Reviews for Belief Lyrics

Performed by John Mayer

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 4/ 5
Add Your New Review About The Song

I just discovered this song the other day and... | Reviewer: Cheryl Baranski | 10/22/07

I find John Mayer to be very insightful, moving, thought provoking. I don't expect answers to my problems in music. I love music because it helps me to express my feelings and emotions. I absolutely love this song...it is a joy to listen to and to be moved by.

Cheryl

The world according to... | Reviewer: Gggeorge | 10/17/07

Hey guys. The lyrics of this great song reminded me about the movie Dogma with a lot of great actors, "Matt Damon", "Chris Rock" and the list keeps going. Here is a quote of a charachter Rufus (Apostle in the movie).

Bethany: You're saying that having beliefs is a bad thing?
Rufus: I think it's better to have ideas. You can change an idea. Changing a belief is trickier.

Just thought I share that quote as its very related!

Thoughts on "Belief" | Reviewer: Marylaine | 9/27/07

The haunting guitar melody provides the perfect backdrop for this sad, sweet song. I think people are investing an awful lot in their expectations of artists if they think they're going to provide answers to problems humanity has faced since the beginning of time. I will settle for beauty and reflection ... like you find in this song. But, you can't help but hope that someone untroubled by the problems of today's world might hear it and have an "aha" moment.

belief | Reviewer: Cassie | 9/12/07

"It saddens me that every comment on this blog has been manipulated by propaganda, media, and music. Yes, John is a fabulous musician with all the skill for a contemporary artist in the world, but this song doesn't make logical sense. He's just assuming that this whole thing has been conjured over a thick, naive belief. That's bullshit. The issue is much, much more complicated than that. His melodrama certainly is not fully accurate. This song is amazing nevertheless."
Oh bah your just trying to be different and start an argument.
Anyways.
This song ... sounds amazing, is amazing. The lyrics amaze me.

S P E C I F I C | Reviewer: Bryan | 8/29/07

we know he makes great guitar music. i loves most of it.

this song is specific of our immediate time of war and issues (now).

after that, opion, belief, and such can be applied however one really feels or believes.

I choose to express my beliefs gently,
and listen to others beliefs carefully.

i like facts when they are straight.

i appreciate opinions when they vary from person to person.

ganged opinion is scary.

Best | Reviewer: Natasha | 8/10/07

the lyrics to this are awesome.
i love them.
John Mayer is so talented.
I love the last two lines.
He is so true, belief is the core of everything thats happened in history. Belief is what rages everyone into hatred and war.

Good song | Reviewer: Yans | 7/15/07

I love this song very much and i think his assessment is correct. Every war is about "thick, naive belief" weather it's over who owns a piece of land or which religion is less constricting and less oppressive to women...this is what war is about it will always be about belief and people who refuse to confirm are caught in the middle like the kids in darfur.

nonsense | Reviewer: arielle | 7/10/07

It saddens me that every comment on this blog has been manipulated by propaganda, media, and music. Yes, John is a fabulous musician with all the skill for a contemporary artist in the world, but this song doesn't make logical sense. He's just assuming that this whole thing has been conjured over a thick, naive belief. That's bullshit. The issue is much, much more complicated than that. His melodrama certainly is not fully accurate. This song is amazing nevertheless.

ignorance | Reviewer: arielle | 7/10/07

It saddens me that every comment on this blog has been manipulated by propaganda, media, and music. Yes, John is a fabulous musician with all the skill for a contemporary artist in the world, but this song doesn't make logical sense. He's just assuming that this whole thing has been conjured over a thick, naive belief. That's bullshit. The issue is much, much more complicated than that. His melodrama certainly is not fully accurate. This song is amazing nevertheless.

Big Picture | Reviewer: Jay | 7/9/07

Whether John meant it to be or not, you an interpret this in a worldly picture. Never going to win the world, never going to win the war... I dont think he's trying to be totally American, yet saying that beliefs are what everyone fights for, and we're never going to "win" or change anyone's minds because they dont go quiety and theyd rather know that they tried for their own beliefs. Great song, deep with a great melody... but its unfortuneatly so true.

A bit too idealistic | Reviewer: Jim | 7/2/07

beliefs...political, religion, superstition you name it are great. The lyrics are great IF the majority of folks listening to them were able to band together to control or influence voting BUT the machine controls us John knows and say it "we are never gonna". Sadly this country will never change, the foks in charge are worried about 1 thing only...$$. Think hard about it.

what it means... | Reviewer: john j | 6/18/07

Countless more people have died in the name of god than in the name of the devil.

the nature of *man* | Reviewer: wham | 5/28/07

the message is
belief is something all *men* have, inherently
and
belief leads to evil
therefore
belief is evil
therefore
*man* is inherently evil

i believe

well, this is funny | Reviewer: h.k | 5/25/07

the funny thing about what everyone has said is that everyone has a different opinion or 'beleif' about what mayer is saying. doesnt that kind of prove his point?

Deep Writer | Reviewer: Sean | 5/14/07

I'm positive Mr. Mayer would like to express himself more then he does in this 4 minute song. 4 minutes lacks the substantiation to convey the message John implies. He stated on his radio preview that this song almost didn't make it on Continuum, being so contraversial. With the help of Ben Harper, Mayer takes a tremendous leap into tumultuous waters with this song, moreso then he has ever done before. Ignorant harlots like Sara forsake the utter talent that is provided on this track. You are excused while you attempt to belittle this artist with your political and stereotypical fallacies about a generation struggling not descend into darkness.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 4/ 5