR Metaphors... | Reviewer: Mrs. Page | 8/29/07

To add to(and slightly modify)what the reviewer Turgon wrote...

"Queen of Light took her bow and then she turned to go"= Arwen leaving for the Grey Havens (if the Prince of Peace is Aragorn, it's only fitting.)
"Side by side we wait the might"= Battle at Helm's Deep, in which elves fight alongside men.
"Eastern glow"= Gandalf's arrival
"The apples of the valley"= The women and children who must be protected to rebuild the world of men.
"Sky is filled with good and bad"= Nazgul and the Eagles
"Magic runes"= Inscription on the Ring
"Bring it back"= The quest to Mount Doom

Of course the members of Led Zeppelin loved LOTR. Take "Ramble On" as another prime example of lyrical allusions. But "Battle of Evermore" can be appreciated on many levels and the same goes for LOTR. Remember it's about the music.
Peace!

It is about LotR | Reviewer: Eddie | 8/9/07

I care not what wikipedia says...


Robert plant specifically reffers to 'ringwraiths' in the song.

Battle of Evermore | Reviewer: Andy | 7/30/07

LoTR was written before Battle of Evermore. Zep's members were influenced by fantasy (see their first video) and, since they are all brilliant musicians, this interpretation is one of the greatest pieces of music ever written.

title | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/24/07

I think the song is about the everlasting, ever reocurring battle between good and evil and the best that can be done is to maintain the balance. The song uses various mythological references to illustrate a common theme of everlasting struggle..."battle of evermore"

NO Lord of the Rings | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/10/07

This songs is NOT about LOTR, is about the battle of day and night, and is based in a book about scottish border wars. If yo don't believe me, read this:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Battle_of_Evermore

Led Zeppelin the prophets? | Reviewer: supportPaul | 6/21/07

the dark lord is G.W B. the tyrants face is red refers to the u s a.the ground is rich refers to OIL! Waiting for the eastern glow is reference to ALLAH. just remember the pain of war cannot exceed the woe of aftermath.

Great Song | Reviewer: Turgon | 6/16/07

Battle for evermore= Siege of pelenor fields
Queen of Light= Eowyn
Prince of peace= Aragorn
Embraced the gloom= path under the mountain
Angels of Avalon= Frodo and Sam
Face is Red= Red eye of Sauron
Horse's Thunder= Rohan's arrival on the scene
Night is long= Sauron's darkness for the Orcs
Sky is filled with good and bad= Ringwraiths
Ringwraiths= Ringwraiths of course, a phrase only used by JRR Tolkein
Shoot straight= the battle is falling ill
Runes to bring the balance back= Merry's sword had runes engraved on it and brought the balance of power back when he stabbed and killed the Witch King of Angmar
The sun is shining= the battle is won by the forces of light
Sunlight blinds the dragon's eye= the orcs retreat and Sauron's all-seeing eye is metaphorically blinded.

Duh. | Reviewer: Erik | 6/9/07

It's funny how everyone recognizes this now, instead of in the 1970's when it originally came out. It used to just be a book nerdy thing to get, now thanks to Peter Jackson it's lost its magic.
Angels of Avalon, Avalon is with King Arthur though and that confuses me.

I believe this is all in all supposed to just signify an epic medieval battle, using analogies from different medieval stories.

Duh. | Reviewer: Erik | 6/9/07

It's funny how everyone recognizes this now, instead of in the 1970's when it originally came out. It used to just be a book nerdy thing to get, now thanks to Peter Jackson it's lost its magic.

LoTR | Reviewer: ROCK ON | 6/5/07

This proves just cause you like LoTR does not make you a nerd.

Haunting. | Reviewer: Tawney | 5/9/07

This song... is absolutely beautiful. I can't think of too many other songs that give me chills when I listen. Amazing.

LOTR | Reviewer: tim | 5/6/07

this song is simply amazing.. but another LOTR song from led zeppelin is Ramble On. (in the darkest steps of mordor/but gollum the evil one) and other stuff like that

damn | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/4/07

damn i love this song. i think that LoTR was inspired by this song.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7