Reviews for White Rabbit Lyrics

Performed by Jefferson Airplane

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 10/ 26
Add Your New Review About The Song

fear and loathing | Reviewer: Jeffrey | 6/23/09

It was hilarious on the movie "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas," when fat boy was in the tub, tripping balls, wanting Depp to throw the radio in the tub to finish him off at the peak of this song. Classic.

white rabbit | Reviewer: stormy | 6/15/09

I listen to this song everday more then once.I have watched interveiws with grace slick and i am a huge fan of jefferson airplane as well as other artists from the time. I think that theres absolutley no way that this song isnt influenced by drugs of some sort.Yes it is obviously about alice in wonderland but theres also plain as day drug refrences in the song too,"one pill makes you larger, one pill makes you small,and the ones that mother gives you dont do anything at all" and at the end of the song when she sings "feed your head" i dont think shes talking about food.Everbody takes song differently. i would think people who have done drugs and people who havent would both look at this song to completley different ways.Ive also read the book go ask alice which is a really sad book about an unnamed girls downward spiral into drugs.If this song wasnt associated wth drugs why wouls they name the book after its lyrics

LSD! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/31/09

This song is OBVIOUSLY about an Alice In Wonderland-esque experience with LSD.

C'mon...the white knight talking backwards, the men on the chessboard telling you where to go. Chasing rabbits, The Red Queen, the hookah-smoking caterpillar, etc.

The MUSIC in the song is the most important part. It starts out subtle with the bass, then the snare and vocals come in quietly. then the drums pick up and there's some slow guitar. Then it gets gradually louder until it peaks with "FEED YOUR HEAD!!!!"

It's meant to simulate the rise and peak of a LSD trip. Amazing song.

It's what you make of it | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/29/09

Like any song they lyrics are going to touch people differently. Music is about messages, yes, but they are so open. Sometimes it is obvious to you what the song writer was trying to convey, but to someone else it could be completely different. Peoples minds filter differently. I love this song, but it really doesn't matter what I think it is about, or images and messages I get from it. I think you should just let the music flow to you and speak to you. It is a language all its own.

An old fart speaks out | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/29/09

This is all a bit sad. I doubt if people who can't spell or handle even basic punctuation could plough their way through either Alice in Wonderland (the 19th century novel) or Go Ask Alice, which I suspect took its name from the song. Lewis Carrol was almost certainly no stranger to opium. Opium, or various medications containing it(e,g, laudanum), was widely used in Victorian England, obstensibly as a pain killer but 'addiction to prescription medication' is not a new phenomenon. So it's not surprising that Grace Slick should base a song for a drug-using audience around his book. What is fascinating is that contemporary illustrators should show the "hookah-smoking caterpillar" sitting on a fly agaric mushroom - just how did they know? Lewis Carroll is actually a very ambiguous character. He never married, that doesn't necessarily mean he might have been gay. In fact, he was rather exceedingly fond of children, especially pre-pubescent girls. In fact, the mother of Alice Liddell (yes, that Alice) forbade him access to her younger sister when he transferred his attention to her after losing interest in Alice as she entered her teens. Lewis Carroll (real name Rev, Charles Dodgson) was both an Oxford professor of mathematics and a keen amateur photographer in the days when basic photography required degree level chemistry. When one examines the few photographs of young girls he took that are considered suitable for publication, one suspects that Mrs Liddell was a woman possessed of unusual common sense for such a sexually naive period. The Liddell's Guildford (Surrey, England)house backed onto the grounds of the castle - there's a bowling green, a bandstand, a chess board laid out in floor tiles and a little tunnel that is a short cut to the town. I spent my hippy days in Guildford, and many a hazy, summer Saturday afternoon speculating on the connections between what Lewis Carrol wrote and the grounds of Guildford Castle. Is 'White Rabbit' about drugs? Of course. Are Alice in Wonderland and ALice Through the Looking Glass about drugs? Probably not. Drug inspired? I think it's more than likely. Why don't you read them and make your own mind up? But the song! Surely one of the most powerful and emotional songs in a genre that specialised in powerful emotion, and along with 'Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)' and 'Won't Get Fooled Again' a strong contender for the definitive rock song. Take care.

