Reviews for White Rabbit Lyrics

Performed by Jefferson Airplane

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 26
Add Your New Review About The Song

Don't really care...it's an awesome song. lol | Reviewer: Suz | 6/15/10

as referenced in the title ;) It's a trippy song based on a trippy book which has been known as referencing 'drug stuff' anyway... don't care!
awesome enjoyable song. Wish this version by Jefferson Airplane one was on the new Almost Alice cd...

Simple Fact..... | Reviewer: Nick tanner | 6/12/10

All this debate about whether or not the Jefferson Airplane's song is about drug use seems SOOOOO obvious to me it's laughable.

OF COURSE IT IS. The very FIRST line tells you all you need to know. One "PILL", GET IT PEOPLE, PILL!!!!! makes your larger, one PILL makes you small. ALICE DOES NOT USE PILLS!!!!!!! She uses a drink for larger and a cake for smaller.

Had this song been strictly a homage to a beloved classic, the first line one of read "One sip makes you taller, one bite makes you small".

The point that Jefferson Airplane changes it to "pill" says ALL I NEED TO KNOW. There is not a single doubt in my mind. I really don't think one needs to go any further than the first verse to know this is about drugs, or, at the very least, mind altering pills. Otherwise, if the song had been strictly about the novel, inserting "drink" and "bite" instead of "pill" would not have changed the song in any appreciable way whatsoever, AND obviously been closer to the events depicted in the novel.

To me, case closed. Now whether Mr. Carroll meant this to be a treatise on drug use, I don't know, perhaps so. He is dead so we may never know; and generations of English majors will continue to dissect and study this piece CENTURIES from now.

Nick

It's just Alice | Reviewer: JMS | 5/12/10

Wow. A bunch of people arguing who have obviously never read the books or read an interview with Grace Slick. Let me unravel this "mystery" for you.

1. The song is simply the story of Alice in Wonderland, Grace Slick's favourite childhood book.

2. The trippy nature of the song comes primarily from the music which is signature Airplane psychedelia. There are no direct drug references in the lyrics outside of the fact that drug users in the 60's loved the books for "feeding their heads" while on drugs.

3. You can argue about the last line all you want but it is indeed "feed" (not keep) and Slick invented it. In the book, the Doormouse gives no such advice.

4. I have personally spoken to Grace Slick (while hosting an event for her book launch a number of years ago) and she laughed at all of the intellectual interpreting of her teenage lyrics, basically telling me that she "wrote a trippy song about a far out children's book".

Case closed. As you were.

You must to believe. | Reviewer: Ance | 4/29/10

What is wrong with the drugs this society and some consumers make the drugs be hated but you must to believe in it and feel it to understand that it are good and is not a bad thing, and this song is about the expierience with the LSD and its fantastic.

White Rabbit | Reviewer: Ellie | 4/18/10

You people aren't thinking, not everything is about drugs, try to think a little please. It's clearly about the sixties and that crazy time period the red queen is supposed to be communists specifically the USSR that is so obvious

Who was Lewis Carroll | Reviewer: passenger | 4/13/10

A common misinterpretation, but facts are facts and history is history: Lewis Carroll was Charles Dogson, a mathematics professor with two hobbies. The first is that he loved logic puzzles, and in fact there's much wordplay and puzzling going on throughout his books, particularly those about Alice. His second hobby was photography, and especially taking artistic photos of people's children naked (with parent's permission). His third hobby was taking his fellow professor's three daughters out for a boat ride and telling them crazy stories he made up as he went...especially ones about the youngest daughter, Alice.

...All that said: there's no question there was no drug influence on Dogson's part - that all came much later.

Look it up, folks!

A student of pop culture's view | Reviewer: Mea. | 4/3/10

First- I believe music and the meaning BEHIND music is 100% subjective. Yeah, to me this song describes drugs, dreams, and euphoria that comes from LCD, acid, shrooms, marijuana, and alcohol.

Second- There are mainly TWO stories behind Lewis Carroll's "Alice" stories, and after seeing all the arguing on here I thought I should share the two of them.
a) The first is Lewis Carroll describing drugs- this one is very self-explanitory, everyone can see this when they read the books, watch the movies, or listen to this song. Lewis Carroll used this to attract the "teenagers" of the time.
b) Lewis Carroll taught math and wrote this book for his math class, the crazy metaphors and "drug-referances" were used to hold their attention. There is said to be "hidden mathmatical messages" something I have NEVER seen (This was told to me by my geometry teacher in high-school).
Third- No one will EVER know why these songs, books, and screenplays were written, no one should CARE, it's ART. The only REASON art needs to exist is to ENTERTAIN and SPLENDOR. Just enjoy it, the hippie sound is supposed to be calming- so why are all your panties in a bunch?

Just let it go and be happy it was written.

(I'm sorry if you don't agree or if this offended any of you, I'm giving my best guess to all of this.)

Thanks for playing | Reviewer: Thomas | 3/28/10

Whoever said the book 'Go Ask Alice' was an inspiration of this song has it ass-backwards. 'Go Ask Alice' was written about five or six years after this song and was a work of fiction written by a Mormon counsellor. It used a line from this track as its title, not the other way round.

