JohnDuPont | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/7/11

It's clearly an anti-drug song, because of the last sentence, "KEEP YOUR HEAD". It does have a mix between the use of drugs (talks about pills) and ALice in Wonderland. That's it, fuck give it a rest, listen to it and relax.

True education. | Reviewer: Kevyn | 2/6/11

Lewis Carroll ( Also Charles Dodgeson) did not write ALice about drugs. A number of elements came from his childhood, others were based on what he had seen through a friend of a descent into madness and some was his form of social commentry and psychological analyss of the human condition, for example the mushroom the makes you change size is about the iflated egos of some standing tall or with high status. And a good proportion was just fantastic story telling. The fact that people have to reduce fantastic works of art from literature to painting to music, down to conspirecy theories about drugs is extremely frustrating.
Did you know there one of his closest friends was called Alice, Alice Liddell, where the story began. She was much younger than him, but he had a taste for the younger whch in those days was far more acceptable. Eventually the two families broke off contact though the reason were never fully understood. And I digress into biography rather than literary analysis. But I hope that this clears some of the misnomers up that are widely held as fact, but are no more than idle specualtion.

too closely examined | Reviewer: Tom Walter | 2/6/11

* * Sometimes people are so intent on examining and evaluating the individual letters that they cannot see the words, so much to allow the meaning of the sentence to be obscured. Don't even think of a paragraph. Try, go ask Slick, that's Grace you know. Me, I was a baby killer at the time, well shortly after. You had to be there to know, it's gone now. Maybe there is hope left in a dimentional shift, well it's the only hope I know of. Those with a lessor virture are not allowed to understand.

Educate Yourself... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/5/11

If you actually pick up the books Alice in Wonderland, and it's sequel, Through the Looking Glass, it becomes quite obvious that is what this song is referencing. If there is a double entendre (ie: use of drugs) it is brought on solely by the band. Contrary to popular (misguided and incorrect) belief, the books are stories Lewis Carroll made up to tell the Liddell sisters in the mid 1800s. Pick up a book, you'll be amazed at what you can learn.

BTW... I'm a huge Lewis Carroll fan, and I love this song.

Reality | Reviewer: Gjuroo | 2/3/11

This is not an "alternate reality". It's part of "whole reality". The part that is hard to see but it has SAME VALUE as part of reality that people usually acknowlege. It is not necessary to use drugs to "get there". All you need is open mind and follow the white rabbit...

Shamanic Tale | Reviewer: Jon | 1/26/11

I know many will miss this, or not understand, The song refers to Alice in Wonderland, which is a Shamanic Tale about journeying into alternate reality. Shamans have long used substances to aid in their journeys, but a Shaman would not, does not, and wouldn't suggest that it is necessary or advisable to use substances as the primary or sole method for raising consciousness.

It never was a "pro" drug song, don't be naive. It is a song about being free from the limitations of this physical experience.

Establishment exposed | Reviewer: Sapsucker | 1/23/11

White Rabbit was written at a time when the "establishment" was in an anti-drug mode and the generation gap was wide. What Grace Slick was trying to prove in this "drug song" was that the "establishment" although anti-drug on the surface must have been doing drugs in the closet to come up with all the things that happened in the Alice in Wonderland story. If you follow all the lyirics you can relate them all to Alice in Wonderland (or should that be in mind altered drug land?) and the "Go ask Alice" line in the song is in there for the listener to have a reference to go to to find out why Alice was seeing all the things she "thought" she saw. White Rabbit is one of the misunderstood drug songs but is one classic that never gets old!

are drugs for losers? | Reviewer: caseyatbat | 12/10/10

For reviewers that state "drugs are for losers" but the song is great I would like to suggest that song and many other great songs wouldn't exist without those "mind explorers". Is drug use wrong? Like many things it is a matter of degrees, personalities and genetics. Many people,like myself, don't like to give up control to other substances because of a fear of developing a dependency which could have dire consequences in our daily lives.

Go Ask Alice | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/8/10

Well, when you put your mind into gears and put this song into perspective, it describes in the beginning that drugs (illegal drugs) like heroin and etc. are much different and colorful from the children's pills your mother gave you for headaches. Like the book 'Go Ask Alice' it's about somebody's unexpected spiral into a life full of drugs. In the writer of the song's sense, Alice in Wonderland is super colorful and if youv'e seen the movie and read the book by Lewis Carol, it sounds like the author's on drugs because the plot is so far out there.

duh | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/28/10

ofc it's about alice in wonderland. What's with the go ask alice the movie talk? is there a hookah smoking caterpillar in that movie? or red queen? or pills that make alice larger or smaller? The only similarity is the drug reference and the Go ask Alice part. Anyway, the song is great. Oh also (imo) I wouldn't really call the Alice in Wonderland a children's story. Sure it seems like a nice fantasy but so does an lsd/mushroom trip. You probably know that already though. If the children could just read between the lines.. :P

The movie "Go Ask Alice": | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/27/10

The song came from the movie "Go Ask Alice", from the 1960s. About a girl who moves to a new town, feels a little strange in a new school. She makes a friend, but then leaves her to join a wilder, rowdy, drug-experimenting crowd. Then Alice dies from an overdose.

FEED YOUR HEAD | Reviewer: screech | 11/24/10

The last 2 lines of the song should be "feed your head", not "keep your head". The rest of the lyrics are spot on, I tried to submit the correction but it wouldn't let me 4 some reason so thats why I'm writing them here. This is a great song & my favorite by Jefferson Airplane by far. Grace Slick ROX!!!!!!

What? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/19/10

To the review titled "another review"; I am the writer of the "What?" review. I was obviously speaking the the reviewer before me, which is why I wrote "To the previous reviewer". The reviewer just before me stated that the song was based off of the novel "Go Ask Alice" which was published in 1971, which this song is obviously NOT based on. Not really sure how stating that the book "Go Ask Alice" was published in 1971 is off by a century? Maybe you could explain that one to me? If you actually read my review and the review before of which I was alluding to, you could have easily picked this up as it was as obvious as day. Thanks for making sure you come in here on your high horse and try to denounce a comment without even reading it thoroughly. And by the way, saying that the song "leans" on the novel makes you sound like an uneducated buffoon, pick up a thesaurus and use any word that is a synonym for being inspired from, or borrows ideas from, instead of making up some connection between the word lean and inspiration. Also, thanks for imparting upon us the fantastic knowledge of Lewis Carroll's real name, I mean anyone can spend less than 10 seconds on wikipedia and find this out, anyone who actually cares about this book and this song already knows this OBVIOUS fact. And one last thing, thanks for telling us what Psychedelic (you spelled this wrong) rock is, I was really racking my brain to figure that one out!

Go Ask Alice | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/11/10

Yes, the song is based on Lewis Carroll's book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, and perhaps even his 1871 sequel "Through the Looking Glass..." but the book Go Ask Alice, the anonymous girl teenager diary, was demonstrated to be a fabrication portraying 60's drug use as a horrible thing, but is actually a work of fiction, a lie in fact because it was promoted as nonfiction.

The mushroom is the key | Reviewer: Raj | 11/11/10

Yes, to all reviews
indeed this song is defenitely based on 'Alice in Wonderland'
Mushroom perhaps refers to the "magic mushrooms',which has a halugenic substance and is available only in the hilly regions of Kodaiaknal in South India