Not about Truth and Lies | Reviewer: Ken | 11/6/10

Sure it's about choices, but it's a choice of PILLS and therefore a choice of different points of view (small/tall - from above, from below). Truth and Lies is about Rigidity - this song is about FLEXIBILITY and IMAGINATION - the fact that all humans filter through experience, including intellectual knowledge, which is also a filtered experience. As to 'Drugs are for losers', if you start actually reading some history, there have been plenty of 'winners' who used, and even promoted drugs in all kinds of ways over the centuries.

Another review | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/4/10

First of to a previous comment here under te title "what?"; Alice in Wonderland was from 1865, so you're wrong by a century.
It is without the shadow of a doubt clear that the song leans on the novel of Alice in Wonderland, good choice as made clear by Ken earlier.
As for the song meaning it is psychadelic rock.. IMO one of the pillars of the genre. It naturally tends to reveal sights unknown to the mind that are (in this case and usually) drug related.
Once again, Ken, you rock and have done your research ;). The song just as Lutwidge Dodgson (author's real name) puts something that would make sense in a seemingly irrational scene while it endeavours to a greater depth.
Not saying drugs are right.. but anyone else marveled by just looking at their hands when umh.. under a little influence?
As for the meaning.. the entire lyrics (yes every sentence) is referencing to the novel.. So my best guess, another take on a children's story?

Truth and Lies | Reviewer: Plus1 | 11/1/10

White rabbit is about truth, lies, and their consequences. When caught up in a lie, you have choices on how you will respond, free will. One choice makes you larger and one choice makes you smaller.

Go figure the rest for yourself.

Drugs are for losers but this song is not.

Plus1

Do some actual research | Reviewer: Ken | 10/24/10

The lyrics are clearly derived from Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland - and the line about Logic and Proportion is key. Most reviewers here don't seem to know much about the author of Alice who was in fact a math professor. Much of the apparently absurd world of Alice is created by his characterizing proven functions and equations of math and physics, which often do seem absurd when misapplied (without proper logic or proportion). As to drug use in his age - it was absolutely commonplace - including widespread use of opium and opium derivatives for all kinds of illnesses in all age-groups, even for infant bed-wetting. So the druggie parallel is totally justified and of course he probably used the stuff. ALL the images in the song come from his work - but the track is is still a great combination of 60s music with ideas from two cultures a century apart. I saw Jefferson Airplane in the sixties, (outdoors, rehearsing in the pouring rain) and of all their work, White Rabboit speaks still, as a piece of art, in its own right, because of the fabulous blend of words and dreams, and the brilliant drama of Grace's voice (which is NOT high-pitched - please !) against the drum and guitar work.
Thanks for the website.
Ken

What? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/6/10

To the previous reviewer; how is it possible that a song that was written in 1965-66 and released on a 1967 album is based of a novel published in 1971? Infact, the title of the book comes from the lyrics of the song!

It's not about "Alice in Wonderland"... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/30/10

This song is based off the book "Go Ask Alice", which is the actual diary of an anonymous girl who battled with drugs when she was fifteen years-old. Alice was a girl who the author of the diary met who had run away from home and was living on the streets. They had a short conversation and Alice said "she didn't know whether she was running away from something or running toward something, but she admitted deep in her heart she wanted to go home." That was sort of a turning point in the author's life and after that she tried to fight her need for the drugs, but in the end, she died, likely a suicide.

Please, do read the book. Horrifying as it was, it was a beautiful story.

free you head | Reviewer: simon | 9/27/10

i think it's free your head - isn't it?
whatever may be the meaning, this is one of the best songs ever written and i think it's the only song that showcases Jefferson airplane's genius and grace slick's unparalleled vocals!

Here's what this song is REALLY about.... | Reviewer: Jfin | 8/30/10

Glace Slick said recently in an interview for the bio channel that this song was written for the parents that wonder why their children use drugs. She stated that teens using drugs are the direct result of the childhood betime stories that our parents used to read us. Mainly Alice in wonderland which she stated "she would eat something and get really high(as-in taller) and then eat something else and experience a low, eat from a mushroom where a talking caterpillar is perched smoking hookah..." so on and so fourth. This song was meant to be a message to all parents everywhere that they are Ailey responsible for their childrens drug habits.

