Reviews for Stairway to heaven Lyrics

Performed by Led Zeppelin

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 4/ 11
Add Your New Review About The Song

From England with Love | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/28/10

What do you see from England when you look to the west? Who's the lady that we all know, that shines white light and wants to show? This song is about the United State of America and the lady is the Statue of Liberty. This song is about the quest for the almighty dollar and materialism.

think for yourself! | Reviewer: the millsness | 8/25/10

This song and all other songs, along with everything in life and death, should only be taken they way you perceive it. It is there to make you wonder, think for yourself and grow as a being. Thank you.

True meaning? | Reviewer: LedZepFan808 | 7/13/10

Most people beleive this song is about someone going to heaven, but the song can easily be misinterpretated. This is another one of the classic zep songs that leave you wondering about the true message... They made it in such a way, a false message is clear, and another one is hidden. Page liked to leave fans wondering, to explore the music. That is the reason Led Zeppelin IV Is unnamed.

My Interpretation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/14/10

I looked at this song a bit differently:
"There's a lady who's sure all that glitters is gold and she's buying a stairway to heaven"
^To me this looks like rejection of common religious beliefs.

"When she gets there she knows if the stores are all closed with a word she can get what she came for"
^What are people's TRUE motives behind trying to attain a place in heaven? What do they really want?

"And she's buying a stairway to heaven"
^She doesn't actually want heaven for the right reasons, and she only "buys a stairway" because she's afraid or wants the benefits of heaven.

"There's a sign on the wall but she wants to be sure 'cause you know sometimes words have two meanings"
^Although heaven may look like a good thing...

"In a tree by the brook there's a songbird who sings sometimes all of our thoughts are misgiven"
^Once again what is the MOTIVE for our will to go to heaven?

I'm not going through the rest but think about the song keeping that in mind...

love it | Reviewer: kelly | 3/9/10

i love this song, even though im only 14 i can kinda understand and connect to the meaning of this song but as i get older i will be able to connect to it more and more. i just wanna say that "stairway to heaven"is one of my favorite songs and that led zeppelin awesome.

'...still time to change the road youre on' | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/7/10

I love this song. I heard it all the time growing up and now I've matured I feel I can understand the lyrics on a much deeper level.
Its not just a bunch of metaphors thrown together in the off chance that a song will emerge. It tells a story.
There's something almost magical about this song, it resonates very deeply with me.
As I said before, it tells a story, but it also gives advice in a way.
No matter how tough things get, no matter where you've got to, no matter who you are or what you've done, you always have choices and there's always time to change the route your life has taken.
Brilliant song, never gets old.

Amazing Song- but about drugs | Reviewer: Rachel | 3/3/10

Zeppelin will go down in history as one of the best bands of all time. As for most bands that were big in the 70s, Zepplin used drugs very heavily. Many of their songs relate to their drug usage and I don't believe this song is any different. I think if you listen to the lyrics it's very obvious what the song is about. The beginning of the song is a lady buying drugs. Drugs are the stairway to heaven. Heaven is how they feel when they are on the drugs. "The stores are all closed but with a word she can get what she came for" - yea, from a seller, and most sellers are not in stores. Most of the middle of the song sounds like he's describing things he feels while on the drugs. And near the end of the song he addresses how ppl are going to try to make you believe that drugs are the stairway to heaven "the piper's calling you to join him". But he follows that with "Can't you hear the wind blow- your stairway lies on the whispering wind" which is basically saying that drugs aren't the only stairway to find heaven. The last part of the song (the best part of the song) is the guitar solo and the rock part that follows it which tells us "the lady" who in the beginning of the song was buying drugs now wants to show that she waited and listened and found heaven without drugs (everything STILL turns to gold and if you listen very hard the tune will come to you at last...to be a rock and not to roll" Roll having two meanings...the moving an object downhill AND the usage of drugs. Once, again I think it's obvious which meaning they're referring to here. It's very clever to end the song this way since in the beginning of the song they also mentioned how sometimes words have 2 meanings. They are just an amazing band, were then, were now, and always will be.

