White Rabbit | Reviewer: Tracy | 2/9/10

This actually refers much more to the consumption of "shrooms" (naturally "magic" mushrooms) and not only Alice in Wonderland, but also the book Go Ask Alice depicting a young girl's diary, making her notes during her acid trips.

I tried to enter corrected lyrics... | Reviewer: not as fuzzy as some | 1/22/10

When this song was new the times were youth and drug oriented, so "feed your Head" was the aim of the lyrics and was sung by Grace Slick that way. If anti-drug censorship or altering the facts is your aim, then substituting "keep your head" will stay on your website. Also note that, Ms. Slick sings doorknob, not dormouse. Powerful performance though.

Pure majic | Reviewer: roy johnson | 1/19/10

Love this song. The only thing wrong with it is it is too short. It is one of those songs you wish would go on forever. The poetry is great, so is Grace's powerful delivery. As for the drug aspect, who cares? Back in those days, drug use was largely a social thing that brought people together and enabled total strangers to share ideas. Now, people are too hung up on matierial possesions.

Trips | Reviewer: skylla | 1/10/10

I would first say that the end phrasis was FEED YOU HEAD. It is also the name of one of their lives. It is much more intelligent, and has much more sense compared with the didactic aim of Lewis Carroll telling stories to the little Alice (this is how Alice in Wonderland was written.
White Rabbit is a song written in a time when taking drugs, which could be cannabis or LSD, was making a modern mystic experience, or just to make your own experience and education in life. Somehow, with drugs or without, we're still doing it, that's why lewis carroll, who was not talking about drugs, is pertinent for all kind of education.
The first stanza talks about the call for hazard and adventure, that makes you feel strong, the second the feeling bad, the third, the feeling that you cannot get out of your troubles. There you are really learning.

Drug Use | Reviewer: Karlin | 1/8/10

Emma Rose's comments show the misunderstandings about opiate drugs. They are addicting, but NOT lethal. Also, Lewis Carrol's headaches were NOT "caused by the drugs"; the headaches were WHY he took the opiate drugs, DUH!!
Opiates are a blessing to the human race, it is only PROHIBITION that causes the problems!!

BeAuTiFuL | Reviewer: katie bugg | 1/6/10

all of the alice movies,books and poems are by far the deepest work out there in the world...to have an immagation like a child as an adult is the most rewarding thing that could ever happen. many people as they get older lose their immagation and there for think someone must be on something to write a piece of work so BeAuTiFuL.

Hm, | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/5/09

This song is absolutely amazing, I love it.
I remember watching the cartoon as a kid,
but I never realized until now how messed up
and scary it is. But anyway, this song is great.
Grace Slick's vocals are insane.

Lewis Carroll | Reviewer: Emma-Rose | 11/16/09

Alice In Wonderland may have been written before LSD was around, but not before opium was around. And while Lewis Carroll may not have been what we would see as a raging drug addict, everyone smoked opium back then, because they didn't know how addictive and lethal it was. So a lot of this was probably inpspired by things he'd seen while UTI. And as for the migranes and epilepsy, these were probably caused by drug use.

Anyway, who cares? This isn't a review on Alice In Wonderland, it's on an incredible song by Jefferson Airplane.

LSD was not invented by the hippies or highschooler | Reviewer: Mike | 9/25/09

Lysergic acid diethylamide, LSD-25, LSD, formerly lysergide, commonly known as acid, is a semi synthetic psychedelic drug of the ergoline family. LSD is non-addictive and non-toxic. LSD is well known for its psychological effects which can include closed and open eye visuals, a sense of time distortion and profound cognitive shifts, as well as for its key role in 1960's counterculture. It is used mainly as an entheogen, a tool to supplement various practices for transcendence, including in meditation, psychonautics, art projects, and (formerly legal) psychedelic therapy, and as a recreational drug. Formally, LSD is classified as a hallucinogen of the psychedelic type.

LSD was first synthesized by Albert Hofmann in 1938 from ergot, a grain fungus that typically grows on rye. The short form LSD comes from its early code name LSD-25, which is an abbreviation for the German "Lysergsaure-diethylamid" followed by a sequential number. LSD is sensitive to oxygen, ultraviolet light, and chlorine, especially in solution, though its potency may last for years if it is stored away from light and moisture at low temperature. In pure form it is a colorless, odorless, and mildly bitter solid. LSD is typically delivered orally, usually on a substrate such as absorbent blotter paper, a sugar cube, or gelatin. In its liquid form, it can be administered by intramuscular or intravenous injection. The threshold dosage level needed to cause a psychoactive effect on humans is between 20 and 30 µg (micrograms).

BTW, Peyote is a cactus.

LSD | Reviewer: Alison | 9/17/09

Just on LSD creation, I have a book (be here now) written by the co-creator, Richard Alpert, or Baba Ram Dass as hes now known. I'm obli saying this because I noticed a few comments stating it was created by someone else. I'm not a drug user but it's still an interesting read. Especially the freaky pictures which take up most of the book, obviously done whilst using LSD. Cool book. But great song. The song is great whatever the book that inspired it's author did with his life. Grace slick has such an amazing voice. None of the covers measure up, even closely. That's my 2 cents.