Yes perhaps, however... | Reviewer: GreyM | 8/6/10

If the song was written about the book, because the book was her actual favorite book as a kid, then the song is in a way, about the book too. The book was one of the main influences, so in describing what this song is about you have to describe what the book is about too, isnt that a fair assumption? And simply explaining that the song is about the book is not quite enough. Therefore, the actual meaning of the song is based off the book which is based off a creation, someones idea of a story. Now what did he story mean? Who the heck knows.. I havnt read it, but when I hear about white knights talking backwards that has a very precise and specific meaning to me, that could only mean one thing in which i previously described in the end of my previous post. What is obvious to one person is not so obvious to another. Everything has a double meaning or a secret meaning. I don't claim I am right about this but I know what this song means to me and it is very powerful, wise, and beautiful. I mean come on, "when men on the chessboard, get up and tell you where to go" (now that is obvious..).. whether that was in the song or the book it has specific occult meaning.

Alice | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/9/10

Does not anyone understand that the song is about Hallucinogenic substances? Not acid. The lyrics drew heavily from Lewis Carroll's "Alice In Wonderland". Grace Slick wrote and sang these lyrics at Woodstock. Watch Woodstock and as soon as the music to the lyrics begin, the hard drug addicts light up. They fully knew what the song was about. Hallucinogenic substances have been used for centuries by various people at various events. Slick sang her song to illustrate her view that much of childrens literature, encourages us to seek out altered states of consciousness from such a pursuit, especially if it includes the aid of mind altering hallucinogenic substances. She admits so much on YouTube and she is correct that "Alice in Wonderland is full of references to drugs. The caterpillar sits on a mushroom smoking while another character has white powder sprinked about his head. I like the song because she was such a good vocalist with her high pitch voice. But, it is full of metaphors for drug inducing experiences. As for Lewis Carroll being a pedophile, there is actually no proof. Only his unusual life style has been called into question. It's said he took picures of 8-11 year old girls. It's also said he destroyed all before his death. That makes it very difficult to prove he was a pedophile whom I detest.

60's Girl | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/29/10

Yes, yes yes...I can see why you young ones are confused. The song is merely a commentary on the drug scene of the 60's. Alice in Wonderland was Gracie's favorite book as a kid, I know her, and this is the story, the long and short of it. It was not written about pedophiles nor does it have any other meaning than what is obvious.
Feed your head.

Alice... | Reviewer: GreyM | 7/25/10

I agree that it is "FEED" and not "KEEP". Anyway here is what I think...

TO ME, This song is about sex, rebellion, wrath, God, Evil and the future. It's about sex with a small girl, girls getting taken advantage of, its about kids finding out their parents cant help them, its about when you find out who's controlling the world, its about people finding out who the queen is, and its about messengers of God revealing evils plans.

ahh! the 60's what an era | Reviewer: imachick | 7/24/10

can we say pedophile or more to the point can we spell it. great song based loosely on a book written by Lewis Carroll who had quite a few issues mainly a girl named alice. Hat's off to Grace Slick and Jefferson Airplane great 60's song.

to Nick Tanner | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/18/10

you're confused, Hun. in the book, and in the movie, Alice drinks the drink in the bottle to shrink , and the she eats the cookies to grow taller. and Mr. Lewis Carrol was a pedifile. he wrote the book about a young girl he had fantisies about. Alice falling into the rabbit hole symbolized her falling into his world, so he could do whatever he wanted to with her. the cookies tht make her larger, and the drink that make her smaller symbolize uppers and downers... PILLS. at one point in the movie and book she even eats a mushroom! the whole book is just a huge drug reference.

feed your head! | Reviewer: jmd | 7/18/10

geez, the last line is "feed your head" not "keep your head" - which is the point of the whole song - just say yes to drugs! of course, many of the people who recommended doing them (if more by example, not explicitly) in the 60s: jimi, janis, jim died doing them...but hey you got to break some eggs to make a mushroom omlette.