Reviews for Daughters Lyrics

Performed by John Mayer

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 11
Add Your New Review About The Song

Read the first three verses without the chorus | Reviewer: Seatown | 11/14/07

I know a girl
She puts the color inside of my world
but she's just like a maze
Where all of the walls all continually change

-- He's head over heels in love with a woman who can't/won't love him back because she's troubled. He wants to understand her but it's difficult to break through.

And I've done all I can
To stand on her steps with my heart in my hand
Now I'm starting to see
Maybe it’s got nothing to do with me

-- He has tried desperately to let her know that he loves her and won't leave her, but she won't lay down her defenses...and now he's come to the conclusion that because her father left she can't trust men.

Ooh, you see that skin?
It's the same she's been standing in
Since the day she saw him walking away
Now she's left
cleaning up the mess he made

-- She's stuck in that day, maybe a dozen years ago, when her father left. So much anger, so much pain...he left her in shambles and she's still picking up the pieces.

THAT, folks, is what this song is about. John Mayer is painting a picture that is all too common in today's world. The rest of the song may take some liberties with sexist overtones, but it is basically a call to arms for all parents to love their children so they don't grow up callous and alone like the woman he loves. If anyone has a problem with that overall message, they need to re-examine their priorities.

calming and sad | Reviewer: MAria | 11/1/07

when i fist listened to this song i wasn't really listening to the daughters part and felt it was just to all women, not only with their fathers, but also with other men.

durr | Reviewer: dude | 10/26/07

uhh the chick two down from me- daughters is on a different cd than waiting on the world to change. just saying

Woah. | Reviewer: Issy | 10/9/07

This song is just amazing...not only does it soung great but its so true.
I always start crying when he says:
"On behalf of every man
looking out for every girl
You are the god and the
weight of her world"

I love love love it!
so beautiful!

Did he write it? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/1/07

It's a beautiful song for sure. I know a lot girls, myself included, who grew up without a dad. We were five sisters and three brothers. My brothers are all married with kids whereas all of us sisters are single besides one that got married when she was close to 30. I really think it has something to do with not having a dad. He left when we were young. It's sad but I think we've all put up walls towards men.
I think this is one of his more meaningful, as in touching, songs in comparison to his latest album which is sort of bitter/non-caring. I really don't care for it, especially the song Waiting on the World to Change. If everyone waited for the world to change nothing would change. But this one makes me think that he did care once upon a time. That's if he wrote it.

truth has a certain way about it | Reviewer: Stephanie G | 9/18/07

The popularity of this song suggests we as a public are starved for things spiritual - The lyrics show a sensitivity for damage done by fathers as is similar to that done by others, usually but not always men. Sexual abuse creates this condition of "walls that continually change," preventing true intimacy in later relationships. So can abandonment and neglect. Thanks to John Mayer for a wake up call that I hope we understand before we've come to see it firsthand in our own daughters.

Emotional...Reflective...Amazing | Reviewer: Erica | 9/15/07

i read this and i cried... i know how this feels. my father has never treated me well..its so heartfelt and beautiful...its poetry and a reflect...i LOVE john mayer's songs and lyrics

This song ROCKS! | Reviewer: Jon | 8/30/07

I love this song. When I hear it, it makes me think about all the people out there, unfortunate ones,(me included) sons & daughters that weren't brought up "right" - and how their upbringing has messed up their social life. Although this may be the case - don't fret, just remember - "a lot of good & influencial people have come f*cked up family's with f*cked up parents"

Joseph Campbell | Reviewer: Nicko | 8/28/07

It reminds me of something Joseph Campbell was quoted as saying in some guide about daily living. It is not demeaning at all. It really is just explaining the roll a father plays in a daughter's life, which, of course, is different than the roll a father plays in a son's life. We are different sexes with different vantage points in the world, so in this way, it is sexist. But demeaning it is not, because it stresses the importance of the father/daughter relationship and how the father can really screw it up. I've seen my own father do it. Anyway, Joseph Campbell describes how the father's roll shows the daughter how to relate to the world. It gets very deep, and he devotes many pages to it. Mayer captures the essence in one line, "daughters will love like you do".

Fathers, may you teach your daughters how to love, and to be loved in return.

i love this song | Reviewer: laura | 8/18/07

i dont particularly think anything about it is sexist. yeah he refers to a particular gender at some points in the song, but hes not descriminating so i dont see whats being argued here. god, i cry every time i hear this song .. im such a daddys girl :)

deep. | Reviewer: rachael | 8/18/07

to this who thing this song is sexist- you're looking into it too much.

it's true; more than anything.

love this song!!! | Reviewer: Cara | 8/13/07

I love this song!!!!
I know that many people that have posted things here have either had bad relationships with their parents or think this song is controversial. However, i dont wanna brag but I have a good relationship with my parents. I'm definately a daddy's girl, so this song really means a lot to me.
As for this song being sexist and controversial, I can see where you are coming from. Yes, for people that are gay, this song doesn't really include you, but I think that it wasn't meant to completely exempt you. For John Mayer to write this song, thats just the way that it was for him. Had his situation been different, I think the song would have been different.

A new outlook | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/13/07

This song is really beautiful...
In response to DMU, my father has definately messed things up and my best friend, who is, like you, gay, has been one of the most important people in my life. It's him I think about when I read these lyrics. He pretty much renewed my shattered faith in men. So, I don't believe this song to be sexist or homophobic at all...it's all in the way you perceive things.

Amazing! | Reviewer: Melissa | 8/9/07

i absolutely love this song!
whenever i read the lyrics or here the song...it just makes me cry cuz its so deep and our parents do everything for us...and its so true! not like alot of the songs these days!!

olii | Reviewer: Olivia | 8/6/07

this is the best dong ever, its really deep, and i think it is true, because everynthing we do, depends of the education our parents gave us when we were kids, and it also is really beautifulk because it taks about women in a great wy, that makes us feel so good, the guy who wrote this song is or was really inlove


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 11