White Rabbit and Alice in Wonderland | Reviewer: Carmen L. | 9/9/09

LSD was invented in the 1960's by Timothy Leary and his bunch. However, peyote was not invented but used for centuries...the Native American and Mexican Indians used it for their quests. Lewis Carroll did indeed make up the sotry as he went along for the sake of Alice and her sisters, BUT when he did write things down, his imagination could more than likely have been impaired by his usage of halucinogenics. the stories are wonderful reading whether you are high or not!!
;-P and his past discretions are debatable at best since he is no longer around to defend himself! LOL
I truly think that Jefferson Airplane did a wonderful job with this song, whether they incorporated drugs into it or not. Either way, I like both the books and the song. Peace!

In my humble opinion... | Reviewer: Missy | 9/9/09

I don't believe that the story of Alice and her adventures in Wonderland was written by some drugged out space cadet. I think that Lewis Carroll was a soul way before his time, with a fantastic and unique imagination, and that's about it.

And, to "BC a"; These accusations of pedophilia, regarding Lewis Carroll, are largely exaggerated. Artistic nude photographs of children were widely popular in his time and many, many, many people alike owned and displayed these portraits. There was nothing sexual about it in the slightest. In fact, these images were made to capture the innocence of childhood and its beauty. Simply another trend, stuck in time... just like disco, bellbottoms, and so on. Lewis Carroll was a photographer, among other things, so it would make sense that he would have also taken photos of children himself, as he did, since that's what was considered popular art in his day.

A few *actual* historical facts, all easily googleable. | Reviewer: DaveK | 9/9/09

LSD was invented by a chemist called Albert Hofmann who was working for the Swiss pharmaceuticals company Sandoz Laboratories at the time, in the late '30s and early '40s.

It was derived from a chemical naturally occurring in a fungus called "ergot" that grows on rye and was frequently responsible during the middle ages for outbreaks of mass poisoning when entire villages who all got their bread from the same local miller/baker would go collectively crazy after getting dosed up with it. As well as the hallucinations, other effects of the naturally-occurring form in the fungus cause restrictions of the blood supply which would lead to gangrene setting in to the extremities, it wasn't anyone's idea of a "pleasant trip".

The experiment with the spiders did indeed happen, although much later, and not remotely as described by the earlier poster, but there is a famous set of photographs from it illustrating the kinds of different webs spun by spiders dosed up on caffeine, weed, mescaline and acid.

Hallucinogens have been around since forever, not just "the 1800s". Opiates, magic mushrooms, cannabis and other similar plants, there's a huge range of them in nature and the historical record is full of evidence that humans have been using them since... well, since as long as we've been humans. If not longer.

And Lewis Carroll aka Charles Dodgson? He is *known* (because he wrote about it in his diaries) to have suffered migraine and epilepsy - both conditions in which the attacks are often preceded by a mild hallucinatory state known as an "aura" (no relation to the new age concept of energy fields whatsoever, it's just a name for the strange state of mind sufferers sometimes enter into).

During these "aura" states, there is a dream/trance-like feeling of an altered state of consciousness, and visual disturbances and minor hallucinations - and very typically, these hallucinations take the form of vision that seems to zoom in and out (micropsia and macropsia), leading to sudden rapid changes in the seeming size and scale of objects.

Things suddenly blowing up big or shrinking down small - does that remind you of anything? Eat me, drink me, Alice in Wonderland?

Yep, there's every reason to suppose he got all the source material just from his own life experiences and imagination. No reason to suppose he was a drug user, and no known evidence for it; there are plenty of other causes for hallucinatory and surreal experiences apart from drugs, and the disorders that we know he suffered from are all the explanation that's required.

Why does it always have to be about drugs? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/7/09

To Mr. Aladdin-Says-Take-Off-My-Clothes and Casbahhh,

It. Is. Not. About. Drugs. Or. Money.

Lewis Carroll (AKA Charles Dodgson) told this story to a little girl named Alice Liddell and her sisters. He was making it up as he went along and then he wrote it down for her. And THAT is how Alice's Adventure's In Wonderland came about, NOT because he went on some drug-induced book-writing frenzy. The real Alice Liddell could testify to that (and, in fact, he gave her one of the first copies when it was first published), so it isn't something they just made up so the author wouldn't get a bad rep.

And, please, don't make things out to be about drugs where there weren't meant to be any. The hookah is understandable. The sugar is not. MILLIONS of people around the world put sugar in their tea. I put sugar in my tea. It's not some stupid little hint to indicate that drug use occurred in the making of the book. And even worse than that: The mushrooms and the Cheshire Cat? Really? Were you being serious? Becase that's just stupid. The Cheshire Cat wasn't even around mushrooms went it "morphed and tripped out." And what do you even mean, "tripped out"? All it did was disappear and know everything that went on. The Cheshire Cat is, to say the least, the Cheshire Cat. I reiterate: It has nothing to do with drugs.

But, yeah, of course it had adult themes in it. Mainly subtle jokes about death. But, really, what childrens' stories/movies DON'T have SOME adult themes in them? But there's not enough of these "adult themes" to make such a big deal about it.

Finishing off my (surprisingly) long response: To David: I'm ecstatic that someone out there ACTUALLY reads the original books which are, by far, much more spectacular than the movies and songs.

-Megan


lol | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/8/09

Wow heated debates... But seriously opiates and other drugs were in common use by artists during his time. Its not farfetched to believe he indulged in hitting th pipe. Its a great story and like many childrens stories has adult content so the parents can enjoy th read as well... The little girl who inspired the book had a great imagination and curiosity. He prob used drugs, they prob influenced his style, who cares. Great book. Great song. Take what u need from it and move on :)