Ask Grace Slick | Reviewer: Smegel@aol.com | 5/19/09

OK - to settle all arguments, maybe we should find Grace Slick's email and ask her what she wrote (being that she wrote the song back in the 60's). I am an original fan (from the 60's). My older brother wore out about 4 45 rpm records on this song before he was 18...lol -
At Lyrics.com it says the "Remember what the Dormouse said, "Feed your head, feed your head."
However, in the book the Dormouse actually says "keep your head" in reference to the red queen trying to do Alice in over her jealousies.

the story isn't as important as the expierence | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/16/09

when i first listened to this song i knew it was about alice in wonderland but at the same time i was listening to it i was nicely high and to me it was that the song on the surface is about alice in wonderland but when i stopped thinking about the story and just listened to the music it struck me that this could be anyone's accounting of the progression of a trip on LSD from the time first offered the drugs until the desire to do it again comes

Love it | Reviewer: Kelsey | 5/7/09

I Just love this song, I listen to it at least once or three times a day. I first heard the song about a few months ago at my boyfriend's house and it still hasn't gotten old to me. AND I LOVE ALICE IN WONDERLAND!!!
I can't wait for the Tim Burton movie to come out

Clearing Up | Reviewer: Coreen | 4/15/09

About the book "Go Ask Alice" -
This is a very powerful book, based on the real experiences of a teenage girl so isolated from those around her she can only talk to her diary. When Alice finds a group of friends who accept her she also finds drugs, which become her only escape from an increasingly unbearable reality: 'Nothingness', she writes, 'is a lot better than somethingness.' This is a very mature and lucid account of her experiences, far from being just a stream of consciousness. Alice has a strong command of language. The passages where she describes the effects of drugs on her body and mind are vivid and frightening, but at the same time they show quite graphically the seductive nature of drugs. The psychiatrist's report at the end on Alice and her situation balances the more intimate, personal style. Exactly how real the story is is still in doubt - it is so well written and the horrors so graphic that it reads more like a brilliant work of fiction. But however true or imaginary, this is a harsh, disturbing account of the effects of alienation.

About the Song: This was written by Grace Slick, who based the lyrics on Lewis Carroll's book Alice In Wonderland. Like many young musicians in San Francisco, Slick did a lot of drugs. She saw lots of drug references in Carroll's book, including the pills, the smoking caterpillar, the mushroom, and lots of other images that are generally trippy. She noticed that lots of children's' stories involve a substance of some kind that alters reality, and felt it was time to write a song about it.Slick got the idea for this after taking LSD and spending hours listening to the Miles Davis album Sketches Of Spain. The Spanish beat she came up with was also influenced by Ravel's "Bolero."

Alice | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/29/09

Actually i did some research and this song is actually about Alice in wonderland i watched some videos and they diffinitly had alice and the white rabbit who was always late and in the movie theres the smokin hooka caterpillar it all makes sense but its still saying that alice got all stoned and high and Jefferson Airplane even said that he thanked Johny Depp "fear in los and la vegas" or how ever you spell it .. but yah that just says it cuz that movie was all about drugs lol

Go Ask Alice | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/29/09

Its obvious that this song is about drugs, and i deffinitly think that this song goes with the book go Ask Alice.. but I also think that Alice and Wonderland is a trippy movie to watch and i think a lot of people when they see it especialy when your high think its trippy, so it could be for both in a way. but yah Im reading the book right now and ive heard the song and i thought of the book right away, it makes more sence.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland | Reviewer: Kate | 3/24/09

Have any of you actually read the book by Lewis Carrol? The song was only inspired by Alice in Wonderland.
The only one on here who has any insight is the anonymous reviewer who titled his piece, "We were all 'Through the Looking Glass'".
Quit looking for an exact and true message and decide what the song means to you.

Right, so you wannnt to know the truth? | Reviewer: twat | 3/11/09

for those of you who are clueless!
The book was written before the goddamn song you muppets! It was Lewis Carrol who wrote the book, in the Victorian era, this song was in the 60's.
There is no actual evidence to say that the book itself is about drugs, though the references speak for themselves, no I doubt he was warning kids off drugs, because at that time- youngsters would simply not be doing drugs, it was for the rich.

let it be | Reviewer: ryan | 3/11/09

whatever the meaning is, why can't you people let it be that people will think different things about it. To come on here and say wrong wrong wrong im right im 8 years old.. it's bullshit.. just chill

white rabbit | Reviewer: pam sweet | 2/19/09

I'm reading some of the ideas behind White Rabbit, Grace Slick wrote it because of the hypocrisy about teens doing drugs,and here is this book that millions of parents are reading their kids, with Alice and the gang doing drugs.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 10/ 26