Tell 'em a...HOOKAH- smoking catapillar...has given you the call! | Reviewer: peg | 3/24/10

I've just read a couple pages of these comments. Cracks me yup, you people arguing the facts of one of the most incredible, and uniquely bizarre stories ever written. I had never read the book, nor seen the early Disney movie, so I only knew about half the story/characters/situations.

But are you kidding me? The song ran through my head, continually throughout the (new 3D version) movie, today! I had nearly a dozen "Oh, THAT'S what Grace sang/meant!" moments.

This song isn't "loosely based" on anything. It is a faithful rendition of the original story. (Unless, highly unlikely, Burton followed the song instead of the 1865 book.)

Of COURSE The Airplane were drawn to the phenomenal drug-related imigary of this classic.

If IT WAS written as pure, unadulterated fantasy--well then, Mr. Lewis Carrol was indeed mad as a hatter.
However, three strong facts point to the opposite; that Lewis had afterall been inspired by experiences of his own, which were much like the acid trips of the 60s.
1) The Hookah-smoking catapillar (blowing the smoke in Alice's face) -- could only be interpreted as opium-smouldering.
2) We don't see Alice eat them in the Burton flick, but hallucinogenic 'shrooms were already growing in nature, and known to exist.
3) Most obviously, however, when the book was penned, in the early 1860s, there was one particularly popular carcinogenic, favored mostly by artistic types -- and that was green absinthe! The very first glimpse (only) of the liguid Alice immediately encounters after her fall into the rabbit hole, shows it to be the same bright-green shade as Absinthe! As soon as she consumes the beverage, shit gets weird, weirder, weirdest.

Plus--the ol' mind-fuck we all play on ourselves when we get REALLY REALLY HIGH--is the entire spine of this story.
Have brave ideas/Encounter resistence and discouragement from 'society'/wonder if you have what it takes to hang ON to your own dreams AND THEREFORE VALUES/wonder if you should just throw in the towel and follow blindly into the vapid darkness of the many/then finally realize (with a little/lotta help from true/great friends) that you've always had all the power you ever needed--all inside your self.

Its a fuggin' fabulous story, which I seriously WISH I would've been exposed to in my own childhood. I'm going to go buy this book for every kid I know & love. Quite inspiring and uplifting. :-)


Feed Your Head | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/23/10

if you listen to every version of this song that Grace Slick sings and listen carefully to the original its "Feed Your Head" not "Keep your head"
I have reviewed many recordings of this song and none of them have "Keep your head" as the lyrics.

Can You Say TRIPPY??? | Reviewer: Alexi | 3/15/10

I love this song, and no bias just because I am a HUGE fan of Alice. I love the lyrics, I love the vocals, I love EVERYTHING about it, although I can't help but notice how AWESOME this would sound tripping on something.....Anyway, love the song, love the band.

Peace and Love,
Alexi

Disney | Reviewer: Rick | 3/10/10

I have never read the book - all my knowledge of the "Alice" story come from the Disney feature, which I saw as a kid. Jefferson Airplane was coming up when I was in high school, so I've had a chance to put them both together, in a way. The lyrics take "Alice" and equate them to the (then) modern drug culture of the Airplane's time and place. If you check out "Alice" first, you'll understand the lyrics better, and some of this confusion will go away. The caterpillar did smoke a hookah while sitting on a mushroom. He told Alice to take a bite off one side or the other, depending on the effect she wanted to achieve. The knights and Red Queen are there too. And the doormouse (doorknob?!) told Alice to keep her head (by not making the Queen mad), since the Red Queen was chopping them off. Of course the kids in Starship found a way to incorporate the images and story from the book into this song. I can imagine them sitting around the living room stoned, under the black light, thinking Wow, this story could be happening now! The Dude was a genius! But I still have to admit that I have been listening to this song for 40 years now, and still don't know if the last line is the doormouse's warning to "keep your head," or the popular admonition of the time to "feed your head." Maybe someone should call up Grace and see if she can still remember what she sang that day in the studio . . .

To : Not as fuzzy as some | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/2/10

She definitely sings "door mouse", I've just spent an hour repeating this song because I love it that much and can with certainty assure you, its mouse.
Also this line has recently been used by Danny Elfman in his soundtrack for the upcoming Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland for the main Alice theme (saying "remember what the doormouse said")

to Karlin | Reviewer: Ralph | 2/23/10

opiates are lethal, they cause respitory depression, and if you ever hear about doctors who killed a patient by managing there pain then opiates (morphine) is what they probably used mainly because it is recognized that some diseases (i.e. stage IV pancreatic cancer) is incurable and can be very painful, and since pain is subjective, there is no maximum dose for morphine, hence all the doctor did was "relive there pain" which is true, but the side effect was to slow down (or in cases where ppl passed, to stop) breathing

White Rabbit | Reviewer: Tracy | 2/9/10

This actually refers much more to the consumption of "shrooms" (naturally "magic" mushrooms) and not only Alice in Wonderland, but also the book Go Ask Alice depicting a young girl's diary, making her notes during her acid trips.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 7/ 26