review | Reviewer: cody | 1/28/10

The song was written in a ranch house, not Jimmy's satist lodge. The song isnt written in a different language, there was no dark magic involved I assure you. Robert improvised the lyrics while Jimmy played. They used a mobile studio because the band didnt like the confinement of a studio setting. It was there second time there since the zeppelin iii, which also recorded in that very ranch house. Robert himself explained to the crew as well as manager richard cole, that he wasnt sure what he was saying, that he was just trying to explain in words "spiritual perfection". The song was created in the mind of robert plant, you'll never truly understand it because the song really doesnt have a meaning. Like the other guy said it's a song to be felt not heard.

no | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/25/10

Look zeppelin is my life, its my soundtrack, I am just a fan who hasn't met robert,jimmy,jonesy, or bonzo. But even I can admit the song is a series of catchy metaphores designed to make you question it. And it worked quit well. I have witnessed the crew admit it was pointless, it just sounds good. This song isn't a song to be understood its a song to be felt. By the way jimmy was heavily heavily slipping in his addiction with heroine during the creation of zeppelin 4. The untitled album this song was apart of. And yes of course they were high? Its fucking zeppelin all they did was goof off, get high, fuck girls, and write beautiful music. Along with visiting the wifes while away from tour.

be logical about this friends | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/25/10

Look zeppelin is my life, its my soundtrack, I am just a fan who hasn't met robert,jimmy,jonesy, or bonzo. But even I can admit the song is a series of catchy metaphores designed to make you question it. And it worked quit well. I have witnessed the crew admit it was pointless, it just sounds good. This song isn't a song to be understood its a song to be felt. By the way jimmy was heavily heavily slipping in his addiction with heroine during the creation of zeppelin 4. The untitled album this song was apart of. And yes of course they were high? Its fucking zeppelin all they did was goof off, get high, fuck girls, and write beautiful music. Along with visiting the wifes while away from tour.

...and it makes me wonder... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/21/10

This song has been put under more consideration than nearly any other song of this day and age. Even the band itself is unclear about a meaning of this song. The song in itself invokes a more unnatural state of perplexity when the quest for knowledge takes the individual to new states of imagination opening new realms for the mind to dwell in and explore. Sometimes we think clearly, while sometimes are thoughts are misgiven. Some of us are right some of us are wrong, but either way this song is a philisophical gold mine... and it makes me wonder... In the bible, it is mentioned that in the center of heaven is the forbidden tree of the knowledge of good and evil. The two paths any human can go by. Some people think that everything turns to gold like the lady we all know. She believes that she can simply attain this knowledge by "buying the stairway". Trying to find the simple path to heaven, and furthermore, knowledge. The other path you can go by is to rock and not to roll. To take the slow sturdy way through reason and not ramble about, not even knowing where you are going. This song through the misty language then invokes the state of mystery that everyone reading this comment is trying to uncover. What is the meaning of this song? When Robert Plant wrote down the words of this song for the first time, he opened a new stairway to a philisophical heaven to leave many people contently perplexed forever. What is the purpose of the song? "...it makes me wonder..."

Great Song To Make You Think About The Road Your On! | Reviewer: Rick | 12/7/09

I love this song, however you want to believe is fine. I think they just wrote it as they were
inspired to write the song. I think this song is
best heard on the live version from the Song Remains The Same album. It really rocks in the live format ! Check it out.

a memory isn't gone just forgotten | Reviewer: faire grl | 12/6/09

first, greatest song ever and it will always be in my heart and humming in my head.....this song reminds me of someone special but is far away now...every memory that i had is fading but with this song it is just a cloud passing the sun.....

And she's buying... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/30/09

Greatest song ever written.Greatest band in the world, Led Zeppelin.
Jimmy Page, picked up his guitar and started playing...and then he showed that to Robert Plant, who then sit in front of a "fireplace" together with Jimmy, and as Jimmy played the guitar Robert started to sing..."this songs represents what Led Zeppelin is..."

"Yes, there are two paths you can by..."

confused | Reviewer: victoria pastrana | 11/13/09

this song too me is kinda freaky but its very interesting in a way, i have heard this song 3 or 4 times and it made me wonder why they called it "Stairway to heaven". you really have to listen to the song and read the lyrics over again to actually get what the lyrics mean, this song has an amazing guitar solo:),i appriciate the one and only best guy friend that showed me who led zepplin was lol and that is my best dude santi:D thankss santii<3 love you -tori:D


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 4